We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central, very stylish, very friendly”
Review of Hotel Topazz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Topazz
Ranked #77 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Close to Stephansdom, Figlmüller and Zanoni&Zanoni - what more can you ask for? Designer hotel, relatively small room (ask for the rooms with the round windows you can lie in), very friendly staff. Unfortunately no gym, but free drinks and snacks in the afternoon.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank matrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for these lovely words about our Hotel Topazz. It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not have a gym in our hotel but we offer day passes for a gym very nearby. They have also a swimming pool and massages on request.

We look forward to welcome you again in 2014.

Best regards
Hotel TOPAZZ - situated in the heart of Vienna with a special VIP service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Just came back from a 3 day visit to vienna and stayed at hotel topazz. This is a great designer property with modern decor and very centrally located. Everything was within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. They serve coffees, wines and teas in their basement lounge free to all guests. They also have a breakfast which we didn't pay for opting instead to eat breakfast at one of the numerous cafés in the area. Vienna is a beautiful city!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Marie H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you had a great time and are looking forward to welcoming you again upon your next trip to Vienna!

We wish you all the best and a happy New Year.

Hotel TOPAZZ - situated in the heart of vienna with a special VIP service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Very nice boutique hotel in central Vienna near St. Stephan's Cathedral.
Location is perfect. Hotel is very nice with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was fairly small, but sufficient. We liked the design.
The hotel offers complimentary drinks downstairs all the day. We enjoyed some nice wine and a great selection of herbal teas in the evening.
The breakfast deserves a special mention. Homemade muesli, spreads, jams and a good selection of perfectly cooked egg dishes. Delicious. We have particularly enjoyed poached eggs on pumpkin. We normally skip on hotels' breakfasts and just get some coffees outside, but this one is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: They have rooms with oval windows and embedded couches - check if you can get this one. They look co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meTatyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Topazz for 4 nights while visiting Vienna for a holiday. We loved the location - close to Stephansplatz underground station, St. Stephan's Cathedral and some excellent shopping areas.

Some reviewer say that the rooms are small, that we felt that it was sufficient, certainly not big, but not too small either. We had a room with one of the cool circular windows. The bathroom was nicely appointed too. Wifi was secured (i.e. not "open"), free and strong, but for some reason we were required to log in every time our devices went to sleep. I would recommend to the hotel that they figure out how to let their customers stay logging in for the duration of their stay.

We enjoyed the afternoon snacks/wine/teas in the "living area". We did not have a room rate that included breakfast and the charge would have been 20 euros/person, so we chose to eat at one of the many nearby places.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Love-to-World-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed with my colleague in Hotel topazz for 2 days. I had a room with small balcony, it was pretty and the furnishment was also Very Nice. My Friend had a room with round window that was amazing.
The reception is very small but with very Nice style. Sabrina talked to us in italian because we can Not so much understand english. She was so Great And helpful. We want to thank her again for everything. Also the Guy with Crazy but Nice Hair ( abib???) He was also very cool And friendly.
We didnt have breakfast because it was too expensive for us. For Sure we will come back soon. Hotel topazz is wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertoC_aus_tourino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife booked us an overnight in the Topazz as a special treat before flying home from a stay in Austria that week. The hotel was expensive, but we didn't mind splashing out on a bit of luxury, especially given it's location.

On arrival, I was immediately disappointed by two large vases on the ground with yellow plastic "caution" signs beside them. Looking up, I saw two holes in the roof with water dripping from each into the vases below. It is certainly not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Neither was the smell of damp to go with it. And in case you're wondering.. this is a boutique hotel, the reception area is tiny! So you're right beside the leak as you check in.

The next surprise was to find out the hotel didn't actually have a restaurant, which really came as a shock. Having travelled for a couple of hours, we were really looking forward to a bit of lunch in luxury, before heading out to Vienna. So it was a disappointment. That said, we were offered suggestions for places to eat close by.

In fact check in was very polite and helpful. Their staff (only met 2) were both extremely professional and welcoming.

We paid for a prestige double room... it was quite swanky and modern with two circular windows, But it was also really small. That said it was clean, warm and comfortable. After a quick shower (which was amazing) we left the hotel to grab some food and explore the city. Returning that night, we enjoyed a complimentary glass of prosecco in their salon before retiring.

Queue the final last disappointment.. the prestige double bed is actually two mattresses pushed together!! It was also made up with two single duvets! Now why would a hotel do that in a prestige double room for a couple????? Very disappointing.

The pluses:

Superb staff, good location, free wifi for as many devices as you want, warm modern room, great shower.

The minus:

Not a double bed, no bar or restaurant, leak/dampness in reception. Very expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: I didn't see the non prestige rooms, but I don't think it's worth paying any extra for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ciaranwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Unlike the last posted review we found the staff better than could be imagined.Most impressive was their knowledge of any question asked from travel arrangements to restaurants.Our room was superb,overlooking the square-immaculately maintained.The staff spoken English was impeccable.Finally the location really cannot be improved-try it.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harveyneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Lamee
Hotel Lamee
#101 of 359 in Vienna
296 reviews
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#81 of 359 in Vienna
715 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#40 of 359 in Vienna
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,141 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 359 in Vienna
2,225 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#7 of 359 in Vienna
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topazz

Address: Lichtensteg 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £130 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Topazz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Topazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing