We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could ask for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mailbergerhof
Ranked #170 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel was located in a quiet side street very close to restaurants, cafes, shops, museums and art galleries. The staff were very helpful and the hotel was well presented. Modernisation work was taking place on two of the four floors, but this was very well organised and did not affect our stay at all.

The breakfast room included an outdoor area which was very pleasant; there was a sub buffet.

There was also a lounge area where there was complimentary tea, coffee and fruit available at all times

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Location was perfect, we were also upgraded to a suite BUT....
Airconditioning wasn't working, and we would be been understanding if they had confessed straight away that they were still carrying out reservations (end of May), but for two days they gave us random excuses with promises of 'OK tomorrow' and eventually gave us a dinosaur mobile AC which necessitated leaving the window open. Rooms weren't cleaned until 4pm. Buffet breakfast also disspointing - only hot food was very dry scrambled egg. Free Nespresso coffee in reception lounge was a nice touch, and we 'accidentally' found out that hotel guests can visit House of Music(which was wonderful)l for free.

Room Tip: We chose courtyard room to avoid street noise, but if you have windows open, kitchen staff noisy fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HardtopleaseSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed in the hotel for a week because I was attending a course. The location is superb and the staff are very nice and very helpful. they even supplied me with iron and board when I asked. They offer an abundant breakfast with very attentive staff. The internet works nicely and they have free tea and coffee till the evening. Unfortunately all these nice qualities were offset by the state of the hotel and the house keeping service. The place is not clean and very dusty. I had to clean the shelves my self and line them up with napkins to lay my clothes. I did not have soap for 2 days and the first night when I requested, I was told they do not have any by the embarrassed receptionist! Second day I had to ask again when I returned for soap and toiletries. At the first day, I was given a suite which was in dreadful state and one had to take a side staircase which was rather not very safe with luggage. I was then changed for a room upon request. The furniture is very worn out and there are pieces of furniture like a green metal waste pin that have no place indoors let alone a hotel. I paid all in advance otherwise I would have changed the hotel. The place was really not cleaned and the renovation project is no excuse. I was tiptoeing the whole time and I was not sure even if the beddings were clean. I tried my best to keep my time in the hotel as less as possible. I will definitely not stay there again.

Room Tip: do not stay in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OSHY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a large double room and stayed for a week. It is old fashioned, quite comfortable for us. The staff is very thoughtful, and the breakfast interesting and abundant. The location is ideal for those interested in the museums, music, libraries and other famous Viennese institutions. Vienna is a wonderful city, even though it seems underpopulated for its space compared to other European capitals. We would happily return to the Mailberger Hof.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gothicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A very renowned and established hotel specialised on catering to artists performing at the nearby Opera. Quite unobtrusive due to its side street entrance. Checked in on the fly in the evening without prior booking and were assigned a nice old-fashioned suite at no extra charge.
Downside: the night porter was downright rude and unhelpful, trying to command us around ("shute that door!"), only helping us with the luggage upon specific request - minus one point for that as it was quite outrageous!
Rooms were large yet cosy.
Breakfast is to die for: so copious and extensive (house champagen included) it's probably the best I've ever had in a hotel just about anywhere to date.
In the morning, reception staff had changed: very friendly and helpful this time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pleromax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just in the inner city pedestrian precinct on a quiet side street with main pedestrian mall just 100 metres away, but car access on close street means bags only need to be carried about 40 metres.
Host and staff very friendly and helpful and coffee/tea and biscuits always available in the lounge which is very nice. Old world charm, very comfortable and large room.
After a long day travelling we had take away (take out) in our room and hosts happy to provide us with plates etc.
Breakfast buffet included for us and it is good, enough to keep you going.
More expensive than we'd usually pay but with breakfast and location we found is very worth while.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brushie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a hotel of the old European style. Even the room keys are heavy old type real keys, not cards. Its location is superb, so close to the main pedestrian district of the city center, two minutes walk to the Opera, but still protected from the crowds as it is located on a side street. The breakfast is copious and high standard. I liked the fact that they trusted us at reception during check-in and did not ask for a credit card security pre-authorization

On the down side, with old style also come some wear and tear. The furniture, carpets, etc have all seen better days and need some face-lifting. The only elevator is so small that two people barely squeeze in. Also beware that check-in time is 15:00, later than usual. When we arrived at 2:00 PM our room was not ready yet and we had to wait for 20 minutes before moving in. However, this was our second stay, and they upgraded us to a full apartment without any extra cost...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ilgimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#178 of 359 in Vienna
414 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#109 of 359 in Vienna
852 reviews
Inner City
Das Opernring Hotel
Das Opernring Hotel
#106 of 359 in Vienna
428 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#34 of 359 in Vienna
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mailbergerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mailbergerhof

Address: Annagasse 7, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#121 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £97 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mailbergerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 14th-century building in a quiet side street of the Karnterstrasse shopping street, the family-run Hotel Mailberger Hof is located in the heart of Vienna. A Nespresso coffee machine is available in the lounge for free. This baroque-style non-smoking hotel offers individually designed rooms with many amenities, including a minibar and a safe. Some rooms have air conditioning, while the others feature mobile air conditioners. In fair weather, you can have breakfast in the peaceful courtyard. Free WiFi is available in the entire building. The Graben and Kohlmarkt shopping streets, St. Stephen's Cathedral, and 2 underground stations, are only a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mailbergerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mailberger Hof Vienna
Mailberger Hof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing