We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel altstadt” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #8 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hotel altstadt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

we just stayed at the Altstadt for 2 nights one at the beginning of our trip and the other night at the end of the trip. we thought that we would be staying in a luxury hotel which it is not. the reception area small but very friendly staff. the room was clean and basic. Vienna was experiencing a heat wave and the air conditioning did not really cool down the room. On our return visit to the Altstadt we arrived fairly late and the only room available was room 118. that room really needed a paint job and did not feel clean.When discussed with staff they were nice enough to put us in a suite, which was spacious ,clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is a little out of the way for the major attractions but you got to experience a neighborhood in vienna. if you are looking for luxury this is not the place. it is a basic hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    338
    57
    16
    3
See reviews for
304
1,020
111
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Spent 5 nights in a stunning Matteo Thun room which I really can't fault. Comfortable bed, great bathroom and plenty of space - it was bigger than I thought it would be - all led to a space it was a pleasure to spend time in. Vienna is basking in a heat wave at present but the room was beautifully cool. The service was first class by all the friendly staff, great breakfast and we really enjoyed the bar area. The art throughout the hotel is great and I found myself stopping to enjoy certain paintings often. It is a ten minute walk to the metro but the surrounding area is full of nice bars and restaurants as well as interesting art galleries. Vienna is a stunning grandiose city full of amazing art and the Alstadt is the perfect compliment to it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirElDoctore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Britain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I couldn't fault this hotel, position, room, bathroom, Duvets, breakfast, but best of all the staff, they were helpful and smiling, unlike the staff in the tourist information centre! They made our visit to Vienna really easy with tips and advice, they go the extra mile. thank you all at The Altstadt. I took eye mask and earplugs (always do for a city break) but I think the street was quiet, and also near several restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBGreatBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at Altstadt for 3 nights in June, 2012 and have greatly enjoyed our stay. We are a family of four with little kids and the layout of the rooms was great -- the kids had a small room with bunk beds and their own shower which was adjoined to our much bigger room. Both rooms were nicely furnished and decorated, a plate of fresh fruits was awaiting in the room upon arrival, and L'Ocicitane toiletries definitely provided a nice touch.
Breakfast was included and plentiful -- fresh fruits, selection of meats and cheeses, dips, pastries, yogurts, cereals and made to order eggs.
Location was good -- just a touch farther than perfect -- about 10 min. walk to the subway station, and about 20-30 min. walk to the center.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel was such a welcome surprise! After reading the Trip Advisor reviews, we booked a stay here for our short two nights in Vienna in a Junior Suite. Upon arrival, we found our way to the second floor and into reception. The reception area is not impressive... Just a little desk with some mail boxes and a small sitting area that is closed off to the hotel. I have to admit, I was a little worried. However, upon completion of check in, we were shown into the main part of the hotel- which is BEAUTIFUL! The salon, where breakfast and tea were served, is spacious and has a few rooms to choose from to sit, eat, read the paper, or relax. Our breskfast was delicious and had a wide variety to chose from, including eggs to order from the kitchen. And our room...
Our room was a junior suite on floor 2 of the hotel. But remember that street level is floor 0, and reception is floor R, so really it was on the 4th floor. It was very large with a separate sitting area, queen bed, and clean bath with combined shower/tub and pedistal sink. They had left us a bottle of water, some fresh fruit, a half bottle of wine with glssses, and instructions to use the espresso machine. All was clean and bright, and we were immediately very comfortable.
The location is quite nice if you are looking for something close enough to the sites to be convenient, but far enough away tht you are not surrounded by tourists and can have a nice, authentic meal with locals. It's about a 6 minute walk to the museum quartier, and about 10 minutes to the palace. We found that we could walk from most major attractions in under 20-25 minutes at a moderate pace. The hotel is surrounded by little shops and restaurants who are very friendly to tourists, but cater mostly to locals. It was very nice to escape the hubbub of Stephensdom and return "home" to an area that didn't remind us of Disneyland crowds.
If you are looking for a hotel where you can fall out of the door into tourist-ville right next to all of the attractions, then this place might be a little far. But, if you would like a hotel that is beautiful, friendly, a bit off the beaten path but still totally convenient, and who are ready to make your stay magical, then I highly recommend the Hotel Altstadt in Vienna. It was perfect for us and we would return.

Room Tip: Honeymoon? Choose a Junior Suite if you can. They are beautiful and very opulent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maustin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and wish it could have been longer. The staff were really friendly and helpful, even booking some train tickets online for us. The hotel was a short walk to most sites and was quiet. The rooms were spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Afternoon tea in the cosy salon was an unexpected bonus and the breakfast buffet was sensational. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to other visitors to Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrfam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

There is nothing else to comment that's not been saud here, other than 5/5 in all respects.

Could not fault this efficient, friendly and perfectly located hotel.

Breakfast is exceptional value where the good quality ingredients shine through.

There is pre squeezed or you can enjoy the fun of using their German precision juicing machine...Great fun!! And wow! Wonderful orange juice.Where else can you say there are big gob-stopper sized fresh cherries for breakfast? Superb.

We asked for another top sheet as the quilts are quite a high tog rating, but with a sheet you can keep cool if you need to. That said the AC was very efficient.
Beds firmish yet very comfortable.

If I'm lucky enough to return to Vienna , I would not even consider The Bristol etc prices. This is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Property: Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, musicians, and non-group travellers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing