We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful November in Vienna.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mailbergerhof
Ranked #172 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed here for one night in November 2012, myself and my girlfriend came by Train from GRAZ, the Hotel is nice and Central near a U bahn station, ALL sights that you might wish to visit are a 'stones throw' away and Wien really is a VERY Beautiful City. We stayed in a very fine, very large room with a beautiful large bathroom (with Shower), the floor was heated (so nice) and you have a kitchenette should you need it, we didn't, but it's there & Oh my god....there is a mini-bar, which is FREE, No spirits but you have wine, bier, sparkling wine, fruit juice, etc. The breakfast selection is Awesome and you get Free Champagne if you wish (The Austrian variety). All in all one of the finest hotels I'd ever stayed in and the Staff are very friendly and helpful also. Loved it and I would return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilyinichna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

The Mailberger hof is easy to find and is very close to Stephans Dom and the metro. From there it is good access to further transportation to Hauptbahnhof (Central train station) or Airport.

Both the staff and the environment in the hotel was great. Breadfast is good. Some downsides is that the room is not up-to-date with red thick carpet and heavy curtains. And we got a room with windows towards the inner yard, which is good since we don't want the noise on the street side. But it is also a bit dark and shady. There is not much sunshine in the our room.

The staff was good at English.

Room Tip: Book inadvance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_from_DNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We booked this hotel because of price and location without first reading the reviews. After booking and then reading a few of the reviews, we learned this would be an old hotel in a great location, which it was. But it was not just old, but dirty and unkempt. We had several lights which were missing bulbs and when we called to have them replaced we were told maintance would be in tomorrow (Monday.) when this was not completed upon return to our room on Monday evening, we called again and were told that maintance would not be in until tuesday. Although we were checking out on Tuesday, we wondered if there was really even a maintanance person given the crappy condition of the room in terms of cleanliess, lighting (or lack of) and also the broken curtain rod that was hanging from the wall when we arrived in our room, which we also reported. When we checked in, we were told that we had been "upgraded"
to this apt. on the 5th floor that was hard to get to (take elevator to 4th floor and walk up 12
narrow steps with our luggage to the fifth.). If this is the "nice" room, I'd hate to see the regular
rooms. Stay away from here and go spend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Read reviews not just ratings before booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0umar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The pictures on the website are a total joke. This hotel although and old hotel is absolutely pathetic for the amount charged. The so called upgrade to the apartment was again a joke: light bulbs/globes did not work and the main light in the bedroom did not even have one. Kitchen counter was disgusting and dirtly with caked on food remnants and cutlery looked like it had last been cleaned dtating back to the construction era of this hotel- 14th.centrury.
No assistance with luggage and they will tell you that the handyman will fix things but somehow he does not show and then only works the following day if you ask again - total bs and so if you like being made a fool of and paying for it stay here.
Breakfast was the only slight saving grace and real expensive at that!!! Just being close to the opera house etc. is absolutely not the reason to pick this dump.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms here and once you book you are committed and no cancellation or even partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannespetrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Vienna hotels are generally expensive and dated. This is just like that. Not expensive by Vienna standards but at Eur150 you'd expect more. The rooms are old, double rooms have 2 single beds, the furniture is old, you get the picture.

Breakfast is just ok but the staff are polite and friendly and the location very convenient off Kartnrstrasse.

I'll keep searching Vienna for a good hotel that won't break the bank but after 4 times here I'm starting to despair.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pantelis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Superb location (very central), friendly staff, good breakfast and very quiet. Yes the decor is somewhat dated but for somewhere convenient to stay at a reasonable price you can't ask for more. In addition the two restaurants opposite, The Sole and the Wienbotscahft are good as well.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank badger975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Generally good hotel with friendly staff. The location is perfect, just off the Kartner Strasse next to St. Stephan Carhedral. Breakfasts were very good. The only suggestion is to add non-pork meat to the menu. The bathroom equipment needs an update. My wife cut herself on an old shower hand. Recommended for not so fussy travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalo1216Shizuoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#176 of 359 in Vienna
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#85 of 359 in Vienna
711 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Pension Lumes
Hotel Pension Lumes
#288 of 359 in Vienna
54 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mailbergerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mailbergerhof

Address: Annagasse 7, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#123 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £104 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mailbergerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 14th-century building in a quiet side street of the Karnterstrasse shopping street, the family-run Hotel Mailberger Hof is located in the heart of Vienna. A Nespresso coffee machine is available in the lounge for free. This baroque-style non-smoking hotel offers individually designed rooms with many amenities, including a minibar and a safe. Some rooms have air conditioning, while the others feature mobile air conditioners. In fair weather, you can have breakfast in the peaceful courtyard. Free WiFi is available in the entire building. The Graben and Kohlmarkt shopping streets, St. Stephen's Cathedral, and 2 underground stations, are only a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mailbergerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mailberger Hof Vienna
Mailberger Hof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing