We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweating through the night”
Review of Hotel Topazz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Topazz
Ranked #63 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our recent trip to Vienna. The hotel location is very convenient and is right in the heart of the Stephensplatz. The hotel decor is super modern and the room was a great size. The bathroom was immaculate and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and spoke English. The hotel also offers free drinks in the salon from noon to 10pm which was a lovely touch as we were able to enjoy cappuccino, prosecco, and wine at our leisure. Also the first night we received turn down service and the staff left an Austrian treat for us which we really enjoyed.

The hotel states that the mini bar is included in your price, which we thought would be a great trade off for the hotel not including breakfast, however were disappointed to discover it only contained 1 beer and mineral water. The wi-fi was free, however every time your phone goes idle you have to re-enter the user name and password which proved to be annoying.

The hotel was very nice and overall I'd have given it a higher rating if it weren't for the air conditioning. This was our biggest complaint with the hotel and ended up being the cause of sleepless nights. Air conditioning is an amenity they offer, and you can control the temperature in the room. We found the temperature reading in the room to be grossly inaccurate. The coldest setting was 17 degrees Celsius, which if true would be quite cold. However even at this setting we were sweating in the room. They also turn the air off completely during the middle of the night, which we discovered when we woke up in a sweat and couldn't get back to bed because it was so warm in the room. If staying during Vienna's warm summer months, I might look elsewhere for a hotel with more reliable air conditioning; however, if you are staying in the fall or winter, or can just plain put out up with the heat, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Casey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilVienna, Manager at Hotel Topazz, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Casey F
First and foremost we would like to thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to bring your comments to our attention. It is only through constructive feedback like yours that we can continuously strive to improve our services and offerings for our guests.

We do take comments like yours very seriously and we would like to assure you that, in the meantime, the various issues with our air conditioning and wireless have successfully been solved.

Sadly we had unforeseen complications with our climate control system. The reproach that our hotel did not offer you any compensation for your inconvinience surprised us. For every member of our staff the satisfaction of our guests is the cardinal rule and whatever is necessary to do and we are able to do should be done. We apologize if you did´nt have had this feeling and do hope that you will give us another chance to convince you of our unique and beautiful hotel and our loving and courteous service.

We would like to sincerely apologize for not completely having met your expectations during your recent stay and we do, however, hope that you will be visiting us again in the future in order for us to be able to show you that Hotel TOPAZZ can in fact provide the service you rightfully expect from a hotel of our kind.

Your Hotel TOPAZZ team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

The location of the hotel is very well suited for access to St Stephans Cathedral, shops and restaurants and the metro. This also makes it very convenient to use the CAT train when arriving by air. Reception was very friendly and handled all our requests including an early breakfast in order for us to make our tour and arranging for a third bed in the room. The room is unique, if a little small for three people. But it is clean and well-serviced and there is a well appointed bathroom. Beware the strange curtain which could cause you to expose the person in the bathroom. the mini bar is free, but as a result it isnt very well stocked, although free bottled water is also provided. Breakfast was okay, but there are cheaper options available at the restaurants around St Stephans. The service and location was great, and there is nothing to really fault the hotel on. It is beautiful and unique and you probably wont have a bad stay here, but like others have mentioned, you probably wont leave saying wow either.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank SonyaS102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the middle priced room. I actually found it to be quite spacious and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was relaxing. The service at the hotel was very nice. Upon arrival, I was given a map and shown where are all the sites and shopping were located. They also gave directions to he opera house that we were attending that night. The location of the hotel is perfect. Close to everything and felt very safe. The taxi driver hasn't heard of the hotel. But I showed him the address on my phone and he was able to find it easily. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Nice small hotel. Great location. Friendly staff.
New, to the point that taxi drivers don't know it.
I chose it based on the reviews from Tripadvisor. I had a nice stay, but not the WOW impression I got from the reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baghli2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We spent three nights in the Hotel Topazz. On our arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful however there was a misunderstanding in regarding breakfast. She told us it was free so when we went down the next morning we were charged Euro20 per person. I guess what she meant by free is really available for purchase not free of charge. There more reasonably priced breakfast very close by the hotel. The drinks and snack in mini-bar are free.
The hotel is in a very central location,everything seemed to be within easy walking distance. The room is quite small though. Since we were out the whole day sightseeing and only come back late at night to sleep so that didn't matter that much to us. The hallway light is motion sensor and maybe we are not tall enough for it to sense us. We have to wave our hands! I wish they have motion sensor light when you open the room door as we come back late at night the room is too dark for us to see the slot to put the room card to turn on the light.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoverSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Overall a good boutique hotel, except that the rooms are really small to the point of not being comfortable enough. Great location, good breakfast a la carte, simple but very good. I don''t think I will stay here again because of the rooms, and because the air conditioning in two rooms that we have were not working well, and the staff couldn't do anything about it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Others said it before: good location, a salon where you can rest after a long city walk, excellent breakfast, friendly staff, cozy beds, outstanding bathroom, ... The rooms could indeed be a bit larger - but who cares if the rest is perfect?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paqu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Lamee
Hotel Lamee
#100 of 359 in Vienna
281 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#35 of 359 in Vienna
461 reviews
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#56 of 359 in Vienna
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#18 of 359 in Vienna
586 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,109 reviews
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topazz

Address: Lichtensteg 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £160 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Topazz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Topazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing