We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Residenz Pension Hotel”
Review of Pension Residenz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Residenz
Ranked #225 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely old building. The staff were helpful and friendly and went way beyond their duty to help us. The room is large and is equipped with a small fridge. The bathroom is cramped but it serves the purpose. The linen was spotless. The breakfast is limited but it is totally satisfactory for a healthy start to your day. We appreciated the helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAD652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

When our taxi driver dropped us off, we thought he'd taken us to the wrong place. It took a while to track down the hotel as there is only a very small sign on a large wooden door. You go through this into a down at heel courtyard and area with a lift. It's like something out of a 1940s movie! The lift was small, old and a bit creaky and to be honest the hotel was the same, although our room was a very good size. It doesn't appear to have been decorated for several decades but though dated, it was clean. The bathroom was a bit dire. Very tatty looking and with a huge step up into the shower with is one of those old-fashioned ones with hot and cold mixer taps which to my knowledge, are illegal in the UK, It was quite efficient for all that, though, so not complaining too much. Breakfast not so good in a very dingey and uninviting dining room which only had a hanfdful of tables. I don't know how they'd have coped if everyone came to breakfast at once. Wifi free and fast. The location wasn't brilliant- quite a walk to get to the centre and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spaniel11176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

i stayed at this hotel for five nights and can't complain about nothing. it's not a luxury hotel but it's a proper hotel in center of wien with great owners! i spent some time with younger owner and he was really helpful with everything in wien, feel free to ask. if you visit this hotel, please take a close look to a painting in kitchen, it made me spent loads of time in front of it, one of the most amusing i've ever seen...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank filippppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel is not very appealling and we were waiting for a while before checking in. The shower head had nothing to hang off correctly so you had to hold it for a shower and the rest of the bathroom is cramped. The breakfast we terrible. The bread was stale and there was a very poor selection of cheese and ham.
My partner and i are used to staying in hostels so we do not mind lower standerds but we stayed here for one night as a treat and the standards were lower than some hostels we stay at.

The only positive is the rooms are of a good size.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil4242uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

It is a small uncrowded hotel. Very pleasant place, with a classic style, and affable owners. Will go back whenever in Vienna. Free wifi, and air condition in each room (not trivial in Vienna). Breakfast was reasonable, and they even took care of airport transportation with reasonable price. Note that the street entrance is not marked, and looks as ordinary patio entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zshinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

As you know Vienna can be discovered by foot. at good starting point is this Pension, tucked away in an appartment block close to the city centre. I agree with the other comments that it is a little difficult to find but the facilities have been upgraded recently on M floor and the staff are worth their weight in gold. If you find the breakfast room stuffy, just open the door and let some fresh air in!

Room Tip: the room on M floor have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaohuPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year when visiting Vienna for the Christmas markets. When we arrived we were a bit unsure of what to expect due to the old style lift and dark staircases, however don't let this put you off. The staff were welcoming and our room (standard double) was comfortable and a good size. Breakfast was the same every morning, a continental style buffet, but we had no complaints as there was plenty to available to fill us up for the day! The location is excellent as the hotel is right in the centre of Vienna and only 5-10 minutes walk away from two different underground stations. Free wi-fi in the rooms was also very handy. Overall, this was excellent value for money and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#188 of 359 in Vienna
344 reviews
Inner City
Pension Lerner
Pension Lerner
#230 of 359 in Vienna
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Bajazzo
Bajazzo
#258 of 359 in Vienna
67 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#123 of 359 in Vienna
426 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#135 of 359 in Vienna
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Residenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Residenz

Address: Ebendorferstrasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £58 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Residenz 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Residenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Residenz Hotel Vienna
Residenz Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing