We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Austrian National Library (Nationalbibliothek)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.52*
and up
Introducing Vienna Walking Tour: The capital of the Habsburgs
Ranked #13 of 569 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Center of information and research regarding the rich history of the Republic of Austria dating from the 14th century to present day.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This building is an absolutely amazing sight, you have to take your time walking around and we were fortunate enough to see it both by day and night, and it never ceases to amaze.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,139
    363
    59
    20
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is one of the most beautiful libraries I've ever seen, rivaled only by the Library of Congress in the USA. I highly recommend a visit to see this formerly private library of the Hapsburgs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful-looked like a dream inside”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This place reminded me of a Ravensburger puzzle of an amazing old library. The World War 1 exhibition was very interesting/informative with information in English. This was my favorite place in Vienna. It is small and doesn't take long to go through (unless you read every last thing like I did). Photos allowed with no flash.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is such a unique space! It really is unlike any other library I have seen. The ceilings were frescoed, there were statues, and the bookcases were huge. A very enjoyable visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful excursion”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

You needn't spend a lot of time here to appreciate the exceptional beauty of the library (the State Hall). Definitely stop in and enjoy the one of the grandest libraries in the world. We also took in the Globe museum which is located in a different building and worth the short walk if you're into geography, maps and globes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fugeemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Austrian National Library (Nationalbibliothek) also viewed

 

Been to Austrian National Library (Nationalbibliothek)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing