We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of Der Wilhelmshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Der Wilhelmshof
Ranked #31 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 August 2013

At a walking distance from Prater, Der Wilhelmshof is a great place to stay.
A very nice inner garden, friendly staff, nice and quiet rooms, art decorated individually. Parking place at the base of the building for extra charge - 19 euro / day.
I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roman_Mayrhofer, Manager at Der Wilhelmshof, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Dan,
Thank you very much for your evaluation. Great to read that you can fully recommend us and that you think that our Viennese Art Hotel is a great place to stay. Nice that you enjoyed our gARTen, we just opened it this summer.
We hope that we can welcome you again in our Art Hotel.
Best regards,
Your Wilhelmshof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Rooms were clean, air-conditioned and good value.
The breakfast was above average with VERY friendly staff.
Best point was its FANTASTIC location.
If I ever visit this wonderful city again I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roman_Mayrhofer, Manager at Der Wilhelmshof, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Alan,
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the fantastic location of our Viennese Art Hotel. We do hope that you will visit this beautiful city again and that we can welcome you once again in our Art Hotel.
Best regards,
Your Wilehlmshof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I just spent 10 days in this hotel. It was in a superb location just a couple of minutes walk from the Praterstern station which has U-Bahns as well as a train that takes you to/from Vienna airport for less than €5. It is just 2 or 3 stops from Stefansplatz (the centre of things) on the U-Bahn depending if you get on at Praterstern or Nestroyplatz (the hotel is located between them so you have a choice!). The hotel staff were superb - very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the bathroom a good size. It had air conditioning which was a must considering the very hot weather we had. Breakfast was fine - continental style (cold meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, jams, cereals) and they also had scrambled egg, sausages and bacon. If you want a fried egg, they will cook you one if you ask. Wifi was free but you had to get a code per device per 24 hours which was a wee bit of a nuisance but it was fine. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I return to Vienna, I wouldn't hesitate about staying here again. It is very reasonable too and Vienna is a beautiful place that everyone should see!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Nice hotel in Vienna. Not so expensive, good value for money. We liked the design, rooms, staff on the reception. The hotel has undergroud parking, rather expensive but it is normal for city center in Vienna. The hotel is few minutes walk from Prater. Definitely nice place to stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman_Shuptar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had an excellent 2 night stay at Der Wilemshof hotel in a 3-bed room.
The hotel was well situated, close to the Praterstern station and Prater Park.
It's outside the city centre, but only a couple of stops on the U-bahn, S-bahn, tram or bus. You can even hire city bikes and cycle there in 5-10 mins.
Despite being a little further out, we found it easy to get into town and this was more than balanced by the very reasonable cost of our stay and the proximity to the Prater Park where we spent a great evening on the rides and eating.
The hotel is well above basic, but not a 4* when compared to others in the city. But it's very pleasant, the buffet breakfasts are very good and the rooms are a good size - at least our's was.
Outside seating area was great in the evening and the rooms are not at all noisy as some others have suggested.
Do agree that they could get better towels though. Small and rough! But that's my only negative considering the cost and situ of this great little place.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank onlineali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Located within a shirt walk of the Prater wheel, it is also a short walk or ride into central Vienna. Rooms simple but quiet. Quilts thin but in summer not an issue. On a quiet road. Very efficient and friendly staff in a busy hotel. Popular with tourists. Breakfast good with wide choice well presented. Simple furnishing in room - plain - but fully functional. Towels small and not so new. Cold only water in the morning in the bathroom was quickly sorted out.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Harold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

excellent hotel with a very good value for money.
excellent location :near the famous PARTER and near centre or VIC.
The breakfast is complete for all taste organic and variety and all the time fresh. The staff are exceedingly polite and courteous, and I have a good free wireless connections. The room is big, cleaning and modern. I recommend this hotel and I will be back again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: the new part of the hotel with art room are more big and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicedima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 359 in Vienna
1,685 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#13 of 359 in Vienna
616 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Wilhelmshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Wilhelmshof

Address: Kleine Stadtgutgasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#24 Business Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#30 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £76 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Wilhelmshof 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Wilhelmshof - the arthotel between the city center of Vienna and the famous PraterIn the immediate vicinity of one of the main attractions of Vienna, the Ferris wheel in Vienna's Prater, our arthotel «Der Wilhelmshof» is located in a quiet side alley.The interior of the family-run 4-star hotel impresses by its warm, artistic atmosphere, which, together with the modern technical equipment and personal service, is thoroughly tailored to the needs and the well-being of our guests. We are a special hotel, since art accompanies our guests throughout the hotel – from the elegant entrance hall through the artistically staged mezzanines up to the stylish guest rooms that are individually designed. Besides the WLAN access which is available for our hotel guests, free of charge, there is also a hotel-owned garage. Please note that Der Wilhelmshof a non- smoking hotel.Our professionalism, the comfortable and cozy atmosphere and our passion for details rank among our strengths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Der Wilhelmshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna
Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing