We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in luxury”
Review of Hotel Topazz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Topazz
Ranked #62 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel is conveniently situated a ten minute walk from the main train station and a couple of minutes from the Cathedral and pedestrianised shopping areas. It's a delightful small quirky boutique hotel. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had a room on the 4th floor with the oval window but unfortunately didn't have a view. Everything in the room was modern and very clean. The bathroom had a large walk-in, very powerful, shower. There were bathrobes and slippers and lovely thick towels. The free mini-bar with soft drinks and water was a nice touch, as was the Salon on -1 level where you could could get tea/coffee/wine from 12noon until 10.30pm. The only problem we encountered was the free wi-fi. You had to log on every time. We did mention this to reception, where they did say they were aware of the problem and were trying to resolve this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisitorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear VisitorT,

We really hope you had a pleasant journey back home after the enjoyable stay in our Hotel TOPAZZ.

Thank you very much for your great words. We are happy that you had a good time with us and enjoyed all our facilities. We will share your lovely feedback to our team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon. If there is anything we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards

Hotel TOPAZZ & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Topazz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Right after Budapest we moved to Vienna. It was even more difficult to make a hotel choise there, because Vienna has soo much Hotels. And all of the m look nice and reasonably priced. But we been atracked by modern design of Topazz hotel. And finally we have been absolutely pleased by rooms, location and service. Great place with unique organic design.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zac K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Mr. Zac K,

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. We highly appreciate it and we would personally like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences during your recent stay at Hotel Topazz.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Hotel TOPAZZ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Arrived from Budapest to Vienna a few days ago and checked into the Topazz. The Topazz is a quirky design led hotel with tasteful and interesting features. We checked into our room and asked for a change as it didn't have the characteristic port holes we asked for when booking. The lady who booked us in Julia was brilliant and gave us the perfect room. We didn't opt for breakfast but the hotel has a lovely salon on floor -1 which has free drinks between 12 and 10.30pm. The hotel is very central, a few mins from Stephens and 20 mins from the Museum quarter on foot.If your are a foodie there is a jaw dropping deli and coffee shop over three floors opposite.
I summary - lovely hotel, great staff, good location

Room Tip: Choose 5th floor rooms with a view, no traffic noise
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffbeckDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Mr. JeffbeckD,

Thank you very much for your review and for having chosen to stay with us during your last trip to Vienna! It´s a great pleasure to hear that everything from our service to our lovely rooms, as well as our salon and the central location impressed you!

In the future, please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can do for you in order to make your stay even more pleasant.
On behalf of the entire team, especially from Julia, we would like to thank you again for your charming comments and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

With best regards from Vienna,

Yours

Team Hotel TOPAZZ Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights.
The hotel is located in the heart of Vienna, in a perfect location for the visit of the city.
The rooms are modern with circular windows, but in my opinion are too small.
Excellent free mini bar in the room, but the staff is not qualified enough for a five-star hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 71jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Mr. 71Jack,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very glad that you liked the design of our award-winning Hotel TOPAZZ.

We are awfully sorry that you haven´t been completely satisfied with our staff.
Our supreme goal is the satisfaction of our guests and we are constantly trying to improve our services.

We do hope that you will be visiting us again in the future in order for us to be able to show you that Hotel TOPAZZ can in fact provide everything you rightfully expect from a hotel of our kind.

Yours faithfully

The HOTEL TOPAZZ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights at the end of December. The location is amazing, absolutely central and believe me, when you choose Vienna in winter you had better have a warm,central refuge near for a couple of stops during your walks. Our room was the prestige and I recommend that you insist on having two oval windows. Lovely views and ambience. The decoration of the room was really nice, simple but stylish. The nespresso machine comes after a request and we had as many capsules as we asked for. Very generous! The breakfast was delicious, though more health oriented than I would prefer. You can also order from a menu, but again limited choices and if you consider the price, not a value for money. Another negative point is the personnel. They seem to have many different posts at the same time, as they serve the Lame Hotel as well, just opposite the street. Not a very good image. They also seem to have no strict supervision,resulting not only in rudeness but even worse in a chaotic organisation. For instance, the free snacks offered in the Salon at specific times were literally never on time or never there at all! As for the cleanliness, they should definitely invest more money and time for such a hotel. The ladies were always very forgetful. The towels were becoming fewer and fewer every day and they once forgot to empty the bin in the bathroom. Finally, the night of our departure they had to refund some money after a wrong charge the day of booking( I had their written assurance ), and when we asked for that,the manager was very rude and stated that normally he wouldn´t give back the money at that late hour. How can the guest know when the right hour for them is?? For 300€ per night I have experienced muuuuch more politeness and pampering.
All in all,not a disappointing stay but you have to be demanding to get what you deserve. The room was probably the best in this hotel and not the services. If you have seen two happy girls lying on the sofa in front of the oval window and waving, you know somebody had a good time up there!!

Room Tip: Choose a prestige room with two windows on the fourth floor. A corner window with nice view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsourp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Mrs.Vasilis,

First and foremost we would like to thank you very much for taking the time to bring your comments to our attention. It is only through constructive feedback like yours that we can continuously strive to improve our services and offerings for our guests.

We are deeply sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. Please be advised that this is not our standard and we will make sure to address your room challenges as well as your feedback concerning our front desk service with the appropriate department heads.
We do take comments like yours very seriously and we would like to assure that, in the meantime, the various issues have successfully been solved. Beside that we are happy that you enjoyed our hotel with the central location and our beautiful surroundings!
Again we would like to sincerely apologize for not having met all your expectations during your recent stay with us and we do, however, hope that you will be visiting us again in the future in order for us to be able to show you that Hotel TOPAZZ and the staff can in fact provide the service you rightfully expect.

In the meantime we remain

with best regards from Vienna

Hotel TOPAZZ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a real gem: if you want to find a great centrally located hotel with a more personal touch Hotel Topazz is an excellent choice. We really liked the round windows and the creative design. Shower, bed and complimentary drinks were of great quality. The hotel staff was very friendly and offered great help with finding and reserving restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for a prestige room with a city view and two windows, we really found this being worth of the ext...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juginem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Juginem,

what is left for us to say other than: Thank you! Your five star feedback is a terrific compliment for our entire team and we could not be happier that you enjoyed everything- from the magnificent views of our round windows to the staff.
We hope to welcome you again in 2014- it will be a great pleasure for us! Wishing you all the best, peace and prosperity.

Best regards

Hotel TOPAZZ - situated in the heart of Vienna with a special VIP service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Close to Stephansdom, Figlmüller and Zanoni&Zanoni - what more can you ask for? Designer hotel, relatively small room (ask for the rooms with the round windows you can lie in), very friendly staff. Unfortunately no gym, but free drinks and snacks in the afternoon.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank matrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for these lovely words about our Hotel Topazz. It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not have a gym in our hotel but we offer day passes for a gym very nearby. They have also a swimming pool and massages on request.

We look forward to welcome you again in 2014.

Best regards
Hotel TOPAZZ - situated in the heart of Vienna with a special VIP service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Lamee
Hotel Lamee
#105 of 361 in Vienna
273 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#33 of 361 in Vienna
443 reviews
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#63 of 361 in Vienna
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,092 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#15 of 361 in Vienna
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topazz

Address: Lichtensteg 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £156 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Topazz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Topazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing