We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, comfortable, convenient hotel with helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Ranked #29 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good, comfortable, convenient hotel with helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here in October and we were very pleased with the hotel. I am surprised that one reviewer said that it is far from the station because it isonly some 100 metres or so from the Praterstern Station! From the Airport you get the S Bahn (direction Floridsdorf) and get off at Praterstern, take the Praterstrasse exit and walk across the road past the monument in the middle of the road and after a few metres it is on the left . The S Bahn is cheaper than the CAT to the city centre and perfect if you are staying at the Classic Hotel Wien.

The hotel staff were very friendly,helpful and efficient. They told us some good places to eat and advised on places to visit, excursions etc. The hotel does not have a restaurant and the location of the hotel is in a commercial area so it is best to ask about restaurants. We had some great meals in Vienna.

Breakfast was included in our package and was good enough. There was not as much choice as some hotels of that class but there were cooked breakfasts, good coffee (from a machine, but it was good) and being Vienna, of course there were cakes for breakfast!

The bedroom was pleasant and quiet with comfortable beds. Although it was towards the end of October, the weather was relatively mild for the time of year so there was no need for central heating - the room and everywhere in the hotel was warm enough.

The small hotel bar was pleasant and, as I said, the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pompeyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    493
    60
    11
    3
See reviews for
283
577
87
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

hotel long way from station cost 17.50 euros taxi ride, friendly clean hotel friendly staff, room good size overlooked main street but quiet, we ate out each night so can not rate restaurant, bar small but friendly, breakfast good, 5 minutes from metro stop, which we used into town and back to the station, would use again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I have just returned from a week's business-pleasure stay at the Austria Classic Hotel Wien. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and warm with comfortable wide beds and more than adequate cupboard space. The daily breakfast was appetising and was a great starter for long days of either work or touring. The staff at the reception were most accommodating and friendly and efficiently got us theater and train trickets and recommended the economical Vienna Card for city travel and touring. The hotel is conveniently located 100 meters from the Paterstern railway, underground and streetcar stations and 200 meters from Nestroyplatz underground station. The hotel is most accessible from the airport to the above stations and is centrally placed for any urban travel within Vienna. The price we paid for the week was fair and the hotel provided full value for money.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are on the small side so anyone needing a bigger room must make sure that one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yaacov K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Just be carefull when get a single room. I was so unlucky to get one in winter so was very cold in the room and in the bahtroom floor was like on the iceberg with no heater atall. Untill that moment I have been in the hotel in sommer time 3 times totally. That was my last stay with this hotel, It snt so bad but if you like comfortable warm room better dont stay in the winter there. There isnt restorant for the dinner but the brecfast is verry plesent for my test. I really enjoied.

Room Tip: do not get a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiaSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClassicHotelWien, Manager at Austria Classic Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Mrs. Popova!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor! We regret any inconvenience. Thank you for making us aware of the situation at the time. I remember that there was a technical problem with the heating only in your room and that this problem was adressed to the maintenance staff immediately and recified. We really hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Ingeborg Seitz / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel is very well located on a busy street leading into the heart of city, within easy reach of a local train station, two subway stations and a number of good restaurants and pastry shops. It is approximately 15 minutes on foot from the Old Vienna. The staff at the reception are friendly and very helpful (there are always two on duty), the rooms are very well kept in a quiet environment. The free breakfast offers a good choice of diverse foods and beverages to suit all tastes. We will gladly return if we ever go back to Vienna again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PdeC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

This is the third time that I stay at this hotel for business. (the previous two times were approx. four years ago when it was still called the Nordbahn). I like this hotel for several reasons, some previously mentioned by other reviewers:
- good location, close to two subway stations, close to main train station
- clean
- good breakfast: nice, airy, bright breakfast room with a good selection of foods
- free wi-fi in the room with no connectivity problems

I have found that there are several room sizes so you have to know which size you are reserving.

There are a lot of coffee shops, restaurants and shops in the area:
- an Aida right at the corner for coffee and pastry
- the Gasthaus Hansy at the corner - excellent typical viennese cuisine
- Fiorino's across the street, towards Nestroyplatz U station - good Italian food
- Spar Gourmet small grocery store, handy to buy wine, beer and snacks

You're close to the Inner Stadt without having to put up with the noise in that area.

One minor complaint, I had a hard time regulating the heat in my room this time for some reason....it was very hot! Kept the window open and that worked fine.

Overall, a good hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mortyatport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierrefonds, Quebec
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I had reserved a non refundable single room at a very good rate. Because of that, I was a bit worried that the hotel would not be to my satisfaction. I was pleasantly surprised. First, it is very easy to get from the airport to the hotel with the S-Bahn (don't bother with the CAT, more expensive and not direct). I liked the feel of this small hotel, the room and bed were a bit bigger than expected and clean. The shower had a drain issue, the mngt was informed and hopefully was taken care of. I had asked for a quiet room and got it, the last one at the end of a long corridor. The breakfast was excellent and loved the cappucino! There is a terrace and you can enjoy your meal outside.The staff was always eager to help me with directions, suggestions, etc. After check out, you can store your luggage until you are ready to leave.
It is a comfortable walk to the canal and with the U-Bahn, it is only 2 stops away to Stephenplatz. It is also a 5m. walk to the Prater. The yellow tram that circles the ring is 1 stop away at Swedenplatz.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpicySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#25 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Property: Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing