We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting piece of Vienna history - get a discounted ticket though”
Review of Riesenrad

Riesenrad
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.44*
and up
Vienna's Schonbrunn Zoo and Giant Ferris Wheel
Ranked #58 of 573 things to do in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This Vienna landmark has operated in the Wiener Volksprater for over 100 years.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Interesting piece of Vienna history - get a discounted ticket though”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very interesting to experience the famous wheel used in the Third Man. It's located in the Prater amusement park, which would also make an interesting trip especially if you have children.

It's what you would expect - a 20 minute ferris wheel journey. Each carriage holds about 8 people, and as it's old, it is rickety, but that's part of the charm. Really nice views over Vienna as well, but worth it anyway if you're a fan of the Third Man.

Our tip - we think the price for a ticket is a bit high, but when we visited the Schoenbrunn Zoo, we bought a zoo/riesenrad combo ticket which gave us entry to the ferris wheel for about 3 euros each. They also take amusing photos of you which you can buy at the entrance, again a bit expensive at nearly 10 euros each, but glad we bought one as we now have a funny memento of our trip on the wheel.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2TravellersBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    353
    186
    48
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice but short and overrated”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I tried this wheel in June 2014. It is a 10-minute tour where you can have a panoramic view of Vienna (aerial view). It is good to give a try. The ticket was 9 Euros, and four photos are taken for everyone before starting your round (You can buy it later- I didn't).

It is a good idea to try it anyway.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wathiq H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice views, enjoyable with a teen”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Wanted to do this just because of how long this has been running. This is no London Eye, it is an older attraction. We rode the underground to get here. Beautiful park, planetarium, and amusement park right there. I was surprised how wobbly it was towards the top-it was quite windy out. This ride isn't thrilling, but it just feels like something everyone should do when they are here! Nice views of the amusement park and city, as well as a long photo inside that identifies key spots you are viewing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice views of Vienna”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Tickets were reasonable and you get beautiful views of all of Vienna. Great picture opportunities . I would fully recommend albeit a little wobbly when people are moving around in the carriage it was fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jettsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koper
Level Contributor
246 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Iconic wheel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We wanted to visit Prater just to take a ride with the big wheel. Because we werein the ZOO the day before, we decided to buy combined ticket for those two attractions (youhave many possibilities how to combine & save). With this ticket, the wheel ride costet us just 3 extra €/person (16€ is normal for ZOO, we took both for 19€). The tickets are valid one year! So you can go to another attraction next day, in a few days or next time if you are planning to come back soon). The only dissapointment: we had to wait again the queue to 'buy' tickets - even if we already had them, because the guy at the entrance told us that we have to change them anyway - it was not a long waiting, but with a child every new waiting in a queue can be a nightmare. The ride itself was interesting, not even so long as I expected.they were taking people just to every third cabin, to keep the balance, while there was not a lot of people.The wheel goes really high, the views are nice. Maybe it would be interesting to go at the nighttime next time..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 123321_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riesenrad also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Riesenrad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing