We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good affordable food”
Review of Ribs of Vienna

Ribs of Vienna
Ranked #27 of 4,193 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$32
Cuisines: Austrian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Description: "RIBS OF VIENNA" is situated in the very center of Vienna, only a few steps from the famous cathedral St. Stephens. We are well known for spareribs and steaks. Of course we serve typical Austrian food and vegetarian dishes as well. A subwaystation is near by. Our friendly staff speaks besides german also english, russian and polish. Come and share this great experience. Reservation is required.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good affordable food”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The food did not take long to reach us, we had to wait around 10 minutes, it got to the table hot and neatly arranged. The taste is good and the servings are enough for 2 people to eat off one plate. The service is okay, the waiters speak English and come to you when they are needed.

They DO NOT take credit cards, so carry around 40-50 euro if you plan on eating here.

Helpful?
Thank Ricardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,628
    691
    203
    81
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Not easy to find this undergroud dungeon like restaurant but found it anyway. The 1 meter bbq ribs was big enough for 2-3 people to eat. We opted to try their pork schnitzel while our daughter tried the 24 inch ribs and our son-in-law had the turkey schnitzel and some fancy dessert. Food was very good!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprise in Vienna with Ribs and Pierogi in Awesome Place!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

First off this place is in a cellar vault 2 stories below street level dating back to 1541! They specialize (obviously!) in ribs but we were surprised by our waiter (who had a slight accent but was from Wyoming!) that the owners are Polish and they have Pierogi on the menu! Everyone else in our group ordered the ribs, which come in all kinds of variations, and I had the Wiener Schnitzel which was great. The big surprise was the Pierogi! I am not a huge fan but apparently because I never had these Pierogi. They were incredible and delicious. Obviously homemade. The website says they do not take credit cards but when we went, they had just started to and it was much easier than finding an ATM. This was a great find and a really cool atmosphere! And it was VERY reasonable. Highly recommend it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyer_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
202 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Worst Ribs EVER”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I get better ribs in Asda Walmart than these, by about 150%
The ribs were almost impossible to get off of the bone and the shortest ribs I have ever had.
On the plus side the service was very friendly and efficient and prices were reasonable to a point. Would not return

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skipper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Although there were some negative reviews on here it seems (from our visit) that they were unfounded.

The staff were very welcoming and the food was generous and tasty. They are not 'American' style ribs but instead are a bit drier in style which was still delicious - the meat came right off the bones. For Central Vienna it is priced really well although it is unashamedly a touristy restaurant hence the three stars.

If you want a change from Austrian food and flavours and want something different to Italian we would recommend here for a good value, no frills meal.

Helpful?
Thank bradshaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ribs of Vienna also viewed

 

Been to Ribs of Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing