We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alpha
Nearby Hotels
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$350/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$410
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Vienna(Vienna)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
197
256
71
16
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
256
71
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrathaus stationchristmas marketfree tea and coffeespent three nights herewelcoming hotelquiet streetwalking distanceplenty of hot waterbuffet breakfastexcellent locationclose proximitycity centrethe breakfast areahofburg palacecomfortable bedclean roomsnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Hotel Alpha behind the "Rathaus" in Vienna is highly recommendable as a 3-star hotel. It is situated in a quiet street, but still at walking distance from the city centre (Hofburg etc). Also very close to U-bahn and tram. The staff is excellent (they speak English), the buffet breakfast is good. Fruit, coffee/tea complimentary during the day in the breakfast room. If you prefer transfer to the airport by taxi, they have a special deal with a taxi company. (in Nov. -12 it was 34 euros).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mocaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, General Manager at Hotel Alpha, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel Alpha. I appreciate very much that you also enjoyed the additional amenities we offer such as the complimentary coffee/tea and fruits.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon in Vienna.

Best regards,
Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

First don't be put off by the rather dull exterior of the building - inside is birght, welcoming and has a lot of work by contemporary artists. The setting is fine - interesting neighbourhood with lots of 19th centruy palaces being refurbished (one on corner of block but not too noisy and must be finished soon). Good local restaurants around the area and it's very well located for the main museums, Hofburg Palace, old city etc. Very helfpul and pleasant staff - they booked us a meal at the Esterhazy Cellars as we didn't have the phone number, called taxis for the airport and got more stamps when they said they would. Breakfast is a good buffet, often quite busy but they have another area that can be opened up. We were a group of 20 visitng museum and the group arrangments of dates coming and going, room preferences etc were all met with no problems. Bathrooms perfectly reasonable size (despite other reviews, this is not an expensive holle and is in a capital city!), clean and very good showers.
Good value for money, very good base for a city break.Would stay here again - would be very handy for Christmas Market at the Rathaus (only being set up when we viisted). Great city - but ditch the diet before you get here!

Room Tip: From the floor plan it looked like room at end of corriodr had a bath not shower - ask if this is important to you.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRegni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We,2 pairs, stayed in this hotel for 3 hights in November 2012. Personal are very friendly, rooms are clean and enough comfortable, but too small. Breakfast is very full. Free tee, cofee and fruits along a day. Location is very convenient to major sites in Old City. We higly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Mrs Regenfelder-Gassner at Hotel Alpha, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Alpha. You mentioned our three most important unique selling points:
- the location,
- our rich buffet breakfast and
- our customer-friendly service.

as well as we have taken good notice that you also enjoyed the complimentary tea-, coffee- and fruit service that is available throughout the day.

We hope to welcome you again soon and remain with best regards,
Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel back on August. The first night they used my card for the routine check, but for some reason they actually charged one night at my account.

Then when I left, they charged me the whole stay (including the first night, which was so being charged twice). Some time after I came back to Spain, I noticed this mistake and contacted them by email. They insisted that they had not charged my account the first night (even after I showed my bank account charge), so I really felt like they had robbed that first night and couldn't do anything about it (If I had been at Vien, i'd had filed a report at the police).

After contacting my bank to see if I could ask VISA to somehow reject the payment, they noticed that the charge had been refunded two weeks after in my account. So in fact there was a mistake, but I was sent no notice nor any apology from the hotel management. In fact, I will never know if it was the hotel management or VISA the ones who fixed the mistake.

My stay was otherwise fine, but with so many hotels in Viena I won't risk repeating going through this experience, hotel Alpha is out of my list forever.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnyAnonymousUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, General Manager at Hotel Alpha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear Guest,

As your comment will be read by many future guests, we find ourselves in the situation that we have to post a response.

We regret that you have been faced with this unfortunate incident. However, we already informed you about our standard policy for the use of credit cards and we would like to confirm, for the record, that the hotel did not make two deductions from your credit card and strongly objects to the implication that you were robbed. We would suggest you clarify with your credit card company why a simple authorization was debited to your account as such authorizations are normally only to guarantee a booking in the case of a no-show.

We are glad that your stay was otherwise fine and hope that you will visit Vienna again.

Best regards,
Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights in September 2012. This is a pleasant, friendly, convenient hotel, ideal for tourists or businessmen. Spotlessly clean, with a full and tasty breakfast provided, the free tea and coffee in the lounge was very appreciated after a day's sightseeing. Rooms are compact but fine for two. The city centre is easily accessible via the Tram No 2 which stops every few minutes at the end of the quiet street. There was a little noise in the morning from around 7am from a nearby building being renovated, but not enough to worry us (earlier risers) and that will stop soon when work is completed. Very friendly and helpful staff who spoke good English. Powerful shower in the bathroom (but no bathtub) with plenty of hot water. TV channels were limited but who comes to Vienna to watch TV. I'd definitely recommend the Alpha

Room Tip: As at Sept 2012 rooms at the front may get building site noise in the morning.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews