We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Ruthensteiner
Ranked #1 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Chingford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I would stay here again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were upgraded from a shared room to a private room on arrival. The staff were really friendly and helpful. While we had to travel to get into the centre of Vienna, the area is lovely and there is loads of shops and bars around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    222
    43
    15
    4
See reviews for
61
154
310
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent hostel, staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and quiet. Breakfast can be purchased at reception for a very reasonable price and the very large kitchen area is well equipped. Also had a lovely courtyard garden, bar and pretty much everything else you could need. No fans in the room unfortunately so it got a little warm .

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hostel could almost be called a hotel, but with the nice social/chill vibe from a hostel.
Good location, nice rooms, comfy beds and everything was very clean. I have never seen a hostel this well organised! All the facilities you need are present; good kitchen, washing machines, free use of the computers, a light by your bed, lockers, and many many more.
The staff is very friendly and have no problems giving you any tips/recommendations.
Lucky for me i missed some things to see in Vienna and have an good excuse to come back to Vienna and stay in this hostel again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yaravalente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Everything about this hostel was very nice. Stayed here with two friends and we had our own room and bathroom. The room was very clean, spacious and practical. Staff were exceptionally friendly and seemed happy to help with any questions we had. They also provided a lot of an information on events happening in the city that would be of interest to many travelers. The breakfast offered in the morning was good value. It was in a good location, within walking distance of the beautiful Schönbrunn Palace and close to an underground station where we could catch a quick train into the historic center.

The bar in the hostel was very quiet and had more of a relaxed atmosphere. We found we wanted something more lively and there is an excellent bar just a two minute walk away that we thought was a good alternative. If you choose to stay here I would recommend that bar (The Travel Shack).

Overall enjoyed our stay here and would return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenCouper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice place to stay in vienna. The staff are friendly. Rooms and bathroom are very clean. There is also a nice bar and garden for relaxing. We enjoy our beer and a nice chat with other travellers in the bar after coming back from the street.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 624larissaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I'm not a hardcore backpacker, but I've stayed in a few hostels, and this one is the nicest.

The Hostel is located about 5 minutes from the West Bahnhof metro station, Trams can also be boarded here. a 48 hour unlimited travel ticket is about 13 Euros.

The guys and girls who worked at the hostel were great, very helpful and full of information about the local area.

The hostel itself was very clean, the Garden was a nice place to be and very tranquil. Kitchen and laundry facilities were superb as were the shower facilities, the room I stayed in (Room 1) was fairly spacious, every bed comes with a locker which is very handy. Valuables can be kept in a deposit box behind the reception desk for extra security. There are also small lockers where phones/cameras etc can be charged (a refundable 2 euro deposit is paid)

The bar is excellent, sells cocktails and some local beers and the prices are pretty good too, especially during happy hour!

Vienna operates a curfew between 2200 and 0800hrs, so the bar/common area can get a bit warm and crowded as outside drinking is not allowed.

The common area also has books, boardgames and a variety of musical instruments (including a piano) all available for use as well.

All in all, a great place to stay at a reasonable price

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercuryrises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buitenpost
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nice place to stay in Vienna. We had a spacious apartment in the adjacent building. Quiet, clean with a fully equiped kitchen and bathroom.
The hostel provides good free wifi, and has a nice staff and nice gardens / patio to relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#161 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ruthensteiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ruthensteiner

Property: Hostel Ruthensteiner
Address: Robert-Hamerling-Gasse 24 | 1150, Vienna 1150, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Ruthensteiner 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Vienna's original independent backpacker's hostel, Hostel Ruthensteiner is the perfect place to stay - with its friendly, international atmosphere in a smoke-free environment. * "One of a kind" and not "one of a chain", our fun hostel is run by family and good friends and is the ideal hostel for the individual traveller or small friends/family group. * Newly renovated, our early 1800's historical building is just a stone's throw from the Westbahnhof Train Station and equidistant between the City Center and lovely Palace Schoenbrunn. Here, weary travelers can rest their bodies and refresh their souls! * "Cleanliness & friendliness" is our motto, helping you feel at home is our passion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel Ruthensteiner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Ruthensteiner Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing