We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Residenz

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pension Residenz
Ranked #220 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Papa, Hungary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Spent 1 night at Pension Residenz in Vienna. Great location from the Rathausplatz Christmas Market. It's about 2 min walk. The owner/receptionist is very helpful and speaks english. Breakfast and free Wifi was included in our room. I didn't have a hard time finding the place. Downsides are bed-not so comfortable (firm) and I had to pay 10 Euro (1 day) for street parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamko_ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    72
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
56
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Myself and my partner travelled to Vienna from Bratislava to basically explore the city and experience the infamous Christmas markets. We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, from the 9th to the 12th of December. The location of the hotel is excellent, a couple of steps away from the town hall, where the largest and best Christmas markets are located. The hotel is very close to the University stop for the Vienna sightseeing hop-on, hop-off bus tours, which we found very handy. It's relatively close to the Spanish Horse-riding School, and the main shopping street in Vienna. The hotel itself you'd easily pass out without realising, a small gold plaque on the outside of the building indicates that this is the hotel. Our taxi driver popped it in the sat nav but I imagine we wouldn't have found it as easily otherwise. The hotel is located on the second floor, we stayed in room 224 which was a nice, bright room, facing onto the street which added some ambiance. The room was clean and functional with quite a high ceiling. However, it was quite dated and not suitable for those going on a romantic weekend away, or those looking for modernity and luxury. The breakfast was basic but adequate. The staff were nice & helpful, and genuinely pleasant. They ordered a taxi to bring us back to the airport for €38 which was reasonable and very convenient. I would recommend this hotel, but more for it's location than anything else. It cost €240 for the stay which was reasonable.

Room Tip: Room 224 was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smurph_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Just spent 4 nights at Pension Residenz in Vienna.
The location is by far the best feature of this place, Minutes away from the Town Hall and a reasonable walking distance to Graben street (shopping area). There are various eateries near by and also a nicely stocket food store.
For November/December visitors, the location is super, as a very nice Christmas market is in front of the Town Hall.
The service is also good. The staff is nice and helpful. Guests are given a key in order to enter the building at all times. Very practical.
The cost of a single room is very reasonable, especially when taking into consideration how great the location is.
The interior of the place is a bit outdated. Drab colors and furniture. The room itself has all you need: a bed, a desk, a night stand and a tv. The bathroom is very small, with a toilet and shower squeezed it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDTStavanger_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel in the end of november for 3 nights. It's a friendly small place situated in an old building. The entrance is a bir weird, looks a bit deserted, rhe reception is in the second floor, where we stayed (at 223). The room is quiet big, old style like. The bed is comfortable and there 2 small couches and a small table next to it. The bathroom was clean and cousy. Breakfast was basic, not much of variety. The owner is a great guy, very helpful and easygoing. I would recommand it for those who want to be close to the center. Those who like modern shinny style rooms would appreciate it less.

Helpful?
Thank Shai S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were looking for a hotel where we could leave the car and walk around the city and this was perfect. We paid €10 per day to park the car on the street in front of the hotel - you might have to be patient, but there was a place available within 10-15 min., cars come and go.

The hotel itself is nothing special - an old building with some floors converted into a hotel - but more than adequate and good value for the price. The room was big, beds comfortable and little street noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The best thing about this location is the location. It is around a 5 minute walk from the Rathaus subway stop on U2, which is 3 stops away from Karlplatz (opera house, TI, Albertina, Hofburg palace, etc). It is walkable; however, it would probabily take 30 minutes to walk to those places. The hotel price includes air conditioning (works really well), wifi (not well but we were on the 2nd floor), and breakfast (cold breakfast consisting of different types of bread, ham, cheese, cereal, yogurt). Of these included items, the air conditioning is the best. The rooms are run down but clean. We stayed in room 223. The bed, blanket, and pillow were all very comfortable and we had a good night's rest. However, there were definitely cons. The wires attached the chandelier light fixture to the ceiling were exposed - seems like it was going to fall down onto the ground! Water from the bathroom sink backflows to the drain in the shower. The drain in the shower does not drain well so you're pretty much standing in ankle deep of "dirty water" when you're showering. (Gross). Being on the second floor and facing the inner courtyard, our room was pretty quiet. The only noise we got was of our neighbor opening/closing the door. The staff is pretty friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to those traveling on a budget but want to be close to the city center and want air con for summer months. I would not recommend this hotel because it includes a free breakfast because there all sorts of interesting little cafes in Vienna and for a few euros you would be much happier with what they have to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter than those on the mezzanine; however, the wifi may not be as r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

The hotel is very good located very close to the City Hall and the whole inner district of Vienna is in walking distance of the hotel or if you need to use the Metro, it takes you only 5 minutes to be there. The rooms are a bit disappointing, very old - a bit run down (stains and holes in the furniture),the toilets in the rooms are already smelling. The only big advantage - you do have an air condition. The breakfast area is in the mezzanin without a window - the tables are not even decorated, looks like a fast food cantine, also the general offer of the breakfast is very basic and even though there is a lady, she is not asking you if you would like to have a coffee and is bringing it to you. It is a very cheap hotel, so maybe one cannot expect more, but I would not recommend it, if you are the first time in Vienna or want to spend a romantic weekend there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roswitha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#165 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#64 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Lerner
Pension Lerner
#247 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#191 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Inner City
Bajazzo
Bajazzo
#239 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Residenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Residenz

Property: Pension Residenz
Address: Ebendorferstrasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Residenz 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Residenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Residenz Hotel Vienna
Residenz Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing