We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay again!”
Review of Hotel Kugel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kugel
Ranked #90 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Shepherd, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'd stay again!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed at Hotel Kugel at the recommendation of my brother who had stayed there a few years ago.

Great location. Near West Train Station, tram and subway. Nice area to do some serious shopping too!

I felt right at home. Desk is staffed 24 hours, Wonderful breakfast included.

BUT--be warned the tram stop is right across the street and while it was white noise to me some sleepers may be disturbed.

I paid for a single room and it was actually a double so I had plenty of room to spread out.

Room was comfy but not posh so if you require 'western' bells and whistles you may not enjoy the hotel.

Staff was very helpful with our questions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eppy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    133
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
56
206
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
München
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I have been coming to Hotel Kugel for about 15 years and I have never been disappointed. In facts it seems to get better every year. Great location, great price, great service, great people.
Thank you - I will keep coming back of course!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NadineDinibini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I've reviewed the Kugel before, so I'll limit this review to a few items. First, the breakfast buffet has seen numerous improvements, now with eggs, bacon, sausage, more pastries and some locally sourced organic teas. The staff is as friendly and informative as ever - on this trip they steered me to an amazing museum exhibit of curious artworks and treasures collected by the Habsburg emperors and archdukes (Kunstkammer Wien). It's hard to describe, but worth every penny of the admission cost. One additional change for me was that I had a rental car and needed to park it somewhere. Since I didn't need the car while i was in Vienna, I parked at a huge garage at the Leopoldau subway stop on the edge of town for only 3 Euros per day, much cheaper than near the city center. The Kugel is an easy subway ride from there, with only one change at Stephansdom, and then a short walk from the Neubaugasse stop. Once again, an excellent stay at Hotel Kugel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

All people in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The food is absolutely amazing (much better, then i thought). The hotel inside is very nice, it has it's own atmosphere. The room was very clean. The hotel is located near underground station, but it's takes roughtly 15-20 to walk to the centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Hotel Kugel was old and very worn. It really is in need of a facelift and a good cleaning. On one of our days here our room was not cleaned and when we told the front desk the young lady did not know how to respond. When we came back an hour later the bed had been made and clean towels left on the bed. No attempt at cleaning the bathroom was made. Not worth the money!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and it was still noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanSpruceHeadMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABC2412, Inhaber at Hotel Kugel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
First and for all, let me thank you for your staying with us and for
taking of your time in helping us with your opinions to improve
our sweet little hotel further and further.
There is of course no doubt about the age of this historic place –
when the construction started Lee and Grant had no idea they will
become opponents.
And yes, this particular historic atmosphere is preserved here,
setting it apart from the 21st century prefabricated competition.
However, unfortunately the maid had overseen your room on the
room list, and at the time of your report, only the girl in the reception
was present, so she hurried to fix it as fast as possible, but in the
available few minutes could not do a full service.
Thanks to your suggestions we hav now developed a different control
scheme, so this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I were at the Kugel for 3 nights in September and found it very clean and the staff generally accommodating. After staying at a wonderful, similarly-priced hotel in Vienna (K & K Opera), my wife found the breakfast selection disappointing (we're vegetarians), but it was fine for me. The location out of the center of the city, but easily accessible by tram. Unfortunately, we heard the tram at night. Otherwise the room was pleasant, but modest. No carpeting; no air conditioner; a small bathroom and REALLY small shower. We had the "romantic package" but never received the bottle of champagne, although I'm sure we would have if we'd asked for it. We were supposed to have a safe in our room, but didn't. When we asked the desk if we could put our passports, etc in their safe, they insisted we had one in our room, despite the fact that we didn't. We expected a safe to be put in for us after this, but it never was.

Room Tip: If they have any back room, and I'm not sure they do, these would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nijifrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great location, very comfortable room, nice breakfast but the staff was helpful far beyond the norm.
Got to the airport and realized I had left my shoulder bag with my passport in the dining room. Called the hotel and requested they send with a cab which they said they would do. Within 25 minutes a gentleman (believe the owner) delivered the bag and refused any compensation for the service. The kindness of this gentlemen was far beyond anything I have experienced in a vary long time and has my sincere thanks.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street as the tram runs all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#54 of 360 in Vienna
584 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#24 of 360 in Vienna
943 reviews
Neubau
Pension Pharmador
Pension Pharmador
#41 of 360 in Vienna
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#94 of 360 in Vienna
402 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#108 of 360 in Vienna
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kugel

Property: Hotel Kugel
Address: Siebensterngasse 43, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Vienna
#32 Family Hotel in Vienna
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kugel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever slept in one of the cozy romantic canopy bedrooms at Hotel Kugel in Vienna? Have you ever tried its regional, organic-breakfast in the bright breakfast room? Have you ever strolled around Hotel Kugel to explore many little shops and restaurants? No? Then it's definitely time to come over! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kugel Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing