We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kugel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kugel
Ranked #107 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

All people in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The food is absolutely amazing (much better, then i thought). The hotel inside is very nice, it has it's own atmosphere. The room was very clean. The hotel is located near underground station, but it's takes roughtly 15-20 to walk to the centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    121
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
54
193
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Hotel Kugel was old and very worn. It really is in need of a facelift and a good cleaning. On one of our days here our room was not cleaned and when we told the front desk the young lady did not know how to respond. When we came back an hour later the bed had been made and clean towels left on the bed. No attempt at cleaning the bathroom was made. Not worth the money!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and it was still noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanSpruceHeadMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABC2412, Inhaber at Hotel Kugel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
First and for all, let me thank you for your staying with us and for
taking of your time in helping us with your opinions to improve
our sweet little hotel further and further.
There is of course no doubt about the age of this historic place –
when the construction started Lee and Grant had no idea they will
become opponents.
And yes, this particular historic atmosphere is preserved here,
setting it apart from the 21st century prefabricated competition.
However, unfortunately the maid had overseen your room on the
room list, and at the time of your report, only the girl in the reception
was present, so she hurried to fix it as fast as possible, but in the
available few minutes could not do a full service.
Thanks to your suggestions we hav now developed a different control
scheme, so this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I were at the Kugel for 3 nights in September and found it very clean and the staff generally accommodating. After staying at a wonderful, similarly-priced hotel in Vienna (K & K Opera), my wife found the breakfast selection disappointing (we're vegetarians), but it was fine for me. The location out of the center of the city, but easily accessible by tram. Unfortunately, we heard the tram at night. Otherwise the room was pleasant, but modest. No carpeting; no air conditioner; a small bathroom and REALLY small shower. We had the "romantic package" but never received the bottle of champagne, although I'm sure we would have if we'd asked for it. We were supposed to have a safe in our room, but didn't. When we asked the desk if we could put our passports, etc in their safe, they insisted we had one in our room, despite the fact that we didn't. We expected a safe to be put in for us after this, but it never was.

Room Tip: If they have any back room, and I'm not sure they do, these would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nijifrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great location, very comfortable room, nice breakfast but the staff was helpful far beyond the norm.
Got to the airport and realized I had left my shoulder bag with my passport in the dining room. Called the hotel and requested they send with a cab which they said they would do. Within 25 minutes a gentleman (believe the owner) delivered the bag and refused any compensation for the service. The kindness of this gentlemen was far beyond anything I have experienced in a vary long time and has my sincere thanks.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street as the tram runs all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel Kugel for 1 night in July. The weather was extremely hot and the hotel did not provide fans for the rooms so it created a sleepless night for many in our group. The breakfast was just fine with eggs, cheese, meat, and sausages, and drinks. The rooms are nice but if you are going to Vienna in the summer, consider a hotel with air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KariMae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABC2412, Inhaber at Hotel Kugel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for taking your precious time to write about your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our delicate breakfast and the friendliness of our committed staff.

However we apologize for have been running out of available fans during this hottest night since a hundred years. (due to weather report) Please, be rest assured - there will be enough fans of all sizes to chill you down at your next stay with us.

Wishing you a wonderful summer we remain,
with chilled greetings from Vienna!
Johannes Roller and the Hotel Kugel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very comfortable hotel in a central location. Front desk very helpful with directions to attractions as well as booking our train to Budapest. Great breakfast (excellent coffee) as well.

Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryA47-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our stay in Vienna came during record flooding. It was cold, windy, and rainy. Hotel Kugel provided a cozy retreat from inclement weather. Each room is decorated in its own unique style. We lucked out with a pink canopy bed, fluffy pink pillows, and a teddy bear! The wet bar included an assortment of free beverages: water, juice, sparkling wine, and beer. Breakfast was typical but plentiful, free wifi was welcome as well as a close location to a bus stop. Staff was quite helpful in providing useful information for our stay. There is no parking but a parking garage is nearby. Ask the front desk for vouchers that will offer a lower price than the garage.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#63 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#91 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Pension Pharmador
Pension Pharmador
#36 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#20 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Jager
Hotel Jager
#188 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kugel

Property: Hotel Kugel
Address: Siebensterngasse 43, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Vienna
#32 Family Hotel in Vienna
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kugel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever slept in one of the cozy romantic canopy bedrooms at Hotel Kugel in Vienna? Have you ever tried its regional, organic-breakfast in the bright breakfast room? Have you ever strolled around Hotel Kugel to explore many little shops and restaurants? No? Then it's definitely time to come over! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kugel Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing