We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Post
Ranked #157 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Good Location in down town. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms clean , well equiped. The restaurant offer a various and excellent meals. The hotel is little aged, but the factor price quality is fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toufic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    234
    145
    27
    16
See reviews for
83
172
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour - as such I don't know the actual cost of the hotel. Location is good and the room was very nice - was a bit warm and we had to open the windows for fresh air. Didnt have the same complaints as others - we had a bathroom! - and nice bed.
The main issue is that the restaurant seems to operate separately to the hotel - so trying to get things like room service was difficult. Easier to go down and get it yourself, person operating the restaurant didn't exactly go out of his way to be helpful. other wise we thought the hotel was ok

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My spouse and me have been staying at this hotel in Vienna since 1999. We like it very much first of all because of good services and clean premises. Most of the staff we know already many years and these people have doing their best, year by year improving services and help to the visitors. and I would like to strengthen that never mind if you new comer for one day or frequent customer staying a week. I like the optimal choice at the breakfast and good proposals at the evening time at the restaurant of the hotel. A bit surprise is that a porter was absent once and nobody instead of him, therefore I had to collect my luggage from my car to my room myself. But this is not a big problem and I am sure that management will improve the situation for future. I would like to recommend you to book this hotel because of its very good location.

Room Tip: Back sides, in yard and higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great location, a little aged but good value overall. The rooms are a bit older and location is near a nightclub which may be problematic on Friday and Saturday night. Traditional breakfast (bread, cold cuts, cereal, coffee/tea) included.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our tour operator booked this hotel for a weekend in Vienna. Normal service, room not too big but the real problem was the bathroom without window and without air change. Breakfast was one of the poorest found in a hotel at the same price.
The position was the best characteristic, 2 minutes from the tube Schwedenplatz and less than 10 minutes from St. Stephansdom.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPostWien1010, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Certainly in an old building it's not possible that all bathroms have got a window, but therefore there's a ventilation in all our Bathrooms? Also please let us know because of your breakfast comment, as we seerve 4 different cereals, cheeses and sausages and so on. Also ham and eggs? We are a 3 star hotel and not luxury class. In any case we always try to improve our service.
Best regards
Peter Fraihs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

So we had to stay in this Hotel since almost everything else was booked in Vienna for New Years Eve.

Pros
Location! Its very close to the metro, supermarkets, pubs and the main bustling street.
Stable and free wifi in the rooms, good strength.

Cons
The rooms are very small and very depressing. The lighting is bad.
The bathrooms are smaller claustrophobic..
Breakfast is extremely basic, no novelties at all.
The entire hotel has a sad feeling to it with dimly lit lobbies.
They still use keys for room access, no cards.
Service is no great shakes!
We had no view from our room...just a very close building.

Pick the hotel only if you have to! Location is the biggest plus point!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Neha_Goa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPostWien1010, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your comment. As you stayed in december in our hotel, we meanwhile changed quite a lot of things, like lightning in the Hall and in the rooms, Qquality of breakfast and many other things.
In any case thank you very much, and maybe we see once again in Vienna.
Best regards
Peter Fraihs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Tampere, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is located centrally. It's easy to go to attractions walking or by public transportation. The area is lively with restaurants, cafés and shops but it's not restless. There are beautiful buildings to see, too. We were very happy with the location.

There is one wheelchair adjusted room. We got it by calling the hotel before our stay. The room is spacious and threshold-free. In the toilet there is a handle on the other side of the seat but not on the other side. I certainly wished there would have been one on the both sides!

The room was well cleaned. In the breakfast room, on the other hand, there were some problems with hygiene. Some coffee cups were dirty and in two mornings I found banana flies in my juice. We told about this to the staff but didn't get any clear answer or promise to improve the situation. Otherwise the staff was very nice and served us well.

The one thing that we missed was proper air-conditioning. Our stay was in July and it was very very hot which made the nights difficult especially for me with my big baby belly.

In general, this hotel is not luxury but a good basic hotel. If I ever have a chance to visit Vienna (which I really wish) I will stay in this hotel again. As long as it's not the hottest time of the year like this time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urhonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#140 of 361 in Vienna
265 reviews
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#38 of 361 in Vienna
321 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#190 of 361 in Vienna
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Kaerntnerhof
Kaerntnerhof
#83 of 361 in Vienna
250 reviews
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#128 of 361 in Vienna
266 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#168 of 361 in Vienna
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post

Property: Hotel Post
Address: Fleischmarkt 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Post 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A central location with some nice tradition: Here was formerly the Gasthaus Zum white oxen, it was in later times known as Hotel Zur Stadt London. A house that counted personalities such as Mozart, Joseph Haydn, Friedrich Nietzsche, Richard Wagner, Frédéric Chopin and Leos Janacek to his regulars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing