We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy to overlook”
Review of Michaelerkirche

Michaelerkirche
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.23*
and up
Small-Group Underground Vienna Tour: St Michael's Church Crypt and...
Ranked #69 of 569 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Kapolei, HI
Level Contributor
365 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Easy to overlook”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a wonderful church just across from the entrance to the Hofburg Palace. It is quite plain looking on the outside, but has some real treasure for those who venture in. The marble carvings are amazing, and there are some primitive paintings in the stonework in the side chapels. The main attraction is the crypt, which you can see by tour only.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportEnvyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    116
    26
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Must-do - especially if you can tolerate the crypt!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The interior of the church is beautiful - but I want to focus on the crypt tour. This is held at 11am and 1pm on a couple of days a week - check the noticeboard outside the door for exact times (this is also the meeting place). Entrance is €6 per adult. Friendly guide spoke German and excellent English - very informative - full marks.

The crypt is large and air-conditioned. I did not find the air unbreathable, BUT be warned - you will be shown the mummified remains of at least three adults in a very good state of preservation in open coffins. There are also lots of skeletal remains on view. And I mean lots! So I can't recommend it if you think you may have issues with this or you have young children with you. As a guide, I would suggest watching this video - the opening of the film 'Nosfersatu' which will give you fair flavour of what you will see (warning - contains mummified remains - note - this was shot in Mexico. In St. Michael's there not as many bodies and no child remains)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AxE4yITfRLo

I've included as guide to think you'll be able to stomach the tour and stop you wasting you money if not!

No photos or video allowed.

Otherwise, a moving and fascinating experience. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LonePhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice church”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Beautiful palace with a lot of tourists, very sophisticated and clean, its nice to walking around in a very peaceful place

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank VM123186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely church in Michaelerplatz”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Very easy to overlook, but worth a trip inside. I haven't visited the crypt yet, as there was a service starting. Altar is impressive, as are many other parts of the church. A nice variation of visual elements

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
469 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Stunning altar”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The best part of this church is the beautiful white and gold altar. It's a bit dark and hard to see, but get up close and check our the amazing carving.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank slsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michaelerkirche also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Michaelerkirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing