We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alpha
Nearby Hotels
US$489
US$421
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$332
US$312
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$214
US$199
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$460
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Renaissance Wien Hotel(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$287
US$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$254
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
196
252
71
16
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
252
71
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrathaus stationchristmas marketfree tea and coffeespent three nights herewelcoming hotelquiet streetwalking distanceplenty of hot waterbuffet breakfastexcellent locationclose proximitycity centrethe breakfast areahofburg palacecomfortable bedclean roomsnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The hotel is easy to find and not far from the Rathaus station. I have the rooftop room so it is spacious for the room and bathroom. The hotel is very clean. I like the breakfast as the choice is variety compare to other european hotel and it is worth of money to stay in this hotel. You also can get tea or coffee during the day and free wifi. The staff is helpful and they help us to get information on the bus or train route. I would recommended to stay in this hotel and definitely back if I visit Wien.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Felona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Hotel Alpha hotel is a small, quaint, hotel nestled near the Rathaus. The staff are accommodating and speak English. The rooms are typically small (with 2 twin beds) with a separate bathroom (toilet and caged shower) for this type of European hotel. If you want large modern rooms with lots of frills and cost (like the Hotel Am Stephansplatz in central downtown), the Hotel Alpha should not be your choice. That said, the Hotel Alpha is prefect for a place to hang your clothes, rest your head in quiet, and wake up to a great free breakfast---not continental-a full breakfast. All for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, Manager at Hotel Alpha, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback. It´s a pleasure for me to read, that you enjoyed your holiday at the Alpha. Our staff is very concerned to treat our guests like "feeling at home".
I´m looking forward to welcoming you again soon in the future.
Best regards,
Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were hesitating between two hotels. The other was closer to Mariahilfer strasse and the dog was free of charge. Despite of these, we chose Alpha hotel because of its private parking. I have booked a room, they closed the money on my credit card, then I received an e-mail, that sorry, all the parking places are fully booked. We could not cancel the room booking, so it was overpaying for us. We had to put the car into a public parking house (like in case of choosing the other hotel) and we had to pay 9 euros for our very small dog, that in the other hotel is free. This was disappointing. It should be useful for visitors to know the free parking place before they close the money on credit card, and the charge of a dog also should not be a secret.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The room was so small, and the bathroom also. The mini bar contained only a still water, a bubble water, a beer, and some chocolates. No any juice. It was funny to see, when we opened the door of the fridge.
The elevator was also very small and old. But overall the hotel was clean.
The breakfast was ok with a wide variety of meals. We liked it.
The tram and a U-bahn is very close so its location is very good for sightseeing, although, we did not use them, we just want to sleep somewhere near to the center.
I think it is a little bit expensive for that small rooms, it does not worth the money.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet street, I think all the rooms can be good for sleep.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaZsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, Manager at Hotel Alpha, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I have carefully noted your comments about our garage and the charge for your dog. Unforunately our garage has limited space, 6 parking slots only and yes, therefore, much to our regret, we sometimes have to refuse some requests.
I will definitely consider to waive the charges fro smaller dogs.

With best regards, Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had a really nice time in the hotel with my fiancee. We were there in December. The staff is very friendly, we were looking for a nice restaurant, they made the reservation for us. The breakfast is excellent. The hotel is in a small, quiet street in a really nice neighbourhood. Small supermarket and pharmacy just around the corner. We checked out early and they kept our luggage with our name on it in a separate room till we got back, most small hotels keep it at the reception without any special note. We would not stay anywhere else in Vienna. Our friends with 2 kids are going to stay there as well in August.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melindam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, Manager at Hotel Alpha, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear guest,

It was really a pleasure to read all your nice remarks about our hotel Alpha and I will certainly share your comments with my staff. This will please them to hear and motivate to keep it up.
In August there is a special food & film festival taking place on Rathausplatz, exactly where you visited the Christmas market in December and I am sure your friends will enjoy to visit.
We are looking forward to welcoming your friends and will be glad to answer any questions before their arrival. If so, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Best regards from Vienna,
Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Hotel Alpha is located on a quiet street behind the Rathaus building. Very convenient location - a subway station (U2 line - Rathaus) and a tram line is in a couple of minutes walk. But actually most of key attractions can be reached on foot.

The rooms are nice, clean, the personnel is polite and attentive. The breakfast variety is more than decent (although did not change much thru 4 days of our stay). An extra feature - coffee, tea, water and fruits are available 24h in the lobby for free.

Wi-fi access is free in the lobby (but please note that access password is only valid for 30min - after that you need to use a new one - not a major problem but can be annoying).

There are construction works on a nearby street that start in the morning - that did produce some noise but did not disturb a lot overall.

In summary, would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again in future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrejs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner at Hotel Alpha, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear guest,
Wow, thank you so much - I have totally fallen in love with your feedback. That's exactly what encourages us to strive harder to met but even better to surpass our guest expectations.
Thank you again and best regards from Vienna
Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews