We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid hotel, a little far out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Amedia Wien
Ranked #114 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good solid hotel, a little far out”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel was exactly as you'd expect for a best western. Good sized and clean rooms. Helpful staff and good clean every day with fresh towels whenever you wanted them, a good TV in the room which we used to keep up to date with the World Cup :) breakfast is very expensive so go elsewhere and get it, plenty of cafés around. It's in a good enough location for some restaurants etc and we walked a lot but to get into the centre or cross the river/ go to Rathaus it took us about 40 mins and were good 23 year old walkers. The nearest bus was the 71 which was 2-3 mins away or the tube u3 is well connected but that too is 8 mins away. Would definitely stay agin though as a pleasant experience and Vienna is amazing!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    326
    114
    32
    16
See reviews for
169
237
33
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This is probably one of the best ever at 45 EUR/night. The hotel is nice, breakfast is great and the wifi is solid. The only downside is that it's off the city center, but if you can live with this then the place is highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zsessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Nice location, near the subway stop, direct route from the airport. The only negative was the customer service at checkout. A misunderstanding about the breakfast charges resulted in the front desk staff quoting how "little" I paid for the room and that I shouldn't have expected so much. Not what I expected to hear, so I'll be taking my €€€ elsewhere in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mezquia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room is spacious and decoration is simple and modern. The staff is friendly, courteous and accommodating. In short , staff took this hotel further up. Outside look of the hotel was not that impressive but the inside was modern. We travelled as part of a group and all our hotel keys had to be deactivated ( maybe for security reasons, who knows ). Wifi is free and decent in speed. Breakfast was very good. I would highly recommend this hotel. The only downside is housekeeping. Do not expect your room to be cleaned until after 1700. It was a holiday yesterday and they must have a skeleton crew. Public transport is very close and convenient. Bring your umbrella and rain coat because it rains. Otherwise, I am pleased that our hotel was changed to this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa20002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pencoed, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed for two nights during 3rd week of May. It is a good busines hotel, easy to reach from airport and for me , only a short walk to the "office". Tram station within walking distance to get to the city centre. Typical buffet breakfast, nothing special. Only one small issue. I returned from office at around 5:15 to find room being cleaned. I needed a quick shower 'cos I had to meet somebody downtown at 6. I waited for ablut 10 minutes but then had to ask the maid to stop. It's no biggie but you would expect to have had the room done earlier. It could just be one of those things. Overall, would go there again for the convenience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Well, there are not enough words to express our unpleasant experience with Amedia Hotel Wien. Neither to say we chose Amedia to be fairly close to the city center as we wanted to get as much from Wien as possible given the limited time available.
To summarize, the 2 nights stay (2 rooms, 4 adults) in Wien was planned more than half an year in advance. Now, imagine getting there after an 8 hour drive just to be informed that due to technical issues they can’t host us.
So far so good, bad things happen all the time you’d say and this sort of things can’t be foreseen.
The alternative they gave was NH Vienna Airport hotel which, of course, was just near the Airport, something that we were not told or given directions upon. Can you imagine getting a point drawn by a staff member on a Tourist map that is nowhere near the real location? This hotel doesn’t even appear on the map because it is not in Wien. They didn’t even told us the hotel is at the Airport so of course we got lost in Wien as there are other 3 or 4 hotels that have the same name.
Told you that we were after an 8 hour drive already so please imagine driving in Wien to find the NH Wien hotel for an additional at least 2.5 Hours until the only option left was to pay a taxi driver 30 Euros only to drive ahead of us to help find the hotel which is OUTSIDE Wien.
Eventually we arrived there at 6 pm to find the rooms with dirty floors (although fairly good otherwise). Our planned half day evening walk was just gone as we were exhausted.
You think this is everything? No, of course not.
Our initial booking included city stay (2-3 metro stations from city center) as we wanted to have restaurants available and walking distances to different objectives, free landline calls to most of EU countries, 17 euro/day parking and others.
The NH Airport Hotel was OUTSIDE the city but with a Train line that took ~30 mins to reach Wien (without including the walk through the airport, roughly 10 minutes and the waiting time) and it was double priced than city transport. This hotel had 22.8 euro/day parking, airport prices (you all know what this means) and 0 (Zero) restaurants where one could eat at a decent price. Add to the menu the fact that any call made, even landline would cost 1 euro/min and they needed to preauthorize the credit card. No touristic activities were available anywhere close to this one.

The biggest dissapoint didn’t came from this unpleasant surprise but from the fact that they didn’t had the courtesy to give us a phone call or drop an email before we got there. We would have looked at different perspectives and chose the best option for us, even if it would have meant to rescheduele our stay there or even stay at a lower ranked hotel but within the city.

Now, the rating will stay so every tourist can decide what’s best for him.
I do hope for the staff and management to treat their guests better in similar situations and, as it is said in the touristic services, “Treat their guests as their own child”.

I was assurred following a difficult phone conversation that the transport from the Airport to the City will be covered by Amedia because of the whole situation. I kept all metro and train tickets and I do hope that at least we’ll manage to get some of the money back.
It is not much (about 70 Euro) but considerably less expensive than it would have been the taxi.

I wish to all tourists out there safe, pleasant and fully enjoyable trips.
Take care!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdrianTVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 25-April-2014 - 05-May-2014 in Room 515. In short, the service, cleanliness, breakfast, location, room etc were excellent. This hotel lacked nothing! It was 5-star standard (in my opinion). The hotel staff made me feel welcome and comfortable. They fulfilled all my request with no signs of hesitation. The decor of the hotel was amazing. The room was comfortable and elegantly designed. The bathroom was amazing. There were lots of options for breakfasts and transport to the city center was easy. There are lots of shopping and food options within walking distance. I absolutely loved this hotel (it is probably the best I've stayed in thus far). What makes this hotel outstanding is the service from staff. Do give it a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avidesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Eurostars Embassy Hotel
Eurostars Embassy Hotel
#181 of 360 in Vienna
383 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
Best Western Plus Hotel Arcadia
Hotel Lucia
#54 of 360 in Vienna
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Amedia Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Amedia Wien

Property: Best Western Plus Amedia Wien
Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 155, Vienna 1030, Austria (Formerly AMEDIA Hotel Wien)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Amedia Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only four subway stops from downtown Vienna – located in the vibrant business district “Landstrasse” cutting-edge design combined with state of the art technology awaits you in AMEDIA Hotel Vienna.- 187 design rooms in a modern red / black combination - 5 conference rooms with a total of 406m ² on 2 levels - Wellness area with steam bath, sauna and relaxation room - Underground parking with 90 spaces - Coffee lounge and Bar are the highlights of the hotel.Whether you are on a city break, business trip or congress visit – at the AMEDIA Hotel Vienna you expect the best service and latest technology (FREE MEDIA: free telephony in 24 countries, free WLAN throughout the house and video on demand free of charge) in a charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Amedia Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing