We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Ranked #28 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for its good price and location. As the name suggests, the hotel is of a classic design, including the furniture and room decor. I found the carpet and velvet armchair in the room a bit musty, but overall, the room was very clean. Most of the staff were cheerful and friendly.

The only problem we had was the air con. We arrived on a rather warm afternoon. Although the nighttime was cool/cold, the room itself hasn't cooled off. We opened the window initially, but the noise from the evening thunderstorm and the traffic was really too much, as the room was on the first floor facing the main street. In the end, we decided to try the air con. Wow, we really regretted doing so. The noise from the air con woke me up a few times. I even dreamt that there was a helicopter in the room! The cool air from the air con was also a smelly. Probably because it hadn't been used for a long time during winter months. Anyway, we didn't touch the air con on the second night and just kept the window open. Temperature wise, it was fine. But the noise from the late night pedestrians and traffic (including the odd ambulance siren) woke me up countless times. The moral of the story? Ask for a higher for room or one that doesn't face the main street.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClassicHotelWien, Manager at Austria Classic Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Mrs. Chan,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sorry to hear that obviously your A/C was broken and literally traumatized you. We did not know that it was broken until we read your review that you published 3 weeks after your departure.

I apologize for any inconvenience!

Unfortunately things do break sometimes, it happens everywhere! We really appreciate it if guests do report such things DURING their stay! This gives our maintenance team the opportunity to do repairs immediately and to provide full functionality of the facilities.
We had the annual check of our A/C system during the last 2 weeks and I personally checked your room (#106) today. The A/C there is purring like a sweet kitten and does not smell at all.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at “helicopter-free” Austria Classic Hotel Wien.

Kind regards
Ingeborg Seitz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed her in May 2014, and whilst our trip to Vienna was less than perfect weather-wise, the staff at this Hotel did everything they could to still make it a brilliant stay. They sorted everything for us at no additional cost, and even had umbrellas to borrow to keep us dry during our sorties out into the rain. And the buffet breakfast was deluxe, everything from traditional to typical western and healthy to cakes. As well, they also had a great automatic coffee machine for proper ground coffee!!! On top of all of this, it is very affordable and felt like a special treat without breaking the bank.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PCandKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at this wonderful three star establishment for 6 days in room 307 and were impressed from the moment we arrived until we left. This is a classic older style hotel with a wonderful etiquette and service ethos from all the staff we met. From the moment we arrived we were given excellent attention, having booked using my BA Avios points we had reserved a standard room, however at check-in the lady in charge took one look at our large assortment of luggage and two small children (4 & 1) year old and immediately upgraded us to a larger room. Waiting in the room to the great delight of our 4 year old daughter were two little teddy bears, one for each child to keep, the hotel mascot known as Mr Blumi. Nothing was any trouble to the staff and they always went out of their way for us, even making a snack for our children when we departed at 7 in the evening. The hotel, although not located close to the high street, there are two well located stations in easy walking distance (4 minutes walk) namely Nestroyplatz and Praterstern where you can access all public transportation and all the main sights are between 5 and 20 minutes at most from the stations. Vienna public transportation is possibly one of the best in the world and to get around with two small children was effortless. The sights in Vienna are endless however travelling with two small children we focussed on the nearby Prater funfair, visited the Zoo, Natural History Museum (dinosaur displays!), Zoom (children activities at the Museum Quarter), the Hunderwasserhaus, children's museum at the palace, some retail therapy near Stephanplatz and some walks along the Donauinsel (Danube Island). Well recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KZNSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is superb in every way. It is just a couple of stops on the U-bahn from the inner city of Vienna and is a little gem which we would certainly use again. As previous reviewers have said it is.beautifully presented with lovely furniture and fittings but above all the staff are the most friendly and helpful we have encountered on many visits abroad. Nothing seems too much trouble and I would especially mention Christoff and Anna on reception who we found were always cheerful and happy to help with any queries, restaurant suggestions and bookings as well as the best way to get around the city. The rooms are beautifully maintained thanks to the chambermaids who make it a pleasure to be in the room. This hotel is family owned and this gives it a personal feeling and so much more than the larger chains in the centre of Vienna.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul4719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for four nights in room 250, which wasn't the biggest room but very comfortable and very quiet. Probably the cleanest hotel we have every stayed in, the staff are very helpful the breakfast was for a continental breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Location just 15 minutes walk from the city centre or a minute from the underground. Not the most attractive area of the city but don't let that put you off

Room Tip: The rear facing rooms are all very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely Hotel, very clean, good breakfast. Staff very helpfull. Good location very close to u-bahn for sightseeing. Had a great time. Recommend ghausthaus Hansy for meal on corner of street near station. Went to Viennese Evening at town hall, typical austrian food, dancing and singing, very enjoyable. Only here for weekend but would come back again to same Hotel.

Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were in Austria Classic Wien hotel 5 nights. It's really great hotel. First of all it has about 200 years' history. Location was very suitable for us - 15 min from the city center, 3 min from the U-Bahn and 5 min from Praterstern station. We had quadruple room. The room was really ok for 4 people. In bathroom was even two sinks. Hotel is clean. In the room was all that we need - big safe, clean bedding, clean towels. toiletries, table. Breakfast was excellent - many tasty dishes. We enjoyed this breakfast! Staff was friendly. There are gym and sauna in the Hotel. We used sauna twice - staff gave us the keys - everything was great! I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlenkaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#15 of 358 in Vienna
1,710 reviews
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 358 in Vienna
1,375 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,895 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Vienna
#18 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £61 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing