We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Atlas(Vienna)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Pension Wild(Vienna)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kugel(Vienna)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,616)
Filter reviews
2,616 results
Traveller rating
2,089
434
70
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,089
434
70
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuseum quartertea and cakematteo thunmodern artunique hotelapartment buildinghigh ceilingsjunior suitefirst floorwithin walking distanceliving roomsmoked salmonlounge areabreakfast was deliciousperfect stayroom was largeside street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,380 - 1,385 of 2,616 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Our family was planning a birthday celebration in Vienna and after booking our reservations at the Hotel Rathaus, 10 more of our friends decided to join us in Vienna. Since both the Hotel Rathaus and Altstadt are boutique hotels, we booked them at this lovely hotel. The Altstadt hotel had received great reviews on Trip Advisor and so we were absolutely delighted to find everything more than lived up to expectations. They all happily reported that the service was superb, the rooms were large and beautifully decorated and they all thoroughly enjoyed their stay at the Altstadt hotel.
I can honestly say that we would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends!

Merrill and Tammy Dean
Scottsdale, Arizona

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tizzytam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Well located, comfortable hotel. Rooms are small and very badly lit. Almost no natural light comes into the rooms. Small bathroom, very basic. Excellent breakfast. Heritage Structure. Convenient to get places and a very helpful concierge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The hotel is away from the main part of Vienna - St. Stephensplatz - which is good. While within walking distance of all the major attractions, the Altstadt is on a quiet street. We had a junior suite which was perfect because it offered a nice place to relax after touring and before dinner. The bathroom could use a little more shelf space and the reading lamps in the bedroom could be of a higher wattage. But, otherwise, we really enjoyed the hotel and definitely would stay there again.

We got good recommendations from the staff for dining. We even had a private concert as one of the suites on our floor had a piano and there was clearly a professional concert pianist staying in it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussylady001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Terrific spot, close to the city center and musea. Lovely decorated hotel and very comfortable rooms. Very good beds! Service offered is great and give a feeling off being at home. Great breakfast and well appreciated afternoon tea. You really want to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aartnijkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We have stayed at the Altstadt many times over the past few years – our son and his family live in the same neighborhood. We originally booked here because of the convenience but we have returned again and again because of the superb staff, amazingly varied rooms, incredible breakfast, and the location at the edge of the museum quarter and a short walk to the center.

We were supposed to be in Vienna last Xmas but our BA flights was delayed and delayed – we didn't think we would ever get there. Andrea and Bettina rescheduled us so many times I think we all lost count. But they managed to salvage our trip with great good humor and we always be grateful. Alexandra and Theresa have also been incredibly helpful. The staff never seems to change and are consistently gracious.

When choosing a room the website is a good place to start. You will be amazed at the variety. The decor varies enormously so there is something for everyone. The off-the-street and higher floor rooms are quieter although that's only an issue in the warmer months. There are some incredible bath tubs but if you need a traditional shower, you can specify that. The suites are enormous.

Many wonderful restaurants and museums within walking distance. Vienna really is a walker's paradise. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Hotel website is an excellent guide to the rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DottoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews