We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post Hotel”
Review of Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Post
Ranked #162 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
“Post Hotel”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have stayed here years. It is across from the post office and very close to Stefansplatz, the cathedral. Great location and probably the least expensive hotel in that area. All of the shopping in there and the historic sites.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn20910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    234
    145
    27
    16
See reviews for
83
172
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Michigan USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

After my 4th visit to Hotel Post, I have to report that the reception area staff, including porter, were not as helpful as they used to be. Two men in particular seemed to have a real attitude that indicated to me that they weren't in a satisfying job.

The breakfast room was incredibly crowded and uncomfortable from about 8 - 9:30 AM. One morning we went early and the eggs weren't ready until nearly 7 AM even though the breakfast begins at 6:30 AM.

We requested a transfer to the airport through the hotel, two weeks in advance and it was nearly 30 minutes late and the vehicle was not big enough for comfort for 4 adults with plenty of luggage. Much had to be set on our laps. Porter refused the tip offered since it was in dollars instead of Euros. (We had just arrived and didn't have access to Euros at the moment we were trying to provide the tip.)

The rooms were fine (nothing fancy but served our purposes), clean and well serviced each day. The location is very good, just a short walk to St Stephen's Cathedral and lots of shopping. Never could get a good WiFi connection during a 3-day visit.

Hotel has two side by side elevators which makes moving from floor to floor very easy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jema813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff were very rude, argumentative.
Refused to assist us in calling our ride to airport.
Rooms - ok nice size, clean Good location
Breakfast - fine. But the attitude of the staff is
So bad that I cannot recommend this to anyone

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Olympia, WA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We rolled into Vienna rather late in the evening without a place to stay. Stopped at an expensive hotel in the city center and asked for advice and the Hotel Post was recommended. The staff at the Post was exceptionally helpful. Parking was in a garage across the street but staff walked us in and out. We took a room on the floor that had the bathrooms/showers down the hall, but it was an extra large, corner room with two sinks in the room, which was nice. Bathroom down the hall was no problem. Free WIFI in the room was OK but better in the lobby. Went out to eat during a downpour and we were offered umbrellas to use. Overall, a very good find, and reasonably priced. Better than average breakfast.

Room Tip: Our corner room was quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olympia_P_and_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riffa, Bahrain
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just like real estate, this hotels claim to fame would be its location. Walking distance to many attractions and close to the U Bahn. Rooms small but clean, little noise from the street in room 322, chambermaids are very very good! Laundry prices are a bit high but service is quick and efficient. Breakfast was spotty, lots of empty containers when we visited. Front desk staff very congenial. Some on sixth floor had hot water issues (we're told to "let it run for two minutes" to get hot water to the tap. Couple that with the "please save water" placards in the rooms and it made for a good laugh. Stay here for the location.

Room Tip: Third floor room facing the street got a little bit of noise, elevators were noiseless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well situated in the central part of the city in walking distance from nearly everything. The nearest subway (U-bahn) station is only 100 m away. We stayed there for five nights. Our room was fairly big and clean with ok bathroom. No noise from the street. The staff was somewhat formal, with only one night portier smiling, but helpful. The wifi signal in our room was not reliable, but free of charge. The breakfast was good.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is very well located, you can visit most of touristic places walking. But the price, considering the hotel conditions, is kind of expensive. We chose individual rooms and they were extremely small and furniture was very old. Good point is the cleanliness. Breakfast not varied.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaBG_-_-_-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#122 of 360 in Vienna
263 reviews
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#39 of 360 in Vienna
309 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#188 of 360 in Vienna
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Kaerntnerhof
Kaerntnerhof
#74 of 360 in Vienna
249 reviews
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#132 of 360 in Vienna
265 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#168 of 360 in Vienna
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post

Property: Hotel Post
Address: Fleischmarkt 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Post 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A central location with some nice tradition: Here was formerly the Gasthaus Zum white oxen, it was in later times known as Hotel Zur Stadt London. A house that counted personalities such as Mozart, Joseph Haydn, Friedrich Nietzsche, Richard Wagner, Frédéric Chopin and Leos Janacek to his regulars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing