We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value vs price, good location”
Review of Der Wilhelmshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Der Wilhelmshof
Ranked #31 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The Wilhelmshof Hotel is located in Vienna within close walking distance to the U1 metro station Praterstern. We opted for this hotel since it offered a room with an additional bed for kids at no additional cost, and because of the very comfortable position: the city center is a few metro stops away, as well as pleasant places like Donauinsel or Alte Donau.
The hotel has been recently converted from a three stars to a four star hotel. In this respect, some things could be improved: while the ground floor and most of the stairs have been renewed with a modern and pleasant design, we found a worn up moquette in upstairs corridors and in our room. This latter, toilet included, was wide, well furnished and comfortable. Linen were, as usual in Vienna, in the traditional mitteleuropean/british style (the blanket is wrapped into linen sheets, and it is not blocked under the mattress) which is not that comfortable for people not used to. Our room was equipped with: a) A/C, usually not strictly necessary in Vienna climate, but appreciated in mid-summer; b) fridge, of which I appreciated the explicit advice "of course you can put your own stuff here", opposed to many hotels forbidding that for 'security reasons' or other stupid motivation; c) TV, whose volume was blocked: this certainly improves the quality of sleeping throughout the hotel, but the TV was barely audible. Both prices of the laundry services and of fridge items were reasonable.
The hotel offers a free-wifi whose coverage includes rooms, and there are two pc freely accessible in the hall. A parking was accessible but it was not free.
The personnel has been kind and helpful at any moment. Wilhelmshof has an excellent score in breakfast also. There was a variety of breads (all the nice Austrian breads were represented) and a good choice of salty and sweet food (bacon, eggs, ham, cheeses, vegetables, croissants, cakes, cereals of many sorts, yogurt, milk, many fruit juices, fresh and dried fruit, nuts).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgelinBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

I found this hotel on the internet. When we arrived, they greeted us with smiling faces. Helped us on travel info. Fed us with delicious breakfasts every morning for 8 days. The waitress comes and asks you what coffee or tea you like and brings it right away that you don't get such a personal attention even in a 5 star chain. Warm, friendly, clean, nicely stationed modest hotel that offers a good value for such a reasonable price.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank HuseyinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This was our second stay in Hotel Wilhemshof and hopefully not the last. In both cases we booked the basic room and had a view to a nice backyard. The room is spotlessly clean, spacious and quiet. Beds are extremely comfortable - slept like a baby. The hotel is decently furnished with interesting decorations on each level (if you take the main staircase). The staff at the reception are friendly and speak good English. Breakfast was simply excellent, both taste and choice-wise. Three minutes to the Praterstern station (direct trains to the airport twice an hour, plus public transport connections to the city centre). Despite the close proximity to the train station and public transport hub, the area is not seedy at all and we felt safe walking around there at midnight…

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The rooms were clean and neat, room attendents and reception staff were very pleasant and helpful with directions and restaurant/travel suggestions, breakfast buffet had a good selection of healthy options with overworked albeit attentive servers. They also have a nice bar area to relax in the evenings with minimal but ample bar service for drinks, tea, and coffee. And the air-conditioning worked remarkably well - a blessing with the unexpectedly hot weather!

My only complaint is that the wireless internet never worked from any of the rooms - tried from a couple of them. Their IT staff took a couple of days to admit they were having technical difficulties with the wireless. However, the hotel had two terminals downstairs in the lobby area where one can stand and use the internet (keyboards were not easy for English typers since they were for Austrian/German). The wireless did work with my laptop in the lobby area the one day I tried and had time to lug it downstairs. So my Blackberry turned out to be essential for staying in touch and coordinating with colleagues.

The rates were quite high during our conference compared to just a couple days earlier -demand-driven for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Deluxe rooms have been recently re-done. They are lovely, spacious, modern and clean, featuring comfortbale beds with nice linen, fantastic bathroom and shower and lots of storage space. Standard rooms are dated, faded, noisy as hell (street noise) and appear to be smaller.

Breakfast is good, particularly for budget/semi budget Euro hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Located in a nice area, resonably close to centre of town, walked from hotel to main square first day, caught train other days. Station is very close also.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SushieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The service I experienced was very disappointing since they pretended to get money just after a simple quotation request and showed they real face once a trouble came out. This happened to me also in an other hotel in Vienna, but not in the rest of the world. So if you don't want more hussle once you already have a little problem with them just choose an other place, Vienna is full of hotels and this is not that great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank matinsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and very spacious. Breakfast good. Slightly out of the way but very close to major train and underground station so this is of no consequence. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#15 of 358 in Vienna
1,712 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#14 of 358 in Vienna
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 358 in Vienna
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Wilhelmshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Wilhelmshof

Address: Kleine Stadtgutgasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#24 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £71 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Wilhelmshof 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Wilhelmshof - the arthotel between the city center of Vienna and the famous PraterIn the immediate vicinity of one of the main attractions of Vienna, the Ferris wheel in Vienna's Prater, our arthotel «Der Wilhelmshof» is located in a quiet side alley.The interior of the family-run 4-star hotel impresses by its warm, artistic atmosphere, which, together with the modern technical equipment and personal service, is thoroughly tailored to the needs and the well-being of our guests. We are a special hotel, since art accompanies our guests throughout the hotel – from the elegant entrance hall through the artistically staged mezzanines up to the stylish guest rooms that are individually designed. Besides the WLAN access which is available for our hotel guests, free of charge, there is also a hotel-owned garage. Please note that Der Wilhelmshof a non- smoking hotel.Our professionalism, the comfortable and cozy atmosphere and our passion for details rank among our strengths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Der Wilhelmshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna
Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing