We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be excellent review if not for unadjustable temperature in room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Amedia Wien
Ranked #116 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Tx
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would be excellent review if not for unadjustable temperature in room”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Wonderfully spacious, modern room with modern amenities. We loved the room & our choice until we tried to sleep. Room warm at check-in, activated AC which did not cool room & did not provide cool air. Resorted to opening windows which cooled room a bit. Tried to sleep except noise from other guest rooms who also had opened their windows onto same courtyard prevented sleep. Shut windows which resolved noise but then room too warm for sleep. Next day discussed issue with front desk. We were told that the hotel system does not allow the AC to be activated if it senses that the outside temperature does not warrant the use of AC. There is no way to cool down the room. He did offer to give us another room but we did not see the point in moving because is a hotel system design issue. Would not stay again, what's the point of a great room if guests cant sleep & are too tired to enjoy their vacation. Our opinion, system needs to be re-programmed to allow guests to decide what room temperature is comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    326
    114
    32
    16
See reviews for
169
237
33
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked the Junior Suite in the hotel. The room was spacious and clean. WiFi is provided free in this hotel. Location wise, the hotel is slightly away from the town center, but not too far off. The hotel is well served by the many transport options. Bus 74A stops right at the door step of the hotel, and is within 10 minutes ride to the city center (Stadpark). About 10 mins walk away, you can easily take Tram 71 to the city center (Opera House). The St Marx train station is next to the Tram station (you can take bus 74A to the end if you are too lazy to walk). There is also a CityBike station about 5 mins walk away from the hotel.

Within 100 meter of the hotel, there are 4 supermarkets, a bakery, and some other shops. I did not have my breakfast in the hotel (I think 17 euro is a bit high), the nearby bakery provides a cheaper option.


The only "complaint" I have with the hotel is the inconsistent room service. They seem not to make up the room every day, especially on days where there are high turnover of rooms. Other than this oddity, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koksiong71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We spend 2 nights in hotel, and it was very pleasant.
Room was spacious and clean, same as bathroom. Hotel does not have it's on restaurant and offers only buffet breakfast.
Breakfast was excellent with various choices of cold cuts, eggs, cereals, fruits and bakery product. Staff was pleasant and helpful.
There is garage in hotel with daily charge of 17 Eur.
Hotel is not situated in city center but it is not far from it. Metro and tram station is few minutes away, pleasant walk.
In vicinity of hotel there are few supermarkets (Lidl, Billa) and also few restaurants.
Overall it is very good hotel for stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

No big complains for my stay of 5 days at the Amedia hotel. The hotel is 5-10 minutes on foot from the closest metro station, not in a spectacular area of Vienna but pretty convenient with some good restaurants close by. With the metro the city center can be reached conveniently, and if one comes from the airport it's just 2 metro stations distance.

The room was big and the bathroom spacious, always clean.
The free media concept is very nice and useful. However I had problems with the TV; I couldn't manage to turn it on or off (remote control just didn't have any effect, as well as the buttons on the side of the TV). Consequently it was always staying on standby with an annoying animation moving on the screen that emitted some light also during night, so that I had to use one of the two blankets to cover it in order not to sleep undisturbed. I asked the reception to have it checked; they promised to send a technician but I don't know if they did it, and in any case the situation never changed in the days I was there (I could have asked the reception for news, but not being interested in watching TV and being busy for most of the time I didn't care too much).

Another problem I found was the room always a bit too warm, or better with the air always a bit heavy. Luckily the windows can be opened and I had a room facing the back courtyard and not the street, so I could sleep with the window open.
Surely, though, the sound insulation is pretty good: during my stay there were several classrooms hosted at the hotel, but I never had problems of noise.

I cannot comment on breakfast because I found it too expensive and I didn't include it (even if 15€ seem to be the standard for hotels nowadays - in passing, luckily there is a bakery that serves also coffee almost on the other side of the street),

Nothing special to say for what concerns the hospitality. The people working at the reception weren't rude at all, but not particularly welcoming either (it could however be a general Viennese attitude, from what I saw).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The most thing I like it about the hotel was the price ,but when I stayed there I loved everything ,the staff were very helpful ,I remember I had health issue and they were very caring about me ,they paid the ambulance they make sure one of their staff next to me all the time until the ambulance came .
What I want to say is that ,if you find hotel with well trained staff,and very clean rooms, decorated nicely, with best price in Vienna !!! What you are waiting for ,book it immediately .

Behind the hotel there is Italian restaurant very good , and next the hotel I mean exactly next the hotel door there is big supermarket ,
In the end of the street big shopping mall which you can reach it by bus which the station also in front the hotel .

I also booked for June2013 :-) .

This is what I call customer satisfaction !!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhalidAlhajri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The Amedia is conveniently located for central Vienna on the U3 or (more scenically) the D tram from the nearby Belvedere Palace and Museum. Heading to Bratislava for the day is also very convenient, heading out of Hauptbahnhof (former Ostbahnhof, just round the corner.) St Marx is also very convenient for the Airport, though the S-Bahn could be more frequent.

The hotel itself was very comfortable, with a good breakfast, and excellent bathroom; I'd recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I took SBahn to St.Marx, and walk for only 8 minutes to the Hotel. Although the hotel is not located in the very central of the city, it is still very convenient for the traveler. There are a lot of supermarkets and grocery stores near the Hotel, it is very easy to buy anything you need. There is also a bis station near the hotel(about 3 minutes walk), so it is easy to go to the city center.
The hotel is quiet, comfortable and clean, with really friendly staff. The room is big, flat TV with greeting words, a fridge, and the bed is comfortable.
Most of all the price is not very expensive, this is a valuable Hotel.
I am traveling to Wien later and already booked it again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerToniaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Eurostars Embassy Hotel
Eurostars Embassy Hotel
#181 of 360 in Vienna
384 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
Best Western Plus Hotel Arcadia
Hotel Lucia
#54 of 360 in Vienna
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Amedia Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Amedia Wien

Property: Best Western Plus Amedia Wien
Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 155, Vienna 1030, Austria (Formerly AMEDIA Hotel Wien)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Amedia Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only four subway stops from downtown Vienna – located in the vibrant business district “Landstrasse” cutting-edge design combined with state of the art technology awaits you in AMEDIA Hotel Vienna.- 187 design rooms in a modern red / black combination - 5 conference rooms with a total of 406m ² on 2 levels - Wellness area with steam bath, sauna and relaxation room - Underground parking with 90 spaces - Coffee lounge and Bar are the highlights of the hotel.Whether you are on a city break, business trip or congress visit – at the AMEDIA Hotel Vienna you expect the best service and latest technology (FREE MEDIA: free telephony in 24 countries, free WLAN throughout the house and video on demand free of charge) in a charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Amedia Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing