We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Ruthensteiner
Ranked #1 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Close to the station and not so far from the center. It is not just an ordinary hostel, it has a bit more soul than usually hostels do. The staff were nice and there is plenty of parking around the hostel in the streets. Breakfast was the only thing in the hostel I was not impressed by, so just head out for a breakfast. But otherwise I had a pleasant stay. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salamala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    224
    42
    16
    4
See reviews for
62
155
313
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was the best place I have stayed EVER.

The people working there were wonderful, especially Erin who runs it with her husband. It was such a friendly, laid back and homey place. And the room I stayed in with my friend was so amazingly clean. So huge well done to the cleaning staff!

The location is great: super close to the main train station and the airport bus, right by a tramline and surrounded by supermarkets.

I will be back for sure :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cici_9203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Hostel Ruthensteiner for tow night and had a wonderful stay. Our room was very large and spacious with a little balcony out back. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and very, very friendly. They have all the amenities including a kitchen and laundry and a bar with happy hour nightly! We are a little older than the average people staying there, but did not feel out of place. We are old enough to be parents to most of the people travelling. We would recommend this to families, couple and women travelling on their own. The hostel is two blocks from the Westbannhof Station and easy to get to. The location is great for getting to and from the city and also to get train connections as well as s bus to the airport.

Room Tip: Room 14A has a full kitchen and balcony and can sleep three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney D, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Ruthensteiner, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks so much Janice for your lovely review - we’re so happy to hear that you felt at home with us! We like to think that hostelling is for everyone, not just the ‘’youth’’ - thanks in any case for contributing to our multi-generational atmosphere ;). Do come visit again when you get the chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed and yet the best price. It's very clean and excellently located. The atmosphere at night is very good and friendly. Staff is also very helpful at making suggestions and ensuring that you get the most out of your time in Vienna. I would definitely stay again when next in Vienna

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra_360_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed for just one night in a private double with en-suite bathroom.

Checking in and out was easy, and the people at reception were very kind. They do however address you with your first name (and "Du"), which, being Central European and in my thirties, I found quite odd. Maybe it's a hostel thing, maybe it's because the staff weren't German native speakers, maybe they used to work for Ikea... who knows.

The room was nice and clean, albeit very narrow (much more so than what shows in the pictures on their website) and in my opinion not suited to accommodate two people and their luggage for more than one night's sleep. For one person it is okay. The bed is about 1,20m wide and comfy, not too soft.

They require you to leave the key to your room when you leave the hostel. I suppose this is so they don't risk you losing the key, but I find it a bit unsettling that in that case they don't require any kind of ID when you come back and ask for the key, even if there is a new person manning the reception desk. I wouldn't leave valuables in a hotel/hostel room, not even a private one, but I do not like the idea that anyone who confidently asked for the key to a certain room would be given it without further inquiry.

Other than that, it seemed like a very nice, clean and rather calm hostel - much more so than than those pertaining to big chains.

Room Tip: The private double ensuite for 68€ is very small and narrow (much more so than what shows on the pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandshoes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney D, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Ruthensteiner, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi Sandshoe, thank you so much for taking the time to review us! I’m very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us overall, despite the casual ‘’per Du’’ atmosphere ;).

I did want to let you know that your comments about the room keys have been passed on to the reception staff - security is a top priority around here, and our policy is to always double-check a guest’s identity before handing out keys. Many of our porters are quite good with faces, and it could be that they simply recognized you - still, we’re very grateful for the reminder. We also offer free lockers and safety deposit boxes (with keys you can keep with you) so that guests can be 100% certain that their valuables are safe!

Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hostel is clean, in a great location and it offers a great atmosphere. There is a big common area, fully equipped with bar and piano, that is a great place for hanging out and meeting people. The rooms itself, however, are very quiet. The staff is super nice and friendly.
The only thing we didn't like is that our room was extremly tiny; it literally only fitted a bed and a sink. But hey, there is a sink in the room, so that's a plus.
We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_10085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angers, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in a 3-person private room. The staff was so helpful and nice right off the bat! We originally had had a 3rd person coming who'd cancelled last minute, and since the hostel had no other space left, the receptionist took off the charge of the 3rd bed in our room, without us even asking! It's a really friendly and upbeat place, but has a quiet and relaxing atmosphere at the same time, something hard to master in a youth hostel. The bar is really great, very cheap happy hour beers and cocktails, and the place in general is very clean. The location is great-a short walk from the main station, on a quiet and safe side-street. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Vienna!

Room Tip: Private rooms are great! Not sure about the others, but from looking in they seemed nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#157 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ruthensteiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ruthensteiner

Property: Hostel Ruthensteiner
Address: Robert-Hamerling-Gasse 24 | 1150, Vienna 1150, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Ruthensteiner 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Vienna's original independent backpacker's hostel, Hostel Ruthensteiner is the perfect place to stay - with its friendly, international atmosphere in a smoke-free environment. * "One of a kind" and not "one of a chain", our fun hostel is run by family and good friends and is the ideal hostel for the individual traveller or small friends/family group. * Newly renovated, our early 1800's historical building is just a stone's throw from the Westbahnhof Train Station and equidistant between the City Center and lovely Palace Schoenbrunn. Here, weary travelers can rest their bodies and refresh their souls! * "Cleanliness & friendliness" is our motto, helping you feel at home is our passion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel Ruthensteiner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Ruthensteiner Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing