We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Pension Residenz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Residenz
Ranked #226 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Mountain View, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We got down at Rathaus U-bahn stop and got lost trying to find this hotel. The entrance is quite hidden. But it was just once. The room was good, bathroom was cramped, buffet breakfast was included, was just about ok. I guess its the same fare in breakfast buffets all over Europe. Staff was courteus and extremely helpful. Best part was the location, you could catch a U-bahn or a tram or maybe even walk to most places of interest in the inner ring. There were multiple eating options at Schottenring - Universitat (hope I got that right). There was a concert by some local band on a ground near our hotel, the crowd was pretty enthusiastic despite the rain. I had a fun stay at this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bigger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bingir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    74
    31
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
60
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

A friend recommended this place. At first sight, it's unprepossessing but the owner Herr Ziegler is a man of great charm and he ensures that the place is spotless. Breakfast is included (and good) and besides the free wi-fi, there's a computer in the reception area. I would stay here again not least because it is such excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrEccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Smart solution if you wanna be in the Innerstadt, at 3 mins walking from the Rathaus metro stop and10-15 mins from the Hofburg.
Old-fashioned style building but with nice and clean rooms, a bathroom with shower(hairdryer inside). Wireless connection everywere. Huge breakfast till 10 AM.
The only thing I disliked was the double bed with two separated mattresses: very unconfortable for a couple!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed here for the weekend & loved it. The staff couldn't do enough for you. I had forgotten my uk adaptor charger & we were able to borrow theirs. It was very quiet even though just round the corner from the christmas market & lovely & warm from the chilly weather outside. Breakfast was great. The hotel is a little hard to but that is part of its charm & just next door to a pub. We would stay there again as it is very easy to get to the touristy stuff

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maypole01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Augusta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

First appearances of this hotel were a bit off-putting. The old stairs, entry and the cranky lift made us think we had chosen poorly. However, our room was clean, comfortable and while basic, was excellent for our needs. No tea or coffee facilities in room, and nowhere to make one. Keep this in mind if you like a hot drink before bed! Good location and staff very, very helpful and friendly. Overall, basic but clean and adequate.

Room Tip: Double rooms are much, much bigger than singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anozjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibiu
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

At first sight, Pension Residenz doesn't say much. It's located in a building that also hosts some private flats and the old stairs, lift and halls are rather dull, plus the reception area is high up on third floor.

However, the room we stayed in was gorgeous. Very large (6mx6m - 20 feet by 20 feet), with very nice furniture. The bathoom was small but well equipped, not a spot of rust or dirt in sight.

From the pleasant smell to the minibar, I really couldn't find anything we didn't like. The bed was very large and confy, with the minor complaint that it was made of two joined beds and there was a gap in the middle. We also requested an extra bed for our son, it was ready when we arrived.

The sheets were replaced every day and overall the whole room was cleaned with great care.

Also, free Wifi was available (we were given the password on a piece of paper).

The breakfast area was rather small (about 7 tables I think); food itself was standard; I was pleasantly surprised by their assortment of breads.

The staff was helpful, they spoke very good English too.

Overall it was a very nice experience and given the almost strategic location of Pension Residenz (the street is so near to the center yet there's little traffic) I'd have no problem recommending it to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmandNiculescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Pension Residenz is run by a helpful and knowledgeable staff. Located just outside the Ring, this comfortable hotel is situated on a quiet side street with eating and public transportation nearby. We would certainly come back to Pension Residenz.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bphil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Inner City
Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#166 of 361 in Vienna
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#128 of 361 in Vienna
266 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#190 of 361 in Vienna
331 reviews
Inner City
Pension Lerner
Pension Lerner
#237 of 361 in Vienna
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Residenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Residenz

Property: Pension Residenz
Address: Ebendorferstrasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Residenz 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Residenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Residenz Hotel Vienna
Residenz Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing