We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value, very helpful owners, close to the bus and metro and all sights”
Review of Schweizer Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schweizer Pension
Ranked #16 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best value, very helpful owners, close to the bus and metro and all sights”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you like b&b's, you will like this place. The room we had was huge, the beds were extremely comfortable - it had double doors so try and get that room. My only negative is the entrance from the street - kind of creepy but don't be deterred. The owners will help you with anything you need.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    74
    24
    13
    1
See reviews for
17
82
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed three nights in the Schweizer Pension and enjoyed it very much. The owners are great, the location is good for public transportation, the room was large. The furnishing are sparse and date but certainly adequate. The noise level from the street was fairly high. The bathroom was very small. The breakfast was excellent European style with great cheese and meat and cereal.
The owners are knowledgeable, friendly, and speak excellent English. There are great options for getting around town with a subway station, an electric bus stop, and a tram stop all within a couple of blocks. I would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utahartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. Klaus (Gerald) and Anita were very helpful, going so far as making a packed lunch, gratis and unasked, when we had to check out pre-breakfast time. Also very helpful with local travel advice.

Rooms are comfortable,and functional. It is not a luxury hotel, but does the basics well. We would happily stay there if in Vienna again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKA255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful so I wish I could give this a better rating, but this isn't a good hotel. The room is clean but basic and very dated which isn't itself an issue, but the shower pressure isn't great, the bed is hard and squeaks at every movement, the noise from other guests late at night and at breakfast was very loud, breakfast itself is okay but one of the mornings the bread was a bit stale.
Worst of all, there is no 24 hour reception, and this place has three old-style keys, the kind you need to twist several times to get doors open. The door to the building and to the room were alright but on the first evening we had a lot of trouble with the door to get into the floor (i.e. the Pension itself). With no way to contact staff and no response to our constant ringing of the doorbell (which was probably terrible for any guests who were home) we were this close to having to go to another hotel (without most of our stuff) after about half an hour of trying, when finally we managed to get it open.
All in all, not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pancreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The location was great- walking distance to the center of shopping and restaurants.
The staff were very friendly and kept the pension clean. They helped us with parking and made it very easy.
I didn't love the room, it was non-smoking but you could tell someone had smoked in there. There was no ac, which was not good with all the noise on the street. The bed was comfortable though. One weird thing- there is a timer on the light for the bathroom.
Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our first impression was the extremely helpful and friendly owner! He showed us on our map where to go to eat authentic food. And what an excellent recommendation it was! We were delighted with the high vaulted ceiling, the spacious room, big windows, private bathroom and the white crisp bed sheets covering fluffy down. How lovely to come back at the end of the day to a tidy room. Located within "the ring" but away from noise and bustle of the main drag. The breakfast area was beautifully set, the food plentiful and the arranged seating encouraged socialization. Although there was no air conditioning there was a small fan that helped keep the warm air moving. Wi fi and safe included. We stayed two nights & loved this place and our ability to walk everywhere. The only time we took a tram was to visit the Belvedere. Thank You Gerald & Anita!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryVickars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay with the corner room being beautiful with plenty of room for luggage and moving around. The bathroom was a fully enclosed cabin in the room and while being a bit small was quite adequate. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with the typical German/Austrian fare of cheeses, meats, breads and the usual muselii, fruits, yogurts, juices and good coffee. The proprietress was very friendly and knowledgeable. We would return there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#65 of 360 in Vienna
758 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#187 of 360 in Vienna
328 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#25 of 360 in Vienna
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#173 of 360 in Vienna
240 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#164 of 360 in Vienna
586 reviews
Inner City
Pension Dr. Geissler
Pension Dr. Geissler
#22 of 113 in Vienna
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schweizer Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schweizer Pension

Property: Schweizer Pension
Address: Heinrichsgasse 2, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Schweizer Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Schweizer Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizer Pension Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing