We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boutique, but check the bathroom in advance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #8 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice boutique, but check the bathroom in advance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Fun hotel with "quirky interior", with nice and comfy beds. The rooms are individually designed, so we got one with a bathroom that did not offer much privacy, as it was a glass closet in the room. It looked nice, but the designer had not realised that form and desing need to follow the bathroom function. When booking and checkin in, do check the bathroom facilities. Breakfast nothing to write home about, but nice.

Room Tip: Avoid Vitra room - unless you don't mind lack of privacy in the bathroom. Also, the view from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    338
    57
    16
    3
See reviews for
304
1,020
111
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

A boutique hotel, very nice decorate, the room was very good and comfortable. The staff are very welcomeing and friendly , breakfast is very good and served in a very nice saloon. Located very close to the city center.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherrybrook, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

My son and I recently stayed at the Altsadt Vienna. We were in midst of a heatwave in Vienna and the hotel was our little oasis in midst of it. We religiously returned post sightseeing to afternoon tea and drinks served in the beautifully appointed salon, had a break before heading out again. The staff are amazingly attentive , the breakfasts were beautifully presented and to die for !! My son rated the breakfasts the best in our trip around europe! The hotel lobby is pretty basic and at first look the hotel doesn't look like much but the rooms are beautifully decorated and the rabbit warren of buildings are decorated with nice paintings. The one criticism i have is that the airconditioning was not quite upto scratch.The staff are the best , always helpful and welcoming. The room service menu is pretty basic but there are quite a few nice restaurants around. The location is great , a ten minute walk to the underground which we made use of extensively during our stay. The museum quarter is a mere 8 mins walk away. We would definitely stay again at the Altstadt !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was our first visit to Vienna and we stayed for 4 nights at this hotel. We chose one of the Matteo Thun designed rooms; very nice room with a great bed and importantly very quiet.

The whole building oozes with originality and class. Breakfast was a relaxed affair and so is the free afternoon tea and cake session. The room doesn't have any tea/coffee facilities in the room, nothing major but it's nice to have something like this so you can make your own drink.

Transport links are within walking distance, about 5 minutes or so away. I would recommend this hotel very highly.

Room Tip: We stayed on the "M" floor in one of the designer rooms, number 3. It was lovely and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is incredible. It seems that it was created by combining a number of buildings. The interior design of the hotel is amazing. It seems that each hallway has a different character. In addition, our room was decorated in an interesting and tasteful way.

The breakfast was excellent. The selection of pastries, bread, cereal and fruit was standard. What made the experience special was that a waiter asked us how we would like our eggs. Ten minutes later she delivered made-to-order eggs. Nice touch!

Finally, I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The hotel does not serve dinner. Nevertheless, the concierge gave us good recommendations for local restaurants.

I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Hotel Altstadt Vienna is truly a great find. Situated on a quiet side street in the Neubau district, right on top of the Spittelberg area, it is a mere 8 minute walk to the Museum Quarter. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. The staff is amazing-friendly, knowledgeable and professional- and their English is very good. There is a lovely, large breakfast layout, with excellent coffee and eggs made to order. We stayed in room 23 on the street and never heard a sound from the light traffic below. There are plenty of international fare restaurants, cafes, and a British pub within a block and a half. One last word, and what truly won us over: AIR CONDITIONING!

We will definitely return. This hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZylahO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We just returned from a 10 night stay at the Hotel Altstadt in Vienna. Wow, did I choose a great hotel! Warm, friendly staff that make you feel like part of the family. Every staff person was exceptional. Truly excellent breakfasts are included in the price. Huge selection. And then, in the afternoon, from 4-6, they have tea time, and each day there is a new, freshly baked cake. It is not an "English Tea" that has sandwiches and scones, but simply the delicious cake, sometimes even warm from the kitchen, a large selection of teas, and a comfortable environment to eat in. Tables, comfy couches etc.

In addition, the Altstadt is in a great location; less than 7 minute walk to the U-Bahn (underground), which makes traveling to anywhere in the city incredibly easy. It took the same time to walk to the collection of modern art museums, (the Museum Quarter) and the National Fine Arts museum and Parliament. There are many many things to see in Vienna, and we did not get to all of them in our 10 days, but almost!

Additionally, if you are like my husband and me, we like a little personal space when we are on vacation, and don't want to just have a single hotel room during our stays. Well, the Altstadt has rooms to rent of course, but they also have apartments to rent!! We had a small kitchen, two bathrooms, a large bedroom with two beds, and a huge living room/dining area for lounging around. TVs in both the bedroom and the living room. The bedroom was air-conditioned and it was strong enough to cool the living room as well. We had about 700 square feet. And for that we spent about $3000.00 With a huge breakfast to start the day, and the promise of homemade cake in the afternoon, we had few other expenses. Mostly entry fees. Oh and we went to the Opera, the Viennese Philharmonic orchestra performance, and were lucky enough to see the Lipizzaner horses at the Spanish Riding School Vienna. (Purchase tickets to each ahead of your visit; many are sold out).

Getting an apartment within an excellent hotel gives you the best of both worlds. Tons of space, great location, and all the amenities of a classic hotel. We have traveled for 30 years and have been almost everywhere in the world, and this hotel and their staff, and the city of Vienna itself made it my favorite city of all of our travels.

Linda Eckhardt from Carlsbad, California USA

Room Tip: Our apartment on the 8th floor had several windows that looked out onto the street. Double paned for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Property: Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, musicians, and non-group travellers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing