We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect for a special short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #8 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Before we even arrived the reception staff had been extremely helpful with booking meals over Christmas (they met our brief perfectly) and a car to collect us from the airport. We wanted to stay somewhere which reflected Vienna: the old, the new, the art, the warm hospitality, the 'wow' factor. This was 'spot on' for a relaxing Christmas break, with its impeccable, friendly service, real fire, stunning artwork, delightful afternoon tea & cake and great breakfasts, complete with Prosecco and wonderful Viennese breads. The two rooms we had were quite different but both featured good beds, amazing design features and an array of furniture and special touches to make guests feel cosseted: good lighting, easy chairs, books, magazines, good toiletries and chocolates! Highly recommended if you want to relax at Christmas or any other time of the year, not least as you can walk to many of the museums; there are public transport stops nearby (tram/bus/metro) and/or helpful, friendly staff will call a taxi for you, which will arrive promptly. There are good, typically Austrian (and other) restaurants within walking distance - just ask the staff! We would definitely choose this hotel again and have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: If you want a treat, go for one of the slightly bigger 'design' rooms - ask the staff which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 2,424 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel, perfect service and friendly hosts. A 15 minutes walk to the Hofburg palace. The hotel is located in an upcoming, trendy part of the city. Breakfast with plenty choice of whatever you would like. This is a place to revisit!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank janchantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We spent three days at the Alstadt towards the end of November (first snow of the year fell) and also towards the end of a European tour. It was the best place ever to end a tour! We had a junior suite, one of the older style rooms (they are all so different) and it was amazing - great bathroom, heaps of room, four poster QS bed. The evening time was so good - relax and have a wine or a beer, and not be charged excessive hotel prices. The staff were great at check-in, really helpful in assisting us with restaurant choices and offered fantastic service. Breakfast was good - amazing array of breads and continental offerings as well as eggs done any way you like. Over all, it was just a fantastic three nights. The Alstadt Hotel Vienna rocks! And hey, check out the artwork around the place - from bizarre to truly beautiful ... an experience not to be missed. Loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KPC4348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was a nice find. We stayed here for a weekend in December and can confirm the very friendly service mentioned in the other reviews.

First impressions, if you are dragging a suitcase from the nearby metro station, aren't great. Once you have located the hotel, you are confronted by a flight of stairs to reception (or a lift). Once you have negotiated that, reception is through a narrow door with a little step, not really designed with suitcases in mind. However, once that hurdle was overcome, and my luggage was installed, I very much liked this hotel.

The breakfast was good and varied although there were fewer items prepared to order than one might have expected in a hotel of this quality. Perhaps we were there at the wrong time.
Afternoon tea / Kaffee und Kuchen was an unexpected bonus and a very nice way of warming up after a cold afternoon outside in Vienna. Tea, cake and an open fire. Mmmmmmmm.
We did not eat at the hotel in the evening - I'm not even sure that you can - but there is a little map with good local recommendations freely available at reception and the receptionist happily made a dinner reservation for us at a nearby restaurant.

The hotel was well located for walking into the city centre or travelling by tube or tram. The nearby Christmas market Am Spittelberg was definitely worth a visit but we also walked to the markets at the Rathausplatz, Maria-Theresienplatz, the MuseumsQuartier and the Karlsplatz.

The room was a very good size with a high ceiling. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. The only niggle about the bedroom - why hide the electric sockets behind the bedside tables? There is a good chance that guests will want to plug in their mobile phones or laptops. It's a pain to have to pull the table out and scrabble down the back of it!
The bathroom was very small. It would have been nice to have had a little more room in there.

Note for silly British tourists like me: there are roller blinds between the two windows. Do not assume that the curtains are too narrow - they are for window dressing only! And they also cover the radiator so it is not a good idea to draw them in winter. Use the blinds!

The wifi was faultless and free and worked on three devices (apple phone, android phone and laptop).

The info in the hotel says that the owner purchased it as he was looking for somewhere to display his art collection. This certainly gives the hotel a very unique feel. Whether you are an art fan or not, you certainly don't feel as though you are in an American chain hotel. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff also contribute towards this feeling.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Weary235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Weary235!

On behalf of the entire Altstadt Vienna Team I would like to thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to write a review concerning your experience in our house.

Your wonderful comments are not only velvet on our soul (!), we are certain that your detailed description will be very helpful and informative to the travel community!

We thank you also very much for pointing out small things that can and will be improved and for your overall support.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you some other time in the near future again!

Merry Christmas and all the best for 2014!
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip to Vienna. Excellent helpful staff. I stayed in a single room and it was average and small - standard European room - but had everything I needed. Staff was really great and helpful. Breakfast very nice and good coffee. I would definitely stay here again.

Walking distance to so many Christmas markets. ;)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank lmlmlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear ImImIm!

Thank you very much for having chosen the Altstadt Vienna as your residence during your recent visit to Vienna. Your wonderful comments about location, breakfast, coffee and especially about the staff are most motivating!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such nice words and yes, please come and visit again!

Greetings to Boulder, Colorado
Alexandra & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Interesting, charming hotel, 10 minutes walk from the museum district of Vienna. We had a small but well appointed room although the bathroom was a bit strange - a smoked glass structure with little privacy. Breakfasts are excellent and the afternoon tea is a nice touch - with a great choice of tea. The staff are friendly and helpful - although they need to do a bit more research into the local hotels. Their recommended local restaurants did not exist! The bar is warm and welcoming with a log fire and Miles Davies on the stereo - very comfortable!

Room Tip: check photos of your room before you arrive. each room is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellwhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear wellwhynot!

Thank you very much for taking the time in order to post a review regarding your experience in our house.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the breakfast buffet excellent as well as the complimentary afternoon tea a nice touch!

As we have many different rooms and categories to choose from we are always happy to receive special requests, therefore please never hesitate to ask for a room with a separate bathroom.

Our restaurant guide for Vienna as well as the little pamphlet with local restaurant recommendations handed to our guests upon arrival is being updated quite regularly. I apologize if we have recommended another restaurant that has closed down and we will make sure to get an update on this as well. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you some other time in the near future again - until then all the best and greetings from Vienna!

Alexandra & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We just enjoyed a fabulous long weekend in Vienna, made all the more special by staying at this lovely hotel. The staff could not be any more helpful, the rooms were very comfortable and well appointed, the location was great - close to local transport and an easy stroll to the main areas, breakfast was freshly made with a very good selection and don't forget the complementary tea and home made cakes every afternoon. We often ended our day with drinks and snacks in the cosy bar in front of the log fire. Marvelous!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,516 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,110 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,378 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria (Formerly Romantik Hotel Altstadt Vienna)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £137 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district and next to Vienna's Museumsquarter, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, design aficionados and cultural insiders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing