We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for it!”
Review of Prinz Ferdinand

Prinz Ferdinand
Ranked #1,114 of 4,161 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Josefstadt
South Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Go for it!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice on the recommendation of our hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The atmosphere is very traditional and I suspect that the decor has changed little for several years. This added to its authenticity. Several of the dishes may be unfamiliar to British palates but don't let this put you off. My husband enjoyed his calves lung and dumplings whilst I similarly enjoyed the boiled veal. Puddings were served in large and delicious portions. My pancakes with apricot jam were fantastic whilst my husband similarly enjoyed his chocolate mousse with orange sorbet. Service was very pleasant and a bottle of Austrian wine excellent. Enjoy!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We were recommended to this restaurant by our hotel and we were not disappointed. Although the street it's in is not the smartest, don't be put off. The welcome we received from the staff was very warm. It's always good to see locals eating at a restaurant and the food reflected this. Good, simple Austrian cuisine. Well cooked and very tasty. Good value for money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LindaD1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Traditional Austrian Food”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Short walk from our Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design. All four of us went for the Wiener schnitzel and potato salad - good sized portions and very tasty. The service was very good and friendly. Reasonably priced wine. And of course finished with a delicious Apple Strudel.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cpmt1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Stephens/Simpson”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

North of Ringstrasse the restaurants are often more for locals than tourists.
This is one of those which serves traditional Austrian food of very good quality.
We think this restaurant is very good value for money and not expensive at all.
Even though we were obviously tourists we were welcome immediately. We were very happy with the non-smoking rooms.
Very friendly, helpful and swift service.
The consomme with pancakes or dumplings is lovely and for main course fish, steak, schnitzel and a ravioli like dumpling with meat or vegetable filling were excellent.
Our lady host was the cornerstone of a very good two nights cuisine and her guidance through the menu and Austrian winelist was superb. The wines selected were very good.
On our second visit we arrived unbooked at 9.45 on a Sunday night and were clearly not a problem.
Good luck Prinz Fredinand!

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not cheap but good”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Wiener schnitzel! Well you have to in Vienna don't you? Well made here, although the slice of meat in the batter was fairly thin. the two pieces filled the plate. Tasty dide dishes. It was a quiet, cold February night in Vienna and by the end we were on our own. Food, wine and local beer were all good. Helpful waitress with good English. Nice atmosphere. What Brits might call a "Gastropub" feel. With bits and pieces around 20 Euros each.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prinz Ferdinand also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Prinz Ferdinand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing