We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the money”
Review of Pension Domizil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pension Domizil
Ranked #125 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Pori, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good value for the money”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during a business trip and loved it. Perfect location, quiet, clean, friendly staff, spacious bathroom and delicious breakfast. The metro station of Stephansplatz is just a stone's throw away and there are also nice restaurants nearby. I'd choose this hotel for my vacation trip also, as the price is very affordable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannamaria72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    91
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
112
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Perfect place. Perfect location. Negatives? My shower was the size of a phone booth but our other room asked for a tub, and that makes a nice difference. For a couple of days, no biggie! Friendliest front desk ever, makes a big dif when you're new to a city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maasmechelen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Excellent starting point to explore the city: it is only 200 m away from St. Stephansdom and less than 5 minutes' walk from 2 metro stations. Perfect service, perfect breakfast. Small lobby, no bar. The name 'Pension' Domizil is misleading: the hotel has everything a tourist expects from a hotel. I had a spacious room and bathroom. No luxury, but very clean. Safe, fridge and flat-screen TV. Comfortable beds. Old-fashioned high ceilings (nothing against them!). No double glazing, but double windows. Efficient enough to keep street noises out. It lies in a quiet street anyway. The website does not mention air conditioning, but the rooms on 2nd & 3rd floor do have it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theo024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is a great hotel very close to St Stephens and to all the other attractions in the old part of Vienna. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean and large for an older building. With lots of restaurants close by. There was no AC but a fan worked ok. The location is the great selling point for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GenevieveCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay 15 to 21 July 2012. The hotel is located right in the middle of what were going on with short walking distance to many interesting and impressive sights.
The hotel offers a good start of the day with its breakfast. The room did not have an AC, and on hot days/nights the fan is insufficient, and with an open window it is very noisy. Staff is superb!!!. More flexibility in late departure would be appreciated, you may however keep your luggage safely free of charge in the store room.
The hotel is an excellent choice for a weekend or a short week. Next time in Wien we will stay here again.
Satisfied guests

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
6 Thank HOT411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here in late May the room was very spacious neat and clean, the staff at reception were warm and friendly,and the breakfast was great. It was very central to everything. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are probably roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dimitri40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

Having come from a great experience in Prague, we arrived to a dark place where there wasn't even a reception area just a clerk desk. Our room was the size of a closet without air conditioning even though the hotel sites claimed it was 4 star and was air conditioned. We were supposed to stay 5 nights and left after one. I would not recommend it, especially as classified as a 4 star hotel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#76 of 360 in Vienna
682 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#131 of 360 in Vienna
203 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#18 of 360 in Vienna
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#97 of 360 in Vienna
782 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#151 of 360 in Vienna
579 reviews
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#126 of 360 in Vienna
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Domizil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Domizil

Property: Pension Domizil
Address: Schulerstrasse 14 | First District, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#118 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#122 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Domizil 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Domizil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Domizil Hotel Vienna
Domizil Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing