We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a wonderful anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #8 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

A reasonable price for this level of luxury, friendly staff, beautiful design and artwork. Only slight drawback is distance from the city center but the underground station is but minutes away. We walked everywhere and it was no problem.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DocWazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear DocWazoo!

Thank you very much for having chosen the Altstadt Vienna as your residence for the celebration of your anniversary. Congratulations once again!

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you very much for your feedback and your support.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you some other time in the near future again.

Thank you.

Alexandra & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    338
    57
    16
    3
See reviews for
304
1,020
111
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed at the Altstadt between Christmas and New Years, and we had 2 rooms. This was not my first time at this hotel and it will definitely not be the last. The value for money is unbeatable, and what I like the most is the cozy and homey atmosphere at the hotel. Every staff member is extremely and genuinely friendly and kind, and they make you feel that everything is possible. 2 nights in a row we came for a drink at the Salon after closing hours, and both times, we were invited to enjoy a last drink. The location is great as I prefer not staying in the not too touristy areas. And it is only a nice 10-minute walk to the old town. Our room was small, but a perfect use of space, with a beautiful view of the church. The design was beautiful, with a lot of wood, and high quality materials and appliances. The breakfast buffet is also of highest quality, very rich, and has something for everyone. The friendly staff offers omelettes and other egg dishes upon request. Again, when we came after the official breakfast hours, no one would rush us or give us the feeling that we are not welcome anymore. For me, this is luxury for me, and it is the unique trademark of the Altstadt Vienna.

Room Tip: If you like a nice view, chose a room facing the church, but if you prefer very quiet, I would chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I checked into the hotel a short while ago. The hotel is in the midst of what appears to be major building work/renovations. I can hear the jack hammers as I type this from what appears to be the temporary restaurant of the hotel. I wish I had stayed elsewhere :( My rating is incomplete, as it is our first night, but I am a bit grumpy thus far!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoordhoekTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Noordhoek TravelGuy!

We thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel Altstadt as your residence during your visit to Vienna.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience regarding the renovations due to a broken water pipe. A very unfortunate incidence which has occured 3 days ago in the breakfast Salons and now has put us in the situation of unexpected renovation work.

However, as the comfort in the rooms is not affected by the works we hope for your understanding of sporadically noise in the alternative provided common area. We have already made very good progress and the work shall be finished within the next 3 days.

We are truly very sorry that this happened during the time of your stay and that therefore your experience in our house is being influenced by this unfortunate matter.

Please allow me to remind you that all minibar items except Champagne is complimentary to all of our guests as a compensation during this time.

Last but not least we would like to thank you very much for mentioning this whilst staying with us and therefore giving us the chance to discuss this with you personally!

Thank you.

Alexandra & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Lovely common areas -- it was wonderful to come in after a busy day and enjoy a glass of wine by the fire. Excellent breakfast. Good location. I had one of the design rooms, which was quite small and had a window that looked onto another room (I could've reached out and touched the other window). Design rooms not worth the money; I'd stay in one of the regular rooms in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dipfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

After staying in the Altstadt, Vienna it is safe to say it was the perfect trip to Vienna! The staff were excellent and the rooms and designs throughout the building were engaging and exciting. As we walked through the halls to find our room we were thrilled to find out what designs were to come next. Everything worked together to create a brilliant hotel.

We were pleased with our rooms which were of generous sizes with clean bathrooms (which also had products of a high standard).

The food and service was also excellent and we were very pleased with the afternoon tea in the lounge.

Overall, great hotel which is highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bevtaylor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Picture this: a plane departs Melbourne airport at 3.00pm and we've been awake for nine hours already . . . fly to Bangkok (another ten hours), wait for four hours, then fly to Vienna (another 11 hours). Now it's a bit after 5.00am, we've been awake for 34 hours and the Austrian sun is about to rise . . .

And over the next couple of hours we realise what a wonderful choice of hotel we've made! We'd arranged things by email several months earlier, and the Altstadt had arranged a chauffeur who is waiting for us, grabs our bags and drives us to the hotel. There's a lift - well two in fact - to the first floor and the girls at reception are wonderful. Out room's not ready - no surprise there given it's 6.00am! - but our bags are safely stored and we're invited through to the restaurant on the same floor and find the most wonderful buffet. The coffee is great, the selection of savoury and sweet items is lovely, there's Prosecco on the sideboard, and they'll cook things to order. We spend a couple of hours there, grab 24 hour transport tickets from reception, and then head out to familiarise ourselves with the city.

The hotel calls us shortly before noon and we return to move into our room. We'd selected the Suite Privée to provide separate bedrooms for mum & dad and for our teenage daughter, We could not have been happier and as we walked in we couldn't have been more amazed: an entrance hall with dressing room (photo attached) to the left and large bathroom to the right. Then straight ahead into the living room with sofa, chairs, desk (and it's excellent pod coffee maker!), and a very large screen TV. Our daughter's bedroom was small with a double and single, whilst ours was enormous with a king sized bed.

What didn't work out well? Nothing other than the fact that we were defeated by the heating system and simply couldn't get it cool enough at times (yes it was about zero C outside!) without opening a window or two.

What did work out well? We loved the location in Spittelberg with a Christmas market just a couple of streets away. Transport wise it's ideal, with the 13A route in the street outside, and the 48A heading in and out of Dr Karl Renner Ring (linking up with the Ring trams and trains) in the streets left and right of the hotel. In the streets beyond, one had the trams on each, and it was just a short walk to Volksoper station. We loved the drinks and cake each afternoon, the wonderful breakfasts, the ridiculously attentive staff (that's a good thing), the lounge with the Christmas tree and our amazing suite.

Will we stay there again - absolutely!

(Note: We stayed just prior to Christmas in December 2012 but I've left it too late to write the review and TripAdvisor has removed the Dec 2012 box.)

Room Tip: Spend some time on the Altstadt's web site - every room is different and we were not at all disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nawlinsgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Before we even arrived the reception staff had been extremely helpful with booking meals over Christmas (they met our brief perfectly) and a car to collect us from the airport. We wanted to stay somewhere which reflected Vienna: the old, the new, the art, the warm hospitality, the 'wow' factor. This was 'spot on' for a relaxing Christmas break, with its impeccable, friendly service, real fire, stunning artwork, delightful afternoon tea & cake and great breakfasts, complete with Prosecco and wonderful Viennese breads. The two rooms we had were quite different but both featured good beds, amazing design features and an array of furniture and special touches to make guests feel cosseted: good lighting, easy chairs, books, magazines, good toiletries and chocolates! Highly recommended if you want to relax at Christmas or any other time of the year, not least as you can walk to many of the museums; there are public transport stops nearby (tram/bus/metro) and/or helpful, friendly staff will call a taxi for you, which will arrive promptly. There are good, typically Austrian (and other) restaurants within walking distance - just ask the staff! We would definitely choose this hotel again and have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: If you want a treat, go for one of the slightly bigger 'design' rooms - ask the staff which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Property: Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, musicians, and non-group travellers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing