We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Der Wilhelmshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Der Wilhelmshof
Ranked #27 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
151 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2008

I was very happy staying in this hotel, from Room to Service to Breakfast all was exceeding my expectations and I felt very good staying here. As a business traveller I appreciated the free wireless connection in the room and lobby.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dana_christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    447
    77
    22
    6
See reviews for
364
571
51
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

The hotel is on a very quiet street and 5-10 minutes walk from a major rail/metro/tram stop, Praterstern, with a direct train to the airport and choice of metro and trams to the cities main attractions. The station is under some construction but easy to navigate.

Our group had 3 double rooms and one single. We were all happy with our accommodations. They met our expectations for the price range. We arrived near midnight and the staff was agreeable. We also used the luggage storage lockers on the last day.

Our double room was quite large for Europe and the bathroom had adequate surface space to leave your kit out. The breakfast buffet was extensive with many choices for the vegetarians and carnivores. The hotel was full with lots of people in our age range and many young families with children. The bar area/lounge was comfortable for a quick drink.

We did not find anything of interest near the hotel. The neighborhood was not particularly pleasant and there is not much for food or entertainment within walking distance. Every time we headed out it was straight for the metro station and to another location. A few of us did walk over to the Ferris wheel (about 15 minutes away).

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — no night life or food in immediate area
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank austngrl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2008

We booked a superior 4 star triple room, but were thoroughly disappointed with both the room and the service provided at the hotel. Although the room was recently renovated it looked unfinished as there was a hole in the ceiling, in which we could look up into the ceiling cavity.
Wi-Fi was advertised as available in the rooms, but while we were there this was not the case. On repeatedly reporting this to the reception, we were told it was working. Only upon checking out did they admit it wasn't working.
We had chipped drinking glasses in the room.
The third bed in the room was so hard it could not be slept on. Upon going to the reception desk, we were told there was nothing they could do about until the morning. In the morning there was no effort made to fix the problem.
The attitude of the staff to our problems were uncaring. They offered neither a solution or apology to our problems.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mozetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

We just had a family vacation that ended up with 2 nights in Vienna. This hotel was booked on the internet, and we were pleasantly surprised.

Check in and Check out were very easy, the hotel staff was very knowledgeable and spoke English. Everyone was very friendly and appreciated our stay. The rooms were average size, comfortable, and clean (including the bathroom).

The breakfast which is included in the room rate was your typical european breakfast, meats, cheeses, bread, fruit, some vegetables. It was adequate.

The hotel has a limited bar, and no restaurant. There is a nice vienese cafe 1/2 block from the restaurant, which has great meals for 10 -15 euros.

It is about a 30 minute ride from the aiport, 10-15 minutes from the city centre, and the underground rail station is a 10 minute walk. Cost of transport were 19 euros for an airport shutlle, 37 euros for an airport taxi. 10 euros for a taxi ride to the city center.

We did have a vehicle, the only complaint is the hotel is difficult to find not speaking german, or not having a GPS.

Overall, a very good experience.

  • Liked — Good Value
  • Disliked — Driving to it was difficult
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PburgTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

Stayed for five nights at this hotel and cannot fault it. The hotel was clean and quiet. The buffet breakfast was plentiful.
all staff helpful. It was great that on our last day we could leave our luggage in the locker room for one euro per locker. (refundable too) It was easy to get to and from Vienna airport to the hotel on the train to the Praterstern and walk.
Public transport in Vienna is excellent. but it is easy to walk into the city ( about fifteen minutes) Definitely would stay here again if visiting Vienna.

  • Liked — spacious room
  • Disliked — only two pillows per bed
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank safehandsHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

We spent four days at this hotel last week and it was great. The room was very elegant and the bathroom was big. The services were all very good, and al the employees were really helpful. The only problem was with the wi-fi in the room; the connection was quite bad so i used the computers they had in the lobby at the internet points. I told them about the problem and they said that maybe it was a problem with the laptop. I doubt it, but i didn't need the internet that much (after all, i was in vacation!) so it didn't matter that much.
Also, the location is very good, right near Praterstern station (we used only the subway to get around the city). Because we wanted to avoid walking too much at night, just to keep it safe, we spent most evenings at the Prater (it is a very busy area with restaurants and open-air bars for every price range) which is also very close to the hotel.

  • Liked — The quality of the rooms, the location
  • Disliked — the internet connection
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sup3rgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

We spent two nights here, having booked it on the Web. Our room had been completely refurbished to a high standard and although the Hotel is in an unfashionble part of Vienna, it is only 3 stops and 7 minutes from Stephensplatz in central Vienna [4 stops from Hapsburg Palaces]. There is a major metro and trolley station about 300 metres from the hotel. There are restaurants and bars nearby of varying statndard.
Spacious room and large bathroom, finished in marble! Quiet, very clean and comfortable. Excellent bedding and linen. Refrigerator but no tea-making facilities. TV with English- language news channel. Free internet use in lobby.
Excellent continental breakfast- wide variety and ample food and fruit.
Limited English spoken at reception but staff helpful.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable and excellent value
  • Disliked — Limited English at reception and somewhat scruffy neighbourhood [but safe]
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MikeBromilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#25 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Serviten Quarter
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Wilhelmshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Wilhelmshof

Property: Der Wilhelmshof
Address: Kleine Stadtgutgasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#24 Business Hotel in Vienna
#30 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Wilhelmshof 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Wilhelmshof - the arthotel between the city center of Vienna and the famous PraterIn the immediate vicinity of one of the main attractions of Vienna, the Ferris wheel in Vienna's Prater, our arthotel «Der Wilhelmshof» is located in a quiet side alley.The interior of the family-run 4-star hotel impresses by its warm, artistic atmosphere, which, together with the modern technical equipment and personal service, is thoroughly tailored to the needs and the well-being of our guests. We are a special hotel, since art accompanies our guests throughout the hotel – from the elegant entrance hall through the artistically staged mezzanines up to the stylish guest rooms that are individually designed. Besides the WLAN access which is available for our hotel guests, free of charge, there is also a hotel-owned garage. Please note that Der Wilhelmshof a non- smoking hotel.Our professionalism, the comfortable and cozy atmosphere and our passion for details rank among our strengths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Der Wilhelmshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna
Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing