We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Ruthensteiner
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Altwienerhof(Vienna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveller rating
700
246
45
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
246
45
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusical instrumentsfree lockersbed dormcommon roomcommon areascheap breakfastlaundry roomfully equipped kitchenminute walkwestbahnhof train stationgreat facilitiesprivate bathrooma great place to stayenjoyed my staywashing machinedefinitely stay here againpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
530 - 535 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in this hostel and rate it very highly among the hostels I've stayed in. The garden is lovely, staff are really friendly and helpful, rooms very clean and the atmosphere is great among the travellers.
The musical instruments (guitars, piano, drums) meant that every night people gathered to play which was great fun

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location considering the price is not great and the bathrooms are shared by a lot of guests. Nevertheless, the staff here are amazing. They let me make a call for 20 minutes without charging. Also, their recommendations proved to be very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leon i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney D, Manager at Hostel Ruthensteiner, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Leon, thanks for taking the time to review us - I'm glad to hear that our recommendations were helpful - and no worries about the phone calls, we always try to help out in a tight spot :). In defense of our LOCATION - there are no hostels in center city Vienna (the property values are too high for that). We are however around the corner from a major train and metro station, and the Old City Center and the palace Schönnbrunn (both World Heritagesites) are just a short metro ride or pleasant stroll away :). Thanks, and do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very nice and comfy hostel in Vienna. The staff is excellent. Very clean hostel! The rooms are a bit smaller than average. The hostel has a very nice and good equipped kitchen. The inner courtyard is superb! Especialley in the summer time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim Tristan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Beyond the beautiful gardens, musical common areas, convenient kitchen, and computers or wifi for free usage, the outstanding staff is the reason Hostel Ruthensteiner was one of the best hostels I've ever visited. They are each friendly, very willing to give suggestions, and many are former backpackers themselves with fascinating stories and a fellow understanding of the highs and lows that come with backpacking. I was thankful to get to know many of them during my days in Vienna and then when I missed my next train and had to come back to the hostel, they could not have been more helpful- arranging for a new room, allowing me to take a nap the next day past check out, offering to call my next hostels to explain the situation, and giving me just the boost I needed to get back on course. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone who enjoys meeting other travelers and feeling like you have a home away from home in Vienna.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney D, Manager at Hostel Ruthensteiner, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

THANK YOU Kristin L for this lovely review! We're so happy to be your ''home in Vienna'' - come back for a visit anytime!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Thought the hostel was great, staff were always very keen to help. Excellent common area, with a few instruments for people to play, and a bar that opened in the evening. Kitchen was good, had a BBQ and stuff outside to use which was great. Location was great, in between Schonnbrunn Palace and Stefansplatz really. Centre of town was only 10 minutes away by metro, which was at the Westbahnhof, a 2 minute walk from the hostel. Lots of supermarkets and fast food places near by. Only major con was that the rooms were quite small, and the shower beside our room wasn't great. Other than that, great hostel and would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maitiumc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews