We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with delicious breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Ranked #28 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

There were 4 couples that stayed here and we all enjoyed this hotel. It was in a location very near the metro station. The breakfast was exceptional and the staff was very accommodating! We also enjoyed the drinks in the bar lounge area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmolieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights and were very pleased with this hotel. The breakfast is really wonderful, as others have noted, and the room was very comfortable. Good air-conditioner too, a must during the summer months. Especially liked the bathroom which was large and spacious with a very good fully enclosed shower and double sinks, and the fact that the toilet is in a separate enclosed room, with an exhaust fan, across from the bathroom ... unusual but convenient! (Maybe the the "Furious" reviewer who thought the bathroom too small just had a worse room than ours, because ours was huge compared to most we've seen in Europe.) Good TV with many English-language channels. Friendly, helpful staff, who all speak English pretty well, thankfully. Very quiet and peaceful. Good location; quite close to metro stations and also a major train station. The hop-on, hop-off tour bus also stops at the Prater (ferris wheel) next to the train station, just a five-minute walk from the hotel. Very convenient. Several good restaurants nearby, for lunch and dinner. Just an all-around great choice; we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

8 of us had 4 rooms for a 3-night break. The hotel is a good walk from the city centre but there are 2 underground stations within 400m. We had a selection of bedrooms all of which were spacious and very comfortable-all with aircon.Our room was adjacent to the road but traffic noise was not a problem. The reception and domestic staff were helpful and very courteous. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of hot and cold food food all of good quality. The breakfast room was never crowded but I can't imagine how it would have been if the hotel was full.We ate breakfast twice on the outside patio area which on the first occasion was very pleasant. On the second time there were 7 or 8 people, who were not hotel guests, occupying several tables and all of them were smoking which made for a very unpleasant experience. The free wifi was very good. The outside seating area on the first floor was a pleasant meeting area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We choose this hotel reading so many good reviews about one and I don't understand how this hotel can be rated as "nice", "perfect" etc. Location is good undoubtedly-1 min from metro station, not far from city centre.
When we entered to our room we were shocked by the size -it was hardly bigger 9-10 m. The bed took up almost the whole room. So-called bathroom was SOOO TINY- if you want to bend over sink you have to go to the left/right or just open the door. Incredibly! I've never seen such a tiny bathroom. Besides, bathroom of a next-door room is just behind the wall and you can hear all sounds from there and even smell of smoke as it was in our case.
If your room overlooks the yard where hotel car parking is, and you open the window overnight, you will be woken up at 6 by sounds of leaving cars.
Breakfast was good enough, Staff did their best, but the hotel is exactly overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Furious298484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClassicHotelWien, Manager at Austria Classic Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Furious298484,
thank you for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your personal experience with other travelers. Feedback from our guests is always appreciated as we can learn for the future and improve our services! We are happy that you enjoyed our central location, just 2 stops by underground or a short walk away from the center of Vienna.
We know that guests have different wishes when it comes to the size of rooms and this is why we offer different categories. Our guests can chose from the spacious family rooms, the “superior” rooms, the “superior plus” rooms and our smallest category, the “classic” rooms. We regret that the “classic” room you booked did not meet your expectations.
You stayed in room #254 with a size of 15,5m2 and a recently renovated bathroom. We used high quality materials and modern non-transparent glass sliding doors. Most of these rooms are facing the court which is appreciated by our guests. When visiting a lively and large city like Vienna they enjoy the quiet location.
We hope to welcome you again at Austria Classic Hotel Wien and it will be a pleasure to show you our other categories with more space and large bathrooms.
Kind regards
Ingeborg Seitz / manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

For those who want a comfortable hotel which is not going to break the bank in Austria then you can't really go wrong here. We didn't go for one of the more basic rooms, going a step up and this got us a room with air con that did the job in 30 plus degree heat. English speakers will have the usual two tv channels to choose from but there is wifi or your book! Bathroom was clean and functional and there was lots of space for storage in the room.

There is a fantastic selection to choose from for breakfast and in general the facilities in the hotel are all you could need while the staff are helpful.

Location is good as near the train station to which you can get most places very quickly. The area is ok however in an evening there are quite a few characters to put it nicely hanging around the station area.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LeafinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our six night experience at the Hotel Wien was in keeping with those who have given this hotel an excellent rating. Previous reviewers comments about location, amenities, staff and breakfast buffet were very accurate. We arrived from the airport after a thirty minute ride on the OGG Schnelbahn (Red Train) to Praterstern Station costing approx. 11 euro, and a five minute walk to the hotel. The hotel itself is located on Praterstrassa which, via the Nestroyplatz subway station, is only minutes from Stephensplatz and the cultural center of Vienna. While Praterstrassa has a somewhat 'gritty' quality, it's advantages include a lower activity level, a variety of casual eating establishments (one suggestion being 'Zina's', a small Lebanese eatery with unique flavors, friendly staff and reasonable price), and a 'Spar' convenience store and pharmacy nearby.

As others have mentioned, the staff is excellent overall, but Christoph in particular is a gem. We were in need of a dentist to evaluate an unanticipated tooth problem and Christoph had us into to see an excellent local dentist within hours. Simply outstanding service...

Bottom line, you can be confident of an excellent experience when booking with the Austria Classic Hotel Wien.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the inner courtyard seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel when we were on holiday in Vienna. It was well located for sightseeing because there is a tube station (Nestroyplatz) really close by. We didn't try and walk it because it was over 30 degrees when we were in Vienna!

Luckily for us the room had air conditioning, which we definitely needed. Every member of staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly the reception staff member Christoph.

The room was clean an comfortable. The only downside for us was that we had the room at the top of the stairs on the first floor, and there were some really noisy guests staying the same time as us. I suspect we would have heard them in any hotel (indeed, people staying in other hotels may well have heard them they were so noisy!!) but earplugs solved that one easily. Perhaps when you stay here, ask for a quiet room not near the stairs.

The breakfast was good - lots of choice and the food itself was good quality. Very long serving period as well, breakfast was served right through until 11.00. In the evening there is no restaurant attached but there is a bar and they have nice drinks and it's not very expensive.

I would happily stay at this hotel again if we go back to Vienna.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the stairs if you can, because other guests might be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaysafus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 358 in Vienna
1,697 reviews
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 358 in Vienna
1,360 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £66 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing