We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place with a wonderful acoustics”
Review of Musikverein

Musikverein
Book In Advance
More Info
US$113.93*
and up
Vienna Mozart Evening: Gourmet Dinner and Concert at the Musikverein
Ranked #34 of 570 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place with a wonderful acoustics”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you appreciate classical music I highly recommend you to get a ticket for a concert. My advice is if you wanna to find good prices try to go in summer because during the winter there are more people looking for concerts and prices become more expensive. it will surely be an unforgettable experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrazieleKezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    156
    59
    24
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“One of the great concert houses in the world”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you like classical music you have no doubt seen the new year's concert from Vienna and think it must be impossible to go there.
The Musikverein is a normal concert hall with its weekly concerts and getting tickets is quite easily from their website. The quality is excellent and the acoustics remarkable. We had the privilege of watching Nikolaus Harnoncourt conducting Hayden's Seasons oratorio: an unforgettable experience.
Just one piece of advice. If you get tickets in the balcony, unless you are in the front row, you will hardly see anything. The sound will be great though.
Do go to the two operahouses in VIenna and don't miss the Konzerthaus. But the Musikverein is the one experience you will not forget

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank guitarman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
389 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Performance at the Konzerthaus”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

As stated, there are a few concert halls in Vienna. We purchased our tickets in advance online for a Vienna Symphony performance at the Konzerthaus. The tickets were expensive, but we were able to obtain the tickets before they sold out and we had excellent seats.

The hall is grand in golds and reds and the acoustics were very nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank habaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“There is more than 1 Concert Hall... pick based upon your musical preferences”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

There are several music options in Vienna for you to choose from. This definitely was a highlight of our trip to Vienna and who could imagine coming to Vienna w/o hearing music.

we saw the Wiener Mozart Konzerte in the smaller music hall. As with most performances you'll hear (exclusing Philharmonic orchestra), you will typically hear 1 mvmt from more popular pieces from Mozart and Strauss. Also, you'll hear some arias & duets. The musicians are dressed up in period costumes (sans the principal player).

In my opinion, choose the music option that works for your schedule and choose the pieces that you want to hear. There are many great musicians in Vienna. Unless you are a die-hard listener of classical music, any of these groups should give you a great evening!

Note: Dress code - I saw all types (except for long dresses, gloves, and white tuxes and the other extreme - shorts)

Length: 2 hours wih 15 min intermission
Seating: Pay the money and get good seats. especially with the singers, if you sit too far back, the orchestra will overpower them and you cannot hear....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Elise45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Golden hall amazing! ”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

If you weren't able to purchase a show during your stay in Vienna since it's all fully booked most of the time. You can purchase a 6€ tour guide ticket! The tour will include a guide that will speak in English and will talk about the history of the building. It will lead you to several concert halls depending which ones will be available since the halls are being used for rehearsals and shows on a daily basis. In the end, you will be ended in the infamous golden hall. The tour guide will mention photos are not allowed but you can sneak in a few if you can.

Helpful?
1 Thank kittycheungkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musikverein also viewed

 

Been to Musikverein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing