We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute choice that did not disappoint”
Review of Hotel Kugel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kugel
Ranked #102 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Clean, tidy room within walking distance of all Vienna sights. Great value. Breakfast was magnificent. Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Secure parking nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyNomadAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were impressed by the quality and service of the hotel stuff (especially Christina for being very pleasant and direct towards us). This is the second and for sure not the last time we have stayed at this hotel. Room that we stayed in was very luxorious and extremely clean. We are fond of breakfasts at this hotel with plentiful choice of meals (the hand-made rolls with grains really fleeced us). I strongly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Wien.

MEng Bartosz Szewczyk & MA Joanna Szewczyk

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szefu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We loved this place! Charming, well-located, clean. Very friendly and well-informed staff. Very fair price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billingstwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The family that started the hotel over a hundred years ago still manage the property. It shows. The place was immaculate. The staff very friendly, anticipated every need. Would recommend this place to anyone, no matter what price you normally pay for a room.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double, private bath, street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This hotel came modestly recommended by Rick Steve's guidebook. The location was a good one for access to the old quarter as well as the metro. However, May 2011 in Germany and Austria has been hot this year, necessitating open windows to sleep comfortably, even at night. This hotel is next to several late night bars and located on a corner with multiple trams that loudly make their way, except in the earliest hours. We tried to change to a quieter room, but the hotel was full. They did give us earplugs to use-free of charge!

Room Tip: look for a spot away from bars/trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank hillsboroughcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We had a triple room booked at a really good price of £100 each for three nights. The room was quite basic, but for the price we were very happy. The breakfast was great, with an excellent range of food. The staff were friendly especially the owner who would chat to the guests at breakfast each morning. The location is great with tram stops nearby and easy walking distance to the museum quarter.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie_Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We just returned from our trip which included two days in Vienna. This hotel was listed in Rick Steves travel guide. We were able to walk to almost all locations we wished to see. The bus and tram stops across the street for other city locations. We got excellent suggestions from Mr. Ton at the front desk and the owner, Heir Roller. Everyone was very friendly and the breakfast which is included in the price was very nice. We booked a canopy room. Renovated bathrooms. Our room faced the street and there was some street noise to be expected and just added to the overall experience. Although there was no wifi, the Lan line was free and fine & we did piggy back on wifi some of the time. Our only suggestion would be extra pillows in the rooms. The down pillows flatten to almost nothing...we just should have asked for extra pillows, which I'm sure they would have provided. Overall, we were very pleased and would return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okteach_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 359 in Vienna
629 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#138 of 359 in Vienna
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#24 of 359 in Vienna
1,362 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#100 of 359 in Vienna
419 reviews
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#95 of 359 in Vienna
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kugel

Address: Siebensterngasse 43, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Vienna
#32 Family Hotel in Vienna
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £66 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kugel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever slept in one of the cozy romantic canopy bedrooms at Hotel Kugel in Vienna? Have you ever tried its regional, organic-breakfast in the bright breakfast room? Have you ever strolled around Hotel Kugel to explore many little shops and restaurants? No? Then it's definitely time to come over! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kugel Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing