We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option close to downtown”
Review of Hotel Kugel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kugel
Ranked #102 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel is well located, close to Museums Quartier, and 15 minutes walking to downtown. You don't need public transport to visit main attractions of the city. Close to the hotel there is a commercial avenue with a lot of shops too. Rooms have a classic decoration, maybe a little bit old fashioned but confortable. Carpet needs to be cleaned too. Some rooms have a new confortable bathroom, however others have a little toilet with a shower. Breakfast is ok, with homemade products. The owner is very kind and will help you if you have any problem.
Price/Quality/distance is good, so It's an interesting option to enjoy the wonderful Vienna.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillyFog73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Me and my family stayed in this hotel since 2000 and we are seeing the improvements made in this period of time. We loved the location, we like the friendly staff and the large rooms. We simply love this old and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great small hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel's owner would walk around at breakfast (which by the way is excellent) to ask what we were doing that day and also made some very good suggestions for exploring Vienna. We stayed in a standard room and there was plenty of space and it was very comfortable and clean. The hotel is also in a great location in walking distance of the Ringstrasse and museums. I hope I will be able to return!

Room Tip: If tram noise bothers you; you might want a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our four-night stay was just about perfect thanks to a fabulous staff and an amazing location right on tram # 49, The rooms are are a bit funky, but the price was right and the breakfasts are amazing. We'll be back ASAP.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor corner room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust-train
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I would recommend this hotel if you want to feel Vienna in a right way. The hotel is old, but that contributes to the traditional Viennese atmosphere which you can feel there. Also it is right place for a romance. Really nice hotel with good service and friendly staff. They are always ready to help. I also liked the breakfast, very much. There are some traditional Austrian food of good quality. Only thing I didn't like was carpet in my room, it was too old with some stains on it. And it's not expensive to fix things like that. But room was very big and comfortable.
The manager Mr. Johannes was very helpful with his recommendations what we should visit. And he was very kind, friendly and always ready for a chat with his perfect English. He is right guy for you if you want to meet and speak with a native Viennese (which is pretty hard these days).
Thank you Mr. Johannes for your service. I hope I will see you soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Бојан Н
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Great location near Mariahilferstrasse an easy 10 minute walk to the Ring and the Museums Quartier. Hotel was very clean and the staff was always very eager to help with anything we needed. The hotel breakfast was excellent and really contributed to the value of the hotel as did the complimentary beers and juice in the mini-fridge in the room. All in all a wonderful place to stay close to the heart of Vienna for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. First, the hotel is convenient to find from the train station and the tram stops right outside the front door!. It is convenient to reach the city center by walking 10 min or taking the tram. The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff is exceptional! At breakfast they check in with you to see if you have any questions or need directions or ideas about places to see or eat. The breakfast area and food were wonderful. In our 2 week European trip, the stay in Vienna at Hotel Kugel is a great memory.

Room Tip: we always review and consider comments from other travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 359 in Vienna
629 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#138 of 359 in Vienna
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#24 of 359 in Vienna
1,365 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#100 of 359 in Vienna
419 reviews
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#95 of 359 in Vienna
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kugel

Address: Siebensterngasse 43, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Vienna
#32 Family Hotel in Vienna
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £66 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kugel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever slept in one of the cozy romantic canopy bedrooms at Hotel Kugel in Vienna? Have you ever tried its regional, organic-breakfast in the bright breakfast room? Have you ever strolled around Hotel Kugel to explore many little shops and restaurants? No? Then it's definitely time to come over! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kugel Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing