We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit far out for a short trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Amedia Wien
Ranked #123 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We got a very o
Good price for this hotel and the room was fine. We were on the 5th floor. Free wifi was of a good quality one problem was not being able to turn the TV off so we had to put a towel over the front because the time display was lighting up the room.
The breakfast was 17 euros per person and in our view a rip off. Served in a very crowded and noisy room with many guest stealing their days supply of food. No wonder as it was so expensive. Most staff were very good except in the evening one member refused to help with an enquiry for a cup of tea. We knew they had some as they had served it in the morning but she did not want to help .
This hotel would be good for younger groups and if you know the transport system is workable for the city.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Amedia Wien
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Nice and quite new hotel. We had a basic simple hotel room which was quite sufficient for a short business trip.

Air conditioning generally worked, but temperature control didn't function properly (adjusting room temperature from control panel did nothing). On a good location; there's a bus stop almost in front of the hotel. With the bus it takes about 10 minutes to get to the city centre. There are also couple of grocery stores and pubs/pizzerias nearby. Free wifi. Breakfast was not included in the basic booking. The room had no information, no room service menu, nothing. Just an empty notepad, but not even a pen. No sewing utensils, no cosmetic products except generic hand soap. The place supposedly has four stars but to me this seems to be exaggeration.

We got our booking through laterooms.com on a short notice. We were informed that we saved about 500 euros from the hotel's full price. If those are really their normal prices, then it's definitely very, very overpriced. This was a basic hotel room which usually are in the range of 100 to 250 euros per night. I would never pay over 500 for this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LepusDementis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My cousin and I stayed at this hotel and I cannot say enough about Vladimir, who was on the reception desk the day we arrived. Nothing was a problem to him and he went out of his way, to answer all questions I asked of him. The location is great, a minute or two walk from the hotel and you are at the bus stop which takes you to the city. You can then get around by bus, or by train to the many tourist destinations Vienna has to offer. I found the room, good value for money, and very clean. WiFi was excellent, and the rooms have had a recent refurbishment. I would not hesitate to stay there again and if Vladimir is on the desk, you will have nothing to worry about.
I think you should give him a pay rise, as his service was exceptional.

Room Tip: One at the back..less noise from the main street.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I went there because I was stayed in their Salzburg branch in before, In my view it was not as good as the Salzburg one, but it was fair enough. Room was not very large, services were good. Media was nice, Internet connection and also free video on demand services.
Place is good, but not perfect, it's close to bus station but not very close to metro station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MostRokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Wonderfully spacious, modern room with modern amenities. We loved the room & our choice until we tried to sleep. Room warm at check-in, activated AC which did not cool room & did not provide cool air. Resorted to opening windows which cooled room a bit. Tried to sleep except noise from other guest rooms who also had opened their windows onto same courtyard prevented sleep. Shut windows which resolved noise but then room too warm for sleep. Next day discussed issue with front desk. We were told that the hotel system does not allow the AC to be activated if it senses that the outside temperature does not warrant the use of AC. There is no way to cool down the room. He did offer to give us another room but we did not see the point in moving because is a hotel system design issue. Would not stay again, what's the point of a great room if guests cant sleep & are too tired to enjoy their vacation. Our opinion, system needs to be re-programmed to allow guests to decide what room temperature is comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked the Junior Suite in the hotel. The room was spacious and clean. WiFi is provided free in this hotel. Location wise, the hotel is slightly away from the town center, but not too far off. The hotel is well served by the many transport options. Bus 74A stops right at the door step of the hotel, and is within 10 minutes ride to the city center (Stadpark). About 10 mins walk away, you can easily take Tram 71 to the city center (Opera House). The St Marx train station is next to the Tram station (you can take bus 74A to the end if you are too lazy to walk). There is also a CityBike station about 5 mins walk away from the hotel.

Within 100 meter of the hotel, there are 4 supermarkets, a bakery, and some other shops. I did not have my breakfast in the hotel (I think 17 euro is a bit high), the nearby bakery provides a cheaper option.


The only "complaint" I have with the hotel is the inconsistent room service. They seem not to make up the room every day, especially on days where there are high turnover of rooms. Other than this oddity, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koksiong71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We spend 2 nights in hotel, and it was very pleasant.
Room was spacious and clean, same as bathroom. Hotel does not have it's on restaurant and offers only buffet breakfast.
Breakfast was excellent with various choices of cold cuts, eggs, cereals, fruits and bakery product. Staff was pleasant and helpful.
There is garage in hotel with daily charge of 17 Eur.
Hotel is not situated in city center but it is not far from it. Metro and tram station is few minutes away, pleasant walk.
In vicinity of hotel there are few supermarkets (Lidl, Billa) and also few restaurants.
Overall it is very good hotel for stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Landstraße
Eurostars Embassy Hotel
Eurostars Embassy Hotel
#181 of 361 in Vienna
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#160 of 361 in Vienna
802 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#153 of 361 in Vienna
377 reviews
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#112 of 361 in Vienna
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Amedia Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Amedia Wien

Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 155, Vienna 1030, Austria (Formerly AMEDIA Hotel Wien)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £44 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Amedia Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only four subway stops from downtown Vienna – located in the vibrant business district “Landstrasse” cutting-edge design combined with state of the art technology awaits you in AMEDIA Hotel Vienna.- 187 design rooms in a modern red / black combination - 5 conference rooms with a total of 406m ² on 2 levels - Wellness area with steam bath, sauna and relaxation room - Underground parking with 90 spaces - Coffee lounge and Bar are the highlights of the hotel.Whether you are on a city break, business trip or congress visit – at the AMEDIA Hotel Vienna you expect the best service and latest technology (FREE MEDIA: free telephony in 24 countries, free WLAN throughout the house and video on demand free of charge) in a charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Amedia Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing