We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay with real character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Ruthensteiner
Ranked #1 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed in one of their apartments for 5 days. The place is excellent, clean and staff are helpful. Location is superbly located next to the train station for easy access to the major areas of interest.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenF1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Ruthensteiner
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here in a private room for a few days. The room was basic, quite small, but perfectly adequate. The only complaint was the window opened out to the street where there was quite a bit of late activity (ie. smokers and loud talkers coming home from the bars). The hostel staff were great, very helpful and very friendly. The common areas were spacious and comfortable and the kitchen was pretty nice too, had everything you needed and was kept clean. Breakfast and internet cost extra, which can make the place a little bit expensive since the the starting price is not the cheapest. Easy to find, just a few minutes walk from the train station and a metro stop that will take you into the inner city. It is also walkable into the inner city, we did that most days, takes about a half hour.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EReviewer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

positive points: very good hostel, very friendly staff, very good atmosphere, I was in a single confortable room central location, next to mariahilfer strasse and around 20 min by foot from the ring and around 15 min by foot from schonbrunn palace, around 4 min by foot from westbanhhof station
negative points: my only complain is that it don’t have a free internet computer( the fee is 2 euros/45 min)
This hostel is strongly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbrm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My sisters and I shared a room. We paid only 30 Euros.

We got a great price because the hostal offers minimal services. The room was small. The bathrooms and showers, of course, were a short walk away. The floor outside of the showers was dirty.

So this is a good place to stay if you just need a place to crash for the night.

I connected to the Internet in the hostel lounge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaracasCorrespondent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

After en epic over night train from Zurich we were able to check in early. Rooms were clean and airy. Facilities include kitchen, washing machines, lockers and breakfast can be purchased. Nice courtyard and dining areas with a bar. Close to the main train station but some distance from the city centre. The staff are great; it's a real credit to them! Cosy atmosphere :)

Room Tip: Frindly, well equipped, nice atmosphere
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnmwmnmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had a double room with our own ensuite. The room was clean but quite pokey and very basic, and you could hear everything from your neighbours! The actual hostel was cute, with a very friendly atmosphere and the staff were great. Loved the fact that it had kitchen and laundry facilities! Bit out of the way of the city but close to public transport, however, wouldn't have wanted to walk around the area alone at night. Lovely courtyard.
Would recommend to ppl looking for a social atmosphere, but not for something a bit more upmarket!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLKouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Location of this hostel is not too bad, not very far from train location. But not that easy to find if you reach there at night cos its along a quiet dark street behind the main one. Dorms for six is small and light in shower room kept going off to save electricity. Other than that, the environment is ok. Receptionists are friendly and offers help readily.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cct222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#157 of 361 in Vienna
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ruthensteiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ruthensteiner

Address: Robert-Hamerling-Gasse 24 | 1150, Vienna 1150, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: £15 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Ruthensteiner 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Vienna's original independent backpacker's hostel, Hostel Ruthensteiner is the perfect place to stay - with its friendly, international atmosphere in a smoke-free environment. * "One of a kind" and not "one of a chain", our fun hostel is run by family and good friends and is the ideal hostel for the individual traveller or small friends/family group. * Newly renovated, our early 1800's historical building is just a stone's throw from the Westbahnhof Train Station and equidistant between the City Center and lovely Palace Schoenbrunn. Here, weary travelers can rest their bodies and refresh their souls! * "Cleanliness & friendliness" is our motto, helping you feel at home is our passion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostel Ruthensteiner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Ruthensteiner Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing