We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food & service is good, could be better”

Pizzeria la Gondola
Ranked #3,323 of 4,234 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Neubau
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Food & service is good, could be better”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Family owned Italian restaurant makes nice food, ideal for families with quick service (if you dine before rush hour). Serving size is generous. Expect to spend between Euro 12-20 for main course meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExpatAussie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    19
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

It was an unplanned visit, because Osteria da Giovanni which is few blocks away, was full and we were desperate to have a dinner. This is place with Italian cuisine, but run by people who are probably Indian or Pakistani. The food was very average - nothing really bad, but no comparisson with really good Italian restaurants. Best of all was pizza - this was cooked really well. Pasta and antipasti were much less wonderful. The owner was very kind to entertain our 1-year old daughter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neglinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for good food”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We walked in after another restaurant nearby was closed not knowing what to expect. It's basic but really quite good - for 6 people we paid € 90 for starters and a Main course and a coffee afterwards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My wife and I visited La Gondola one rainy night in Vienna, and actually we were searching for another Italian place (gotta keep my picky daughter happy occasionally) a few blocks away, but it was closed. We were the only customers in the restaurant as we arrived right at 9pm on a Wednesday night. We were warmly greeted and our food was served quickly. My kids got spaghetti napoli and spaghetti bolognese and my wife and I shared a tagliatelle dish with ham and mushrooms. All of the food was the right temperature and very tasty. Even with a couple of beers for my wife and I, the bill came to 40 Euros. The decor of the restaurant is tastefully done and very warm and inviting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2GoSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Average suburban pizza shop”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was just your average pizza shop. The food was fine, the decor plain and the service ok, noting we were the only people in there.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria la Gondola also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Pizzeria la Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing