We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Volksoper

Volksoper
Ranked #61 of 585 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Volksoper Wien, located just ten minutes outside the city centre, stages operettas "Die Fledermaus - The Bat", "Merry Widow", etc.) as well as operas ("The Magic Flute", "La Traviata", etc.), classical musicals ("My Fair Lady", "The Whizard of Oz", etc.) and ballet ("The Snow Queen", etc.). The season, which runs from September to July, consists of some 300 performances divided among some 35 different productions and revivals from previous years. Vienna and operetta - people from far and near will join the two whenever one comes up. Intriguing melodies, swirling dancers, the joy of life - all come together in the classical Viennese Operetta. Much of the music known and loved the world over from composers such as Johann Strauß, Franz Lehár, Emmerich Kálmán ... come from operettas such as "Die Fledermaus", The Merry Widow", "Countess Mariza".
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Ashgabat, Turkmenistan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely little opera house. You can hear and see everything from almost any point in the theater. Word of advice - get the balcony seats. They are much better for seeing, because seats go up at a steeper angle, so you don't have to deal with heads in front of you. I went there twice, the first time to see Carmen, and the second for La Traviata. Enjoyed both, but the second one especially. It was amazing. The cast did such a beautiful job, I cried at the end. And as I was sitting in the balcony seats the second time around, I enjoyed the entire performance.

One minus: There is a bathroom attendant who pulls the towel out for you from one of those automated hand towel roll things, and expects you to pay for the service. OK, I ALREADY paid 59 euros for my ticket, I really don't think I should have to pay anything for a bathroom attendant doing what I could do myself. But it's such a small bathroom that you have to walk right next to her to get out, and I felt like unless I gave her money she's eat me alive. That was very uncomfortable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Maisita509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    89
    15
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Volksoper is not volkstheatre!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Went to see Carmen, ended up at volkstheatre. More people know the theatre, probably as the opera house is a little further out of town so here's how to find it... U-bahn U2 to schottentor. Get off and you can get tram 40, 41 or 42. Literally as you start walking out of station, the trams are there, they come down underground. 4 stops to Wahringerstrasse Volksoper. The stop is just past the opera house so walk back and turn left into the entrance.

This theatre did not have any subtitles streaming across the stage so if you don't know the language or the story, read up in advance.

There is cloakroom, bar etc on every floor.

Don't be late, you won't be allowed to your seats!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LittleSwissLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“THE MUPPETS AT THE OPERA”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The concierge at our hotel managed to get us two tickets to see Die Fledermaus and we were lucky to find our selves in a private box up high in the theatre where the Fledermice might have been hanging out earlier in the day. Peering over the precipice towards the orchestra pit we really did feel like the Muppets.

Although I have never ever been to an opera before everyone knows most of the music wonderfully crafted by Johann Strauss and what a delight it was to listen to this played by a Viennese Orchestra.

The costumes and set were spectacular and the artists top class singers especially the lady playing the part of Adele whose soprano performance of the laughing song was stunning.

Although sung entirely in German except for the Count's rendition of "Chaqu'un a son Gout" subtitles in English unobtrusively appeared above the stage. The Count, a male part portrayed by a lady was either Lesbian or Gay character - I cannot work out which but was nevertheless brilliant.

This Strauss Opera must surely have inspired Gilbert and Sullivan.

Tickets to Volksoper are much cheaper than London West End prices and I recommend Die Fledermaus to anyone visiting from USA or UK

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Der Fledermaus”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This comic operetta is a classic to see in Vienna. They have basic subtitles in English but you will miss a lot of the humor. Still, it's something to see. The location of the Volksoper is a bit out of the way, too far to walk and would take two or three trains to use public transportation. Up to you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We watched a ballet at the VolksOper, and it was a beautiful spectacle, with a good view even from the cheapest seats available. However, allow plenty of time to get to the venue as it is not very central and the staff will not be sympathetic if you are late!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chen_d987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volksoper also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Volksoper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing