We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Ranked #28 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay!!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We enjoyed a very comfortable stay at the Austria Classic Hotel Wien in June. It was a very easy connection from the airport to the hotel. We took the S7 train from the airport to stop "Praterstern" and then a 5 minute easy walk to hotel. In the train station there are some shops including a super market so we picked up some drinks for our room which was nice to have. To get into central Vienna it is also an easy walk to the U1 stop "Nestroy Platz" which is only 2 stops from "Stephans Platz" which is the heart of Vienna. We purchased a 48 hour transit pass and boy did we get our moneys worth out of our passes. The hotel itself is very nice, clean and staff very helpful. The room I have to say was on the small side and the bathroom (liked having a walk in shower) even smaller but we were fine. Our room had AC which was vey nice. Breakfast was good and had a good variety of items to choose from. I would defiantly stay here again if I were lucky enough to go back to Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mav2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    504
    62
    11
    3
See reviews for
287
591
90
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was our second stay at the Hotel Wien. As before, the staff was welcoming & helpful. Our accommodations were very clean and included one of the best European breakfasts that we have ever had! Nice bar in the lobby to enjoy after a day of sightseeing. The subway to city center is less than a block from the front door of the hotel. It is very easy to get around the city using the subway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmswf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed for a very enjoyable week. Easy to reach from the airport using theS7 to Praterstern. Purchased the weekly zone 100 ticket at airport (16.20 euros) plus out of zone ticket (2.20 euros) to cover travel from airport and all travel in Vienna Monday to Sunday. Very warm welcome by staff at the hotel who also provided very helpful advice throughout our stay. Room was clean, comfortable and serviced every day. Storage facilties were adequate. A good sized room safe. Could have done with tea making facilities in the room. Breakfast was more than adequate. Good range of cold meats and cheeses and fresh fruit. Location outside the main town but with Praterstern ((U1 & U2) and Nestroyplatz (U1) stations close by access to all attractions was easy. Some restaurants and supermarkets close by but only one stop from Nestroyplatz on U1 to Schwedenplatz were wide range of restaurants, cafes and shops. Sad to leave. We will definitely be back next year

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were at the hotel for two nights in Vienna in August.
The cleanest hotel I have ever been !!!
Excellent breakfast.
Relatively small rooms family of 2 +2
Very close to the Prater Park - walking
Metro is very close to - there is no need for a car.
The most positive experience

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Enjoyed this hotel very much. It is fresh and very clean. Excellent staff who were very helpfull and always met our needs. Close to transportation. We used the subway to travel the entire city. Near by restaurants were excellent and varied. Good wifi access. Would defiantly stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladykimmoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We just got back from this remarkable city and the stay at the Austria Classic hotel made our trip an equally pleasant experience. From the reviews we read we were hoping that it would be up to expectations , and they truely did not disappoint. Coming to and from the airport is easy and cheap with the S7. The room was clean, breakfast was satisfactory and hotel staff very polite and helpful. Well done team! Keep up the good work :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank louisescicluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

For the price this hotel was excellent, the breakfast that was included in the price was pretty good. The hotels long corridors, red carpets and age reminds me of the hotel in the shining, to bad I could find a axe to chase around some other guests.

Johnny Out!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClassicHotelWien, Manager at Austria Classic Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mr. Johnny, or may I call you Jack?!

Many thanks for your brilliant review and for making me smile!

I am a big fan of the movie “The Shining” and I disagree with you that our carpets could remind any guest of the “Overlook Hotel”. Our carpets in the corridors are red or blue and have a decent pattern. The carpets in the Overlook Hotel in the movie have a psychedelic pattern in orange/brown/red, very 70ies! You see, I am a specialist on carpets and horror movies! ;-)

We are all glad that you did NOT find an axe to chase other guests around!! If you like, you can participate in our Halloween video this year, I am sure we find the perfect role for you! Axes will be available by October 31st!

Kind regards
Wendy Torrance aka Ingeborg Seitz, Manager of Austria Classic Hotel Wien
PS Too sad I can´t attach a photo of the Overlook carpet here! My advise for other guests: simply google "The shinging carpet" and look for photos :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 360 in Vienna
1,256 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 360 in Vienna
1,439 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#22 of 360 in Vienna
1,157 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Property: Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing