We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hostel! Brilliant Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Base"
Ranked #24 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hostel! Brilliant Staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Great party atmosphere in the Bar area, which makes meeting people very easy. The bar staff a great fun!! It is in a minor red light district and you do have to walk down a long semi dark side street to get the base unlike the lounge located just down the street. However we were two young girls, first night got a little bit of a fright was we just did not expect to see the girls on the corner but the whole 3nights we spent walking up to the hostel we had no problems what so ever and did not feel uneasy. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is cheap but good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monamahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    95
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
7
27
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had a great stay at the Wombat's The Base hostel. The rooms (we had a 6 bed room) are spacious and have their own shower + wc
Staff were extraordinarily friendly and helpful. The hostel is situated close to the rail station and you have the opportunity to store your luggage in a seperate room if you arrive before check-in (which in our case was at 2pm).
We enjoyed a few drinks at the bar as well as a game of pool. The all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet had everything we could ask for, from cheese and cooked meat to cereal, nutella, honey, coffee etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arad, Romania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed there only for one night but for sure we will not stay there again. The room was small and we barely got some sleep during the night, becaue we could hear every step made outside. They don't have a parking place so we parked the car 2 streets away. :)
Next time we will try the other 2 hotels from Wombat's.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed here 2 nights with my partner and were unable to get a private room. We didn't book, so was no fault of the hostel. The hostel was clean, and liked the fact they enforced noise policies it the evening. Great place to drink cheap. Breakfast is not included, and there are pay only computers unless you have your own wifi device. Its not expensive, just annoying as there is only 4 computers. The worst thing for us was sitting outside on the terrace and some guys were smoking out the window of their room ( Not permitted) and they flicked a cig out the window and it landed on my bag burning a hole in it. I told staff and they didnt seem to bothered, until we went out there the next night and they were doing it again. I went in and told them, and she came out and shouted at them, and gave them a warning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The location is very good and the price is ok in comparision with other places in Vienna. The Hostel provides everything such as internet, washing machines, club, bar, breakfast, etc. The staff is helpful and nice and gives plenty information regarding travelling or sightseeing in Vienna. Staying at this hostel enables you to meet and interact with many other people from all different parts of the world and is much better than cheap subsitutions such as AO which as no life...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank On R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

OVERALL: 99%

Atmosphere: 100%
Location: 95%
Staff: 100%
Cleanliness: 100%
Facilities: 100%
Value: 95%
Safety: 100%

Liked: The absolute best thing about this hostel is the atmosphere. Really great place to meet lots of other travelers from all over the world. At night there’s a bar right in the lobby and is a great place to hang out, talk and get a drink or two. And this is the only hostel that I’ve ever had two free beers along with my stay. The staff was great and even though they rotate frequently, every single one of them was really nice and helpful. Free WIFI in the lobby. The rooms were great also, 4-bed dorms with ensuite bathroom and shower, which was really awesome. Very clean. Good full-size lockers in room. Breakfast is also included and served in a small dining area next to the kitchen and was by far the best hostel breakfast I’ve had my whole trip. Very safe hostel and location as well.

Disliked: A little far from the city center, you’ll have to use the public transport to get around (tram, metro), but it all works really well. It’s close to Westbahnhof train station, but chances are your train won’t arrive or leave from there but from another train station.

Would I recommend this hostel? Yes. Definitely! We had a great time there and it’s probably the best hostel I’ve stayed at anywhere.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank warpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Nice rooms, very clean bathroom, plenty of great facilities - the bar downstairs has a good fun vibe. Great soundproofing so the bar can go all night but you can get a good sleep.
10-15 min walk from the Westbahnhof, or just a couple of blocks from the tram #18.
Great guide provided by the hostel with an ok map but a better description of places to see!
Initially hard to find so make sure you have a good map, and i had a vienese friend tell me i was in a district with a lot of 'ladies of the night' - which i did see once but never felt unsafe at all.
Great restaraunt/bar nearby down on the corner on Mariahilfer Straße.
Staff were nice enough, and the hostel was very clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 196 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse
Do Step Inn
#13 of 196 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Hietzing
Hostel Hutteldorf
Hostel Hutteldorf
#43 of 196 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Base"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Base"

Property: wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Base"
Address: Grangasse 6, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Base" 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Base" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s The Base Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing