We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
154
113
32
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
113
32
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspension domizilgreat locationbreakfast buffet was nicest stephenscentral locationgood sized roomsthe heart of the cityquiet streetsmall lifttea and coffee making facilitiesstay there againair conditioningfirst floorfront desk staffcomfortable bedloved this hotela great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had read about a Pension Hotel in Vienna but it was booked & was referred to Pension Domizil. From the very first correspondence I found the staff to be helpful and service oriented. Upon arrival in the city the hotel is an easy two block walk from the Stephanansplatz Metro at St. Stephen's Cathedral. The hotel is a small, boutique hotel very centrally located with a pleasant staff, TV, wireless internet and breakfast included with the room. If you are looking for a fancy room with overstuffed beds & spacious showers - go to a big chain but be prepared to pay 5X the price of this pleasant little hotel. I will gladly stay here again on my next layover in Vienna.

Room Tip: If you want a more quiet room, make sure you ask for a room as far from the street noise as possible.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKPABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Pension Domizil was in an ideal central location for our requirements. A couple of hundred yards for Stephanplatz. We stayed six nights bed and breakfast which was great value for its location. Rooms were of a good size and facilities included TV, WIFI, and tea making. Cleanliness was of an extremely high standard. All staff were friendly and helpful, especially one very cheerful lady on reception who provided very useful information for site seeing and directions.
Breakfast was excellent with a good variety of continental breakfast selection.
Only problem experienced was noise from construction work being carried out in the vicinity which always seemed to start at 0700 on weekdays.

Room Tip: Possibly room on ground floor may be better as the hotel has a very small lift.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Excellent overall, service was actually exceptional. All staff cherry and polite at all time and spoke English. It is well hidden, away from the main drag (traffic and crowd noise), but only 200 hundred meter from were the action is. This is an old hotel, but well maintained, and a BIG plus, Air Conditioned!!! With temperatures in the summer in the 30* C, it was nice to come back to your room, cool down, and go out again when the temperatures started to fall.

Breakfast was included: We enjoyed the great variety of fresh bread, juices, great selection of jams, cheese, hams and fruit. An the coffee, I could not stoop asking for more.

One drawback, they list, that they have parking, and they do, at a cost of 32 Euros per day. Having experience from decades ago, I was able to get (at reception) a 24 four hours city permit for about 4 Euros. But you have to find your space on the streets, wish in my case was about 75 meters from the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: Remember, most locations in Vienna have NO Air conditioner, to include museums, restaurants etc. It is hard to stay cool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Do not confuse this 4star Pension with a 4star Hotel, though it seems they use the terms interchangeably here, even on the exterior names outside the hotel. Rooms are sparsely furnished, though clean. Twin beds do not push together well and there is a definite hole in the middle of the 2 mattresses - Room 411. Breakfast just ok - had many that were better along the way. The 4 star Hotel Konig von Ungarn right next door, while a few $ more, is so much more worth the money and ranks 5 star in our opinion - locate them at www.kvu.at for a much more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellmbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was in an extremely central section of Vienna beside St Stephens. The hotel was friendly with the best breakfasts I have had in a long time! Our room was very big with well equipped bathrooms. The staff were extraordinarily helpful! A concert in the Golden Hall was efficiently booked by receptionist as were suggestions for places to see.

Well worth staying here and I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews