We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$410
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Vienna(Vienna)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,642)
Filter reviews
2,642 results
Traveller rating
2,107
440
71
20
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,107
440
71
20
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuseum quartertea and cakematteo thunmodern artunique hotelapartment buildinghigh ceilingsjunior suitefirst floorwithin walking distanceliving roomsmoked salmonlounge areabreakfast was deliciousperfect stayroom was largeside street
Filter
Updating list...
1,401 - 1,406 of 2,642 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, and I totally understand why it's #1 here.

From the very warm welcome I received at reception, to the gracious goodbye I received at checkout, every minute spent in the hotel was flawless.

I was checked in very quickly and given a quick tour of the public areas of the hotel before I was led to my room. The common areas are extremely charming - modern art and furniture combined with classic rooms redone in a beautiful new style. I could practically live in a place like that. My check in time also coincided with afternoon tea, which, although simple was just perfect. I couldn't have thought of a better way to ease into Vienna. I guess it also helped that a 10-year old boy was playing Chopin on the piano!

The room I got (Leonie) was stunning, as was the hallway to the design rooms, and every other hallway I passed. The design of the room is really meant for couples, so family members staying together should look at other kinds of rooms, as this bathroom has only a glass door.

Free WiFi all throughout was a definite plus, and all the other guests just seemed relaxed and friendly.

Before I reached Vienna, I had just stayed in top 5-star hotels in Frankfurt and Berlin. I would completely return to Altstadt in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManilaMacedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We wanted the best experience so we booked the #1 rated hotel in Vienna, the Altstadt. The staff were friendly and helpful, but the hotel itself was a big disappointment. Old and musty. You can hear doors banging. The doors must be open with a big key that was very hard and frustrating to use. The room very small. The red carpet in the hallway looked wet and very old (not nice like the pictures in here). The TV was the size of a computer screen (BIG disappointment). Breakfast was below average -- nothing hot although you can ask for a boiled egg. Location was a few blocks to the Museum Quarter (maybe 5-10 min. walk) so it's not too bad. The afternoon tea was nice...there's a simple cake but it's really tea time so don't hope too much for the cake. Definitely way below our expectation of a #1 hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arlenetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, General Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2011

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your experience in our house.

We are truly very sorry to hear, that we have not met your expectations and we are very sorry that we let you leave disappointed.

Concerning the TV in the room we totally agree. In some rooms we still had small flat screens, which in the meantime have all been exchanged by larger ones.

Certain things however we like to keep in a traditional way, such as roomkeys instead of keycards. The keys however are of regular size and just as easy to use as in a private home. They should not at all be frustrating to our guests nor hard to use.

The breakfast buffet, which is included in the rate, we always like to keep fresh. That is why we do not have any shaving dishes on the buffet. Wether it is an omlette, eggs any style, bacon, ham or veggies, it will always be cooked fresh and of course it is also included in the rate.

It is our policy to always offer hot dishes such as mentioned before to our guests at the breakfast table. Please accept our sincerest apologies if we have neglected to inform you about the additional breakfast offer and have left you with the opinion of only boiled eggs being available.
The breakfast buffet offers a variety of high quality, organic, local and imported products. Aside from local cold cuts, such as ham, turkey, pastrami, etc. we make sure to additionally provide only the best quality of prosciutto, salami and salmon. Not to mention all the different cheeses, spreads, fruits, vegetables, yogurt, jam, nuts, seeds, dried fruits, different rolls & bread, toast, croissants, cakes and all kinds of cereals. We also make the Bircher Muesli ourselves and the fruit salad fresh every day.
All kinds of juices, still & sparkling water, coffee, espresso, cafe latte, melange, capuccino or hot chocolate you can drink as much as you like. Prosecco (Sparkling Wine) is also included in the rate.
We are very sorry to hear that you found the breakfast buffet below average.

The teabuffet and homemade cake every afternoon is a complimentary service to our guests. The cake is freshly made every day and different every day. All the different teas provided are also only of the best (Demmer's Tea). A typical english tea time (with scones, sandwiches, etc.) unfortunately we would not be able to offer on a complimentary basis.

Again we are very sorry for not having met your expectations, but we are all most appreciative of your comments, which are very helpful in assisting us to maintain and improve upon our services and facilities.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

The Altstadt was a fun, comfortable boutique hotel within walking distance of the great museums in Vienna. Vienna is a lovely, continental city, and the Altstadt merges old with new in a cool, funky way. We had a junior suite with comfortable beds and a spacious bathroom. We really could have easily fit 4 people in this room between the sofa and an extra bed. The breakfast was good, and we appreciated afternoon cake and coffee! The staff was perky and friendly, and very helpful. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyTravelPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

This was an surprise trip for my wife, Victoria, to celebrate her 40th Birthday and neither Vienna or the Hotel Altstadt disappointed. Seeking the best place to stay in Vienna, the Hotel Altstadt appeared No.1 on TripAdvisor but I was concerned at its distance from the city centre. I needn't have worried - its position is (10 mins) walking distance from the Museum Quarter with the the bustle of the city centre beyond.

Being a special occasion I opted for a suite - the Otto Suite. It was beautiful - wooden floors, terrific furniture, an expanse of space and a wooden staircase leading to a rooftop terrace. All very functional and uncomplicated. We were greeted with complimentary chocolates on arrival and a bottle of bubbles appeared in our room on Victoria's birthday. Each room is decorated differently so it's worth asking what's available at time of booking. Wi-fi connectivity throughout the hotel and possibly one of the best breakfasts on the Continent. Afternoon tea and cake served between 4-6pm comes a very close second!

A big thank you to all the staff who made our stay so relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble which simply allows you to enjoy yourself. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0tus_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The Altstadt is really a very quaint hotel. It is in a historical building, and has a very nondescript entrance. The lobby is on the second floor and the gal who was working was very professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. She took us up to our room on the third floor, Helga's Room. Since it is an older building there is a main door you open to go to where there were about six rooms.
Our room was furnish in very modern decor. We had a double bed, a living room area with a couch and chair, a desk, a small TV, a small modern closet. I am enclosing pictures. The bathroom is very small with a shower.
The breakfast was very nice, many types of breads, cheeses, fruits, etc. Very light and airy room/rooms for breakfast, again very modern decor, bright green chairs, little flower vases on all the tables.
The hotel is about three blocks from the main tourist area of Vienna where all the museums, palaces, cathedrals, etc are located.
A very nice stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teacher34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews