We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Pension” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Lerner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Lerner
Ranked #247 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Malmö, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Pension”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

This was the first time I've ever spent time looking at the artwork in a hotel room. Our room was decorated with old Viennese prints and fliers that reflected the charm and attention to detail emanating from the Pension Lerner. Though it's no full service hotel, the staff made our late arrival a breeze and offered to pack us breakfast for our early departure. We stayed for two nights and we hope to spend more at this well worn but refined pension if we ever return to Vienna.

  • Liked — Service, atmosphere and location
  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMinSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    29
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
40
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2007

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. Very close to the underground station and walking distance to everything. The surroundings are also very nice. The Pension itself is a bit old and basic. No safe box, not even at the reception. Breakfast is sufficient.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No safety box
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MelKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2007

After reading positive reviews I booked a room at Pension Lerner for 2 nights. The cost was average for the season and location. When I arrived the staff was helpful and the room was much larger than expected. Unfortuantely on our second day we left the room early in the morning. I read a sign in the bathroom stating to place used towels int he tub if you want them changed and leave them hanging if you do not. We moved all of ours into the shower. In past hotels I've never had any issues with this. We returned to the pension after the staff had left and were greeted with an unclean room. No one had step foot in it since we left and worse than anything, we had no towels to use aside from those on the floor in the tub. We chose to wait until morning to talk to anyone instead of calling the nightline. This was a mistake, as the girl in the morning was clearly preoccupied and did not care at all about the problems we had. She said the cleaning person was knew and probably didn't get to our room. I did not understand how this could be acceptable and what was worse is that she did not seem to care about it happening, so much so that she made no effort to apologize or even offer clean towels until i specifically asked for them. We were charged a full rate even though I felt we did not receive the services we had paid for. Overall I think the pension had potential and we were unfortuante to have dealt with such a terrible staff member the day we were having problems.

  • Liked — the room size
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelerforlife810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2007

We stayed at Pension Lerner as part of our Austrian Trip.

Location: This is right in the old town near Stephanplatz - only 5-7 mins walk to the main square. Anyhow, it is located on a very quiet street with a few pubs/fast food restaurants and also the Billa supermaker nearby. There is lots of gelati stores along the way.

Rooms: All the rooms are on the 1st floor. This is a pension, not a hotel. We stayed in a good size room, which faced the back of the street. Extremely quiet, left the windows open during the summer nights. Two single beds put together as a double, with clean bedding and cosy mattress. Closet space, no safe, small TV with only a few channels and only english channel was CNN. Little chocolate provided everyday when bed is made.

Bathroom/Toilet- we had a different kind of room compared to others. When you open the bathrrom, you come into a seperate toilet, and then have to open another door to the bathroom. Toilet is clean. Bathroom clean, clean towels but rough on skin provided and changed everyday. Moderate amount of hot water, but only bad thing was drainage was poor - so water pooling around feet.

Breakfast: Very simple continental breakfast. a Plate of sliced ham and cheese provided, with lots of bread rolls. Jam provided. Alternating sweet cake each day, and occasionally some boiled eggs. Not spectacular but kept me full. Strong brewed coffee. We could take our breakfast into our rooms!

Reception/Staff: Run by two young ladies, who has reasonable english. Allowed us to wash our laundry in their washing machine and even hung it up for us to dry.

We payed 80 euros per night ( internet price ) for two people. Good value for expensive vienna! Would stay again.

  • Liked — Free wifi, location and price
  • Disliked — Shower drainage
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank kingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pаris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2007

Very well situated, only 10 min. walk from the historical center. Calm street, very nice people (several young girls with their different english levels but all very kind, especially for the local standards!!) who welcome you. Room is a very cosy one, perfect heating (very windy Vienna January) and enough space. Toilet and bathroom separated. There was a minor negative thing - while very clean, the toilet itself is of an older kind, which means the smells stay little too long inside. The breakfast is european, very rich variety for the price. Reception stays open till 20h, after which you get the key. The price (we-not-yet married couple in our late 20s-booked it by internet, a month in advance) was 80 euros with the breakfast, probably not the cheapest one, but when compared with extra location and said above, we liked it more then we would some other 2-3 star hotel.

  • Liked — Position, breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Across the street there is a nice little restaurant New Delhi, with delicious and cheap pasta!!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Vika&Doni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2006

November 2006
Single female traveller, Norfolk, UK
Stayed for four nights in this great little hotel. Its location was the reason I chose the Lerner but I got the added bonus of very friendly and helpful owners whose English is much better than they think it is! Breakfast was excellent in a small cosy room which made it easy to meet other guests if you wanted to. The only disappointment was that although I had sole use of a WC it wasn't in the en-suite bathroom. I'll definitely stay there again but will ask for an en-suite everything! I really recommend this little hotel to all age-groups with the exception of those with children.

  • Liked — Location and the helpful owners
  • Disliked — Not having an en-suite toilet
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early and double check en-suite facilities
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2006

Have to agree with the other reviewers here: Lerner is in a fabulous location, just off the Am Hof, and a few minutes' walk from major Vienna tourist attractions such as the Stephansdom, Hofburg complex, museum quarter, Parliament, the Votivkirche, etc.

The staff was also extremely friendly and helpful to us, particularly as we were leaving. They found an early-morning bus service to the airport that the tour books didn't mention, had breakfast out for us (even though we left the hotel in the middle of the night), and even bought us an alarm clock (we had asked for a wake-up call, but apparently the phone service wasn't working that day).

Travelers who expect 24-hour service from hotel staff might be disappointed by Lerner, however. There usually wasn't anyone around from the early evenings until breakfast (although someone was waiting for us when we checked in late at night), so the front desk often isn't staffed. This was never a problem for us, however, and I doubt it would be for most.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GelEGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Residenz
Pension Residenz
#219 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#113 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#189 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#163 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Inner City
Marc Aurel
Marc Aurel
#248 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Inner City
Bajazzo
Bajazzo
#238 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Lerner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Lerner

Property: Pension Lerner
Address: Wipplingerstrasse 23, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#125 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Lerner 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pension Lerner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lerner Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing