We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel not inconveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Amedia Wien
Ranked #117 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

At full rack rate then this is strictly a business expense hotel. Book ahead and get a realistic price and it's very good value (4 days before Easter €270). Brealfast is €17 each if not included which is extortionate but there is an Aldi next door and a bakery opposite which we used and save a good amount of cash.

Don't be put off by it being out of the tourist belt. Buses stop outside virtually every 6 - 8 minutes and get you into the main city in about 10 minutes, or take the tube which is about 10 - 15 mins walk away.

Room was spacious and clean and had air-con - free internet was good and of a decent speed albeit you need a new code every day from reception.

All in all a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nice brand new rooms, very clean with great bathroom, speedy wifi and nice free phone calls, good location with convinient bus! Only coffee facilities in the room missing! The whole experience was great and at a very good price!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSIMIMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAMEDIA, Manager at Best Western Plus Amedia Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear TSIMIMAR!
First of all, thank you so much, for your feedback to your stay in our house!
We are very happy, that you had a great time and had enjoyed your stay. Today, we are very happy, to see you as soon as possible. All the best from the sunny Vienna, your AMEDIA Hotel Wien team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is situated away from the Tourist area, but still close to some nice restaurants. As it is away from the tourist area, the hotel offers much better value for money. It is a short walk to the subway, or you can walk to the central business area in about 25 minutes straight down the road that the hotel is situated on. The wifi is excellent, unlike many hotels you can get a reliable connection even for streaming movies etc. There is a bar at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAMEDIA, Manager at Best Western Plus Amedia Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Paul B!
First of all thank you very much for your feedback to your stay in our house. We are very happy, that you had a great time in our house and the infrastructure was good for you. So we hope that we see you as soon as possible and send you all the best from Vienna, your AMEDIA Hotel Wien team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is very clean and well kept. The decoration feels like early 90's corporate, a bit office-like and cold - it definitely feels more geared towards business travelling and conferences than for tourism. That said, guests seemed to be mostly couples from late 20s to 60s. The service also feels rather cold, more like an office reception than a hotel's, but nothing too wrong with it.

The breakfast is decent enough (nice breads, salami, hams, cheeses, bacon, eggs, juice, coffe/tea, fruit/fruit salad, cakes) but they make you have to get up all the time because there are no trays so if you need two small plates, a mug and a glass that's 2 return journeys, plus the same to refill, and juice glasses are tiny like shot glasses for that purpose so I just used mugs. I suppose these are tricks to make you consume less but they're just annoying and make them look tight.

There's a media system in the rooms which has nice recent movies available to watch for free.

We found it quiet for sleeping, but you can hear some noise from the adjacent rooms and we could hear the wake up phone call on the room next door which woke us twice.

Easy to get to the centre using the tube or even walking if you're so inclined and have time and energy (we did it once).

Overall a safe choice if you've been burned before with hotels like we have: nothing particularly wrong with this one but nothing too remarkable either that will make you miss it. I don't think we'd choose it again because there are no rooms with double beds, which was disappointing for us on arrival, but apart from that it's a decent choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seurat04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAMEDIA, Manager at Best Western Plus Amedia Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Seurat04!
First of all, thank you very much, for your feedback to our house!
We are very happy, if we get feedback from our guest, cause of this, we can learn so much!
But at the same time, we have to say sorry, that you don´t feel so good at the reception and so on... Although we want, that our guest have a great time, and are coming one more time! Last time, there was a lot of changing in our team. Nowadays, we are getting a very good team and so we are teaching them, to do all the best for our guest. So, we would be very happy, if you give us one more chance. We hope, we see you as soon as possible, your AMEDIA Hotel Wien team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

If you want to spend a little time in Wien without spending a lot if money, this hotel is 10 minutes walking from Kardinal Nagl Platz u bahn station (tube) just for stops from the city centre. The hotel is modern and has all the facilities for a quick stay, tv, hair drier, really nice bathroom and shower, and an complete breakfast. If Italian don't expect a good coffee espresso. Then the receptionist are kind even if their English is pretty difficult to understand. If you don't mind the 10 walk to the station, you can stay there.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paolino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAMEDIA, Manager at Best Western Plus Amedia Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Paolino G.,
first of all, thank you very much for feedback to your stay in Vienna and our house. We are very happy, that you enjayed your time. Next time, we will promise, that you will have a great espresso, like an Italian one. So, we wish you all the best, your AMEDIA hotel vienna team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Gave me the feeling of a smaller family run hotel.
I needed a additional adapter and got one from the front desk with only the promise to return it.
Even good a smile from the gentleman working the front once he understood my English.
The area around the hotel has all the shopping that a light traveling tourist could ask for.
Bathrooms are modern and room is clean with enough electrical plugs to charge all our various phones, iPods, iPads, and the like.
I would stay again.

1  Thank robertrietkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Great hotel for the price. A well run hotel ad well decorated which is always very clean andin good condition. The breakfast is high at 17euro so I suggest having a rate with the breakfast inclusive.
The price of the room is very good for the location.
This time it was not busy, they can have coaches of tourists.
The hotel has free WiFi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MW2822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
JUFA Hotel Wien City
JUFA Hotel Wien City
#63 of 359 in Vienna
838 reviews
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#99 of 359 in Vienna
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Amedia Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Amedia Wien

Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 155, Vienna 1030, Austria (Formerly AMEDIA Hotel Wien)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £49 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Amedia Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only four subway stops from downtown Vienna – located in the vibrant business district “Landstrasse” cutting-edge design combined with state of the art technology awaits you in AMEDIA Hotel Vienna.- 187 design rooms in a modern red / black combination - 5 conference rooms with a total of 406m ² on 2 levels - Wellness area with steam bath, sauna and relaxation room - Underground parking with 90 spaces - Coffee lounge and Bar are the highlights of the hotel.Whether you are on a city break, business trip or congress visit – at the AMEDIA Hotel Vienna you expect the best service and latest technology (FREE MEDIA: free telephony in 24 countries, free WLAN throughout the house and video on demand free of charge) in a charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Amedia Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing